LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2004, 02:50 PM   #1
jeindus
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Is there any software like Alcohol 50% on Linux?


Hellow..

I want to use Virtual CD Images (like .img , .iso ... ... )

Is there any software like Alcohol on Linux???
 
Old 07-14-2004, 02:59 PM   #2
AnimaSola
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: SUSE 9.2 PRO
Posts: 148

Rep: Reputation: 15
you want to be able to burn iso/img? is that what you're asking?

if so k3b is what u want
 
Old 07-14-2004, 03:01 PM   #3
Timeturtle
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: 15
This may be of help to you. It isnt a GUI front end like alcohol, but it allows you to mount iso images (assuming you are using kde).

http://kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=11577

Hope that helps.
 
Old 07-14-2004, 03:03 PM   #4
bulliver
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Distribution: Gentoo x86_64; Gentoo PPC; FreeBSD; OS X 10.9.4
Posts: 3,760
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 78
I am not sure what Alcohol does, but you can mount .img and .iso files that reside on your hard disc using the loopback device. You need this built in your kernel either statically or as a module.

Then it is as simple as:
Code:
mount -o loop -t iso9660 filename.iso /mnt/iso
 
Old 07-14-2004, 03:36 PM   #5
SBing
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 519

Rep: Reputation: 35
Alcohol is really more for emulating CD protection on mounted ISOs - however, I don't see that as being too useful for Linux since the copy protection would be for a Win32 program :). As the above posts states, the mounting side of Alcohol can be done by using loopback.

Just out of interest, why "Alcohol 50%", isn't it "Alcohol 120%" :)?
 
Old 11-08-2004, 02:02 PM   #6
Lleb_KCir
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando FL
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,765

Rep: Reputation: 45
bulliver when i try to mount a .bin with your above example (i left out the iso portion of the command as it is a bin not iso) i get an error.

how would you mount a .bin file?
 
Old 11-08-2004, 02:27 PM   #7
ror
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 583

Rep: Reputation: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by SBing

Just out of interest, why "Alcohol 50%", isn't it "Alcohol 120%" ?
Alcohol 50% (60%?) is the demo version
 
Old 11-08-2004, 02:28 PM   #8
ror
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 583

Rep: Reputation: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by Lleb_KCir
bulliver when i try to mount a .bin with your above example (i left out the iso portion of the command as it is a bin not iso) i get an error.

how would you mount a .bin file?
The iso9660 is a standard file sytem type of CDs, don't leave it out.
 
Old 11-08-2004, 04:32 PM   #9
Lleb_KCir
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando FL
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,765

Rep: Reputation: 45
ahh kewl thanks. ill put that back in and see the differance.
 
Old 11-08-2004, 04:36 PM   #10
Lleb_KCir
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando FL
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,765

Rep: Reputation: 45
Code:
media:~# mount -o loop -t iso9660 /home/ray/tmp/test/test1.bin /home/ray/tmp/bin/
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
       or too many mounted file systems
now that is a smbmount that im tring to do this from... should i just copy the directory over to my debian box and try again?
 
Old 11-08-2004, 07:40 PM   #11
Lleb_KCir
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando FL
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,765

Rep: Reputation: 45
Code:
media:/home/ray/movies# ls
test
media:/home/ray/movies# mount -t iso9660 -o loop /home/ray/movies/test/
READ ME.txt               test1.cue  testp2.cue
test1.bin  test2.bin
media:/home/ray/movies# mount -t iso9660 -o loop /home/ray/movies/test/test1.bin /home/ray/tmp/bin/
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
       or too many mounted file systems
ok that is after moving the file to my local HD on my debian box.

next step?
 
Old 11-08-2004, 08:12 PM   #12
Young Padawan
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10.1 Community w/ WinXP dual boot
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
I was just about to ask this same quesiton. I just am beginning to be converted from WinXP and purchased Alcohol 50% a few weeks ago. (FYI 50% is just for mounting images, 120% has a burning ROM as well). Kinda miffed I wasted 30 bucks just before starting to use Linux Bad timing.
 
Old 11-08-2004, 10:12 PM   #13
mykrob
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Jackson, TN
Distribution: Kubuntu Feisty
Posts: 606

Rep: Reputation: 31
do a search for "bin2iso" on google. I use this to convert my old bin/cue files to an iso image, then mount them
 
Old 11-08-2004, 11:40 PM   #14
Lleb_KCir
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando FL
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,765

Rep: Reputation: 45
Quote:
Originally posted by mykrob
do a search for "bin2iso" on google. I use this to convert my old bin/cue files to an iso image, then mount them
have not tried that, but just did a bchunk to convert my bin/cue to iso. i can mount the cue, but not the bin file.... so im still a bit fubar.

Last edited by Lleb_KCir; 11-09-2004 at 12:56 AM.
 
Old 11-09-2004, 03:48 AM   #15
dezza
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Distribution: ArchLinux, Debian
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation: 18
I would say "Mount Image" from KDE-Look would be the best replacement ..
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to run CloneCD or Alcohol 120% in Vmware? ProtoformX Linux - Software 2 03-08-2006 05:26 AM
Alcohol 120% Curt6000 Linux - Software 2 11-21-2004 03:13 PM
Alcohol 120%, any program like it that'll run on GNU/Linux? sharpie Linux - Software 6 11-10-2004 10:21 AM
DVD-Audio, CMSS, Alcohol, etc. unsmart Linux - Software 5 09-18-2004 05:46 AM
Anyone tried Alcohol 120% to run DSL from HDD? DStrick64 DamnSmallLinux 2 04-05-2004 05:33 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration