LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password
Mandriva This Forum is for the discussion of Mandriva (Mandrake) Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2004, 07:50 PM   #1
geyes30
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: 0
Cd-rom not mounted


Hi all!

I am using Mandrake 9.2 on my Compaq Evo laptop. I would like to know why the cdrom drive is sometimes not mounted on start-up. This seems to happen rather randomly, which is cause for concern. Also, when I use Konqueror, the 'Back' button displays a list of previous pages when I click on it. However, I would like the default single-click action to be a back-one-page action. Any help? Sorry if it is unclear. I am not too sure how to express the problem.

Regards
 
Old 01-15-2004, 08:39 PM   #2
leonscape
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian SID / KDE 3.5
Posts: 2,313

Rep: Reputation: 48
On my konq its always back one page for a single-click, If I click and hold then I get the list of links. I don't even think theirs a way of changing that behaviour.
 
Old 01-15-2004, 09:19 PM   #3
peacelovelinux
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
quite possibly the "randomness" could be wheather or not a cd is in the drive. try that out.
 
Old 01-15-2004, 09:55 PM   #4
geyes30
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
First, about Konqueror. Mine used to work exactly the same way as yours. Now, the default single-click action is a list of links...

Secondly, without a CD in the drive, it sometimes starts up with cdrom mounted, sometimes without. Though more often than not, it will be mounted.
 
Old 01-15-2004, 10:38 PM   #5
dwdykstr
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: RH 8.0
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
FYI

The file /etc/mtab (in fedora) lists those drives, partitions etc
which will be mounted on startup
eg mine is like:

/dev/hdb /mnt/hd rw 0 0
/dev/hda2 / ext3 rw 0 0
none /proc proc rw 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs rw 0 0
/dev/hda1 /boot ext3 rw 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
/dev/hdb /mnt/hd ext3 rw 0 0

/etc/fstab loooks like this:

LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda3 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
/dev/hdb /mnt/hd ext3 defaults
0 0


these tables determine what is mounted, where and how.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd-rom not mounted jasenbax Linux - Software 1 09-25-2005 01:22 AM
Exporting mounted CD-ROM or DVD through NFS pistachio Linux - Networking 11 07-12-2005 08:01 AM
Bummer ... my cd-rom wasn't mounted correctly. ckouza Debian 2 01-09-2005 11:39 PM
CD-Rom cannot be mounted.. RH9 CD #3 mikeshn Linux - General 3 09-18-2003 05:48 PM
My CD-ROM refuses to open. And NO ITS NOT MOUNTED! JoeLinux Linux - Software 3 01-23-2002 01:23 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Mandriva

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration