LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2004, 11:01 PM   #1
smokybfgs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Redhat 6.0 Load Module at boot


Ok, so sadly I have a tendancy to do something... and then forget how I did it. I have an old Pentium II running Redhat 6.0. I recompiled the kernel to trim it down a bit, and had to reinstall the software for my DFE-530TX+ ethernet card. I can do an insmod rtl8139.o and add the module, and then ifconfig... to add my ethernet interface. However, this is going to be my print/web/file server, and will not be hooked up to a monitor or keyboard, so I want the ethernet module and interface to load at boot time. What can I change to do this in Redhat 6.0?
 
Old 04-01-2004, 07:36 AM   #2
sixth_sense
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: RedHat
Posts: 99

Rep: Reputation: 15
Please test with lsmod whether you modules loaded or not..and, probably you have to edit the file /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 like below:

(replace with your network numbers)

DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=static
BROADCAST=x.x.x.x
IPADDR=x.x.x.x
NETMASK=x.x.x.x
NETWORK=x.x.x.x
ONBOOT=yes

and the file /etc/sysconfig/network (replace with your network numbers and hostname)

NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=name.name.name
GATEWAY=x.x.x.x

( I did all of them...and automatically network eth0 with its module wakes up during boot time)

good luck. :d
 
Old 04-01-2004, 02:59 PM   #3
smokybfgs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
OK, so I've managed to get it so I can load the ethernet interface. And I run lsmod and I do have the module - AFTER I type in insmod. However, it doesn't stick around at boot time. I remember at one time I inserted a line into some file that loaded my module automatically. Any ideas of what that file might have been? Not like it's that big of a deal, this server is too loud to run all the time, so I'm going to switch in a week, but still, the stigma of forgetting something so simple... :-)
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make a module load on boot WolfCub Debian 8 05-13-2005 12:46 PM
Module doesn't load at boot gburch Linux - Hardware 2 05-04-2004 06:40 PM
how to load a module at boot time trutnev Linux - Newbie 1 03-14-2004 12:54 PM
load a module before another at boot-up? josejcs Linux - Newbie 1 11-05-2003 03:43 PM
module won't load at boot joeey21 Linux - Networking 9 09-15-2001 11:36 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration