LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2019, 08:36 AM   #1
Stalfonso2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
NFS.


Does anyone know how to test if Nfs is working. I've followed the instructions but I would like to see something appearing in my file manager. Nothing so far.
 
Old 05-23-2019, 08:45 AM   #2
dc.901
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Location: Atlanta, GA - USA
Distribution: CentOS/RHEL, openSuSE/SLES, Ubuntu
Posts: 1,005

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
Hmm; not much info here to go by.
Which OS?
Which instructions / steps?

From NFS server:
cat /etc/exports

Is service running?
Is firewall setup (on server) to allow NFS traffic (from clients)?

What is output of:
showmount -e <nfs_server>

Please provide output in [/code] tags
 
Old 05-23-2019, 09:17 AM   #3
Stalfonso2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Nfs.

Using Slack 14.2 on server and laptop. Following https://docs.slackware.com/howtos:ne...nd_dirty_setup.

Code:
bash-4.2$ cat /etc/exports
# See exports(5) for a description.
# This file contains a list of all directories exported to other computers.
# It is used by rpc.nfsd and rpc.mountd.
/nfs_share 192.168.1.1/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check)
# Allow export of root file system to LAPTOP with read/write and root access
/               LAPTOP(rw,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check) \
                LAPTOP-W(rw,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check)
/music          LAPTOP(rw,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check,nohide) \
                LAPTOP-W(rw,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check,nohide)
.

Not sure how to setup firewall for Nfs.

Code:
bash-4.2# showmount -e
Export list for divali:
/nfs_share 192.168.1.1/24
/music     LAPTOP-W.<your,LAPTOP.<your
/          LAPTOP-W.<your,LAPTOP.<your.
Hope this helps.
 
Old 05-23-2019, 09:38 AM   #4
dc.901
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Location: Atlanta, GA - USA
Distribution: CentOS/RHEL, openSuSE/SLES, Ubuntu
Posts: 1,005

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stalfonso2 View Post
Code:
bash-4.2# showmount -e
Export list for divali:
/nfs_share 192.168.1.1/24
/music     LAPTOP-W.<your,LAPTOP.<your
/          LAPTOP-W.<your,LAPTOP.<your.
Hope this helps.
I would like to clarify; above output of "showmount -e", is that from your client?
If not, please run that from client.
If you get the results, then try to mount; from client:
Code:
sudo mount <NFS_server>:/nfs_share /nfs_share

Last edited by dc.901; 05-23-2019 at 09:43 AM. Reason: missed "sudo" for mount command
 
Old 05-23-2019, 09:53 AM   #5
Stalfonso2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Nfs.

From client:
Code:
bash-4.3# mount <NFS_server>:/nfs_share /nfs_share
bash: NFS_server: No such file or directory
No output from showmount -e from client.

Last edited by Stalfonso2; 05-23-2019 at 10:00 AM.
 
Old 05-23-2019, 10:23 AM   #6
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,792

Rep: Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656Reputation: 6656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stalfonso2 View Post
From client:
Code:
bash-4.3# mount <NFS_server>:/nfs_share /nfs_share
bash: NFS_server: No such file or directory
No output from showmount -e from client.
For the first command, you'd need to replace <NFS_server>:/nfs_share with your specific server information. NFS_server should be the IP address of the machine that is hosting your NFS shares and then the /nfs_share portion should be one of the folders you're sharing. The second /nfs_share in that command would be a local folder that you want to use to access the share, and that folder needs to already exist and your user would need to have access to it.

With the showmount -e command, you would want to run this on the client system and after the -e, you would need to put the IP address of the server, something like below, replacing the XX with the final octect of your IP address.

Code:
showmount -e 192.168.1.XX
 
Old 05-23-2019, 10:34 AM   #7
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,699

Rep: Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895Reputation: 5895
If you are running a firewall you need to:

Allow TCP and UDP port 2049 for NFS.
Allow TCP and UDP port 111 (rpcbind/sunrpc).

Code:
/nfs_share 192.168.1.1/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check)
Make sure you are using your actual network IP address range.

Code:
 mount <NFS_server>:/nfs_share /nfs_share
Are you using your hostname or IP address for the nfs server. Try using its IP address.

mount -t nfs Server_IP:/nfs_share nfs_share
 
Old 05-24-2019, 04:42 AM   #8
Stalfonso2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Nfs.

Thank you for your information. I think I shall start over again from the beginning. I shall let you know how I get on.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] NFS mount fails (times out): NFS server is in DMZ, NFS client is in intranet Hiroshi Linux - Networking 2 05-24-2010 10:22 AM
no NFS in /proc/filesystems how to add NFS? BobNz Linux - Software 4 07-08-2004 02:40 AM
nfs client should it use tcp or udp to nfs serve rportmapper andersonas Linux - Networking 2 06-30-2004 12:05 PM
nfs(nfs(directory)) = null ? bdp Linux - General 2 03-13-2004 03:31 PM
Can't unmount NFS. Remote NFS system was down. PeteRossi Linux - Software 3 10-05-2003 02:23 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration