LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2022, 12:06 AM   #1
linux-man
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2016
Location: Geneva
Distribution: native install of Parrot Home Edition 5.0 Debian (no security tools) 64 bit, KDE, 5.14.0-9parrot1,
Posts: 872

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
virtualbox won't work after sudo apt update sudo apt upgrade


virtualbox 6.1 won't work properly after I used this below:
sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade

I got this error from vb for each of my vb os:
Code:
Failed to load R0 module /usr/lib/virtualbox/VMMR0.r0: Unable to locate imported symbol 'SUPR0FpuBegin' for module 'VMMR0.r0' (VERR_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND).
Failed to load VMMR0.r0 (VERR_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND).
Never had problems with virtualbox until I implemented that code in terminal.I can opened up virtualbox but not any of my virtualbox os.
Why does something always go haywire after I use:
sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade

Why does everyone request the above when you want to download software?
I don't want to uninstall vb either.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by linux-man; 12-10-2022 at 01:14 AM.
 
Old 12-10-2022, 12:02 PM   #2
computersavvy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,345

Rep: Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484
The inability to load kernel modules happens after a kernel update without also updating the kernel module to match. I do not use VBox so do not know the exact commands to recompile the module but that seems the necessary step for recovery.
 
Old 12-10-2022, 12:22 PM   #3
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 26,634

Rep: Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965
Quote:
Originally Posted by linux-man View Post
virtualbox 6.1 won't work properly after I used this below:
Code:
sudo apt update  
sudo apt upgrade
I got this error from vb for each of my vb os:
Code:
Failed to load R0 module /usr/lib/virtualbox/VMMR0.r0: Unable to locate imported symbol 'SUPR0FpuBegin' for module 'VMMR0.r0' (VERR_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND).
Failed to load VMMR0.r0 (VERR_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND).
Never had problems with virtualbox until I implemented that code in terminal.I can opened up virtualbox but not any of my virtualbox os.
Why does something always go haywire after I use:
Code:
sudo apt update  
sudo apt upgrade
Why does everyone request the above when you want to download software? I don't want to uninstall vb either.
Ok...so you ran an update/upgrade. Did you reboot afterwards, to make sure the new kernel/modules/updates took effect?
 
Old 12-10-2022, 07:18 PM   #4
linux-man
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2016
Location: Geneva
Distribution: native install of Parrot Home Edition 5.0 Debian (no security tools) 64 bit, KDE, 5.14.0-9parrot1,
Posts: 872

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by TB0ne View Post
Ok...so you ran an update/upgrade. Did you reboot afterwards, to make sure the new kernel/modules/updates took effect?
Thank you TBone,restart solved it. Is the sudo apt updatesudo apt upgrade mandatory when you want to download new software?
 
Old 12-10-2022, 08:55 PM   #5
computersavvy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,345

Rep: Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484Reputation: 1484
That sequence is required for 99+% of us.
The only ones who would not use it are the diehards using LFS or the like who appreciate the challenge of finding and downloading the source then compiling each and every dependent package by hand.

The apt package manager is much easier and handles the dependency headaches for us instead of us beating our head against a brick wall because we missed one of the required packages to support our new app that we just installed.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-11-2022, 11:42 PM   #6
linux-man
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2016
Location: Geneva
Distribution: native install of Parrot Home Edition 5.0 Debian (no security tools) 64 bit, KDE, 5.14.0-9parrot1,
Posts: 872

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by computersavvy View Post
That sequence is required for 99+% of us.
Does it update the other programs (beside os) that I have on my system too?
 
Old 12-11-2022, 11:43 PM   #7
linux-man
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2016
Location: Geneva
Distribution: native install of Parrot Home Edition 5.0 Debian (no security tools) 64 bit, KDE, 5.14.0-9parrot1,
Posts: 872

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by computersavvy View Post
That sequence is required for 99+% of us.
Does it update/upgrade the other programs (beside os) simultaneously that I have on my system too?
 
Old 12-12-2022, 07:56 AM   #8
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 26,634

Rep: Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965Reputation: 7965
Quote:
Originally Posted by linux-man View Post
Does it update the other programs (beside os) that I have on my system too?
...and....
Quote:
Originally Posted by linux-man
Does it update/upgrade the other programs (beside os) simultaneously that I have on my system too?
Why ask the same thing twice?? Yes, doing a system upgrade/update will function on ALL the packages you have installed...if you installed them with the apt command, and there is an updated package available, you'll get it. I'd suggest reading the man page on apt.
 
Old 12-12-2022, 12:45 PM   #9
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,346

Rep: Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589
Do you have virtual box extension pack installed, and if so was it updated to the current version of virtual box?
 
Old 12-15-2022, 12:11 AM   #10
linux-man
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2016
Location: Geneva
Distribution: native install of Parrot Home Edition 5.0 Debian (no security tools) 64 bit, KDE, 5.14.0-9parrot1,
Posts: 872

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
Do you have virtual box extension pack installed, and if so was it updated to the current version of virtual box?
yes i do, not sure if it updated but it appears working.
 
Old 12-15-2022, 07:49 AM   #11
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,346

Rep: Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589Reputation: 1589
Virtual box will still start up, however some distros won’t run correctly if the vbox extension is the wrong version.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] sudo apt update and sudo apt-get update giving error cryptonic472 Linux - Software 7 08-24-2019 08:16 AM
Sudo apt-get dist-upgrade shows this (Kali Linux 32 bit 1.0.7i386 Virtualbox) anonytomy Linux - Newbie 3 03-24-2018 04:38 PM
[SOLVED] Arg! Virtual machine, sudo won't work, can't log in as root, visudo won't work Arg! edpatterson Linux - Newbie 2 01-03-2012 05:33 PM
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade hallve_revera Linux - Newbie 6 01-10-2009 09:37 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration