LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2018, 08:08 PM   #1
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Rep: Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247
Guess what? You can have even the DevTools (Web Inspector) like in the Chromium, in the Falkon web-browser from Eric's latest Plasma5


Well, for activating the DevTools you will need a small patch
Code:
diff -urN falkon-3.0.0.orig/src/main/main.cpp falkon-3.0.0/src/main/main.cpp
--- falkon-3.0.0.orig/src/main/main.cpp 2018-02-27 15:56:58.000000000 +0200
+++ falkon-3.0.0/src/main/main.cpp      2018-03-19 01:28:48.131857137 +0200
@@ -133,6 +133,17 @@
     signal(SIGSEGV, falkon_signal_handler);
 #endif
 
+    // For the Chromium DevTools
+    QTcpSocket* socket = new QTcpSocket();
+
+    if (socket->bind()) {
+        quint16 port = socket->localPort();
+
+        qputenv("QTWEBENGINE_REMOTE_DEBUGGING", QByteArray::number(port));
+
+        socket->close();
+    }
+
     // Hack to fix QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE with QProxyStyle
     const QByteArray style = qgetenv("QT_STYLE_OVERRIDE");
     if (!style.isEmpty()) {
This patch of main() function finds a free port in localhost and set it in the environment variable QTWEBENGINE_REMOTE_DEBUGGING, then the magic will appear.

Tested by me and works very nice; and the Falkon will became a nice full featured modern web-browser, usable even for web-development.

Before to patch and rebuild the Falkon, you can test the things exporting that variable, i.e. executing in a console
Code:
QTWEBENGINE_REMOTE_DEBUGGING=32768 falkon
Then in whatever page you can use the well known: CTRL + SHIFT + I

----------------------------------------
After all, the Falkon is something similar (now) with Chromium 56, but with Qt5 interface.

PS. Please do not send me to KDE upstream, I have no enough patience to deal with those arrogant people.

PS2. Same patch works also in the Falkon's original, aka QupZilla 2.2.6, see the attached screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20180319_003927.png
Views:	156
Size:	179.1 KB
ID:	27226  

Last edited by Darth Vader; 03-19-2018 at 08:17 PM.
 
Old 04-24-2018, 05:41 PM   #2
Gerard Lally
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Leinster, IE
Distribution: Slackware, NetBSD
Posts: 2,177

Rep: Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761
QupZilla is a nice browser. Very nice. Is Falkon in Eric's Plasma5? I'm probably missing the obvious, but I don't see it.
 
Old 04-24-2018, 05:42 PM   #3
Gerard Lally
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Leinster, IE
Distribution: Slackware, NetBSD
Posts: 2,177

Rep: Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761Reputation: 1761
Typical. Just after posting that, I found it in applications-extra. Great!
 
Old 04-24-2018, 06:15 PM   #4
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247
Maybe if we ask nice Eric, he will add this patch for Falkon...

But I think more people will ask for, more chances are Eric to add this a bit unconventional patch.
 
Old 04-25-2018, 02:41 AM   #5
Alien Bob
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,559

Rep: Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
PS. Please do not send me to KDE upstream, I have no enough patience to deal with those arrogant people.
Please do forward this patch to the Falkon developer. I will not apply a patch for a single user, just because you don't want to send it upstream. I am not Fedora or Debian who patch the hell out of their packages with all kinds of random user-contributed shit.
 
3 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-25-2018, 02:43 AM   #6
Alien Bob
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,559

Rep: Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerard Lally View Post
Typical. Just after posting that, I found it in applications-extra. Great!
It's always a good idea to scan my 'ktown' repository's ChangeLog.txt for added packages, falkon is not the only one.
Alternatively, if you have slackpkg+ installed and connfigured, run "slackpkg update ; slackpkg install ktown" to get all the new packages you did not have installed yet.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-25-2018, 05:51 AM   #7
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247Reputation: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alien Bob View Post
Please do forward this patch to the Falkon developer. I will not apply a patch for a single user, just because you don't want to send it upstream. I am not Fedora or Debian who patch the hell out of their packages with all kinds of random user-contributed shit.
Master Eric-wan Kenobi, please take a step back and breathe. Nope, I do not ask(ed) you personally to include this patch.

Did it looks like one of my "campaigns" as you known, this particular thread where I posted some information and a few lines patch, then I leaved it without a reply for over a month?

Or maybe it was just informal about a "hidden" useful feature of Falkon (and QupZilla), and in a moment of enthusiasm, it can be considered even just some "random user-contributed shit" to the community knowledge base?

In other hand, I love how you know to motivate the people to contribute back something, even if is about a little patch like is the subject of this thread.

Last edited by Darth Vader; 04-25-2018 at 06:37 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-25-2018, 06:43 AM   #8
ZhaoLin1457
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,022

Rep: Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208
Unfortunatelly, the new trend of the javascript coin-miners used by random sites instead of ads, forced me to improve my abilities to read the web pages source code, then to customize the adblock lists.

That's why I think having a working web inspector is very useful even for non web developers.

Last edited by ZhaoLin1457; 04-25-2018 at 06:51 AM.
 
Old 04-25-2018, 08:10 AM   #9
Alien Bob
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,559

Rep: Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
Master Eric-wan Kenobi, please take a step back and breathe. Nope, I do not ask(ed) you personally to include this patch.

Did it looks like one of my "campaigns" as you known, this particular thread where I posted some information and a few lines patch, then I leaved it without a reply for over a month?
I did not reply, until you posted "Maybe if we ask nice Eric, he will add this patch for Falkon... But I think more people will ask for, more chances are Eric to add this a bit unconventional patch"...
 
Old 04-25-2018, 10:16 AM   #10
ZhaoLin1457
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,022

Rep: Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208Reputation: 1208
The OP describe in the phrase quoted by you something in an uncertain future. Along the lines:

If there is a future general interest, maybe you will accept this patch in future, with some diplomacy from the users part.

However, maybe because I am not an English native speaker, looks I missing something:

Isn't the KDE itself some random user-contributed shit?

Last edited by ZhaoLin1457; 04-25-2018 at 10:22 AM.
 
Old 04-25-2018, 12:52 PM   #11
Alien Bob
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,559

Rep: Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106Reputation: 8106
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZhaoLin1457 View Post
The OP describe in the phrase quoted by you something in an uncertain future. Along the lines:

If there is a future general interest, maybe you will accept this patch in future, with some diplomacy from the users part.

However, maybe because I am not an English native speaker, looks I missing something:
I does seem you are missing the point, yes. And posts addressing me directly by calling me by name, containing lots of capital letters and colored text are immediately annoying, so my reactions to posts like that will usually be colored too.

Quote:
Isn't the KDE itself some random user-contributed shit?
KDE is part of Slackware, so not really user-contributed. Whether it is shit or not, is a matter of personal preference.
Plasma5 (successor to KDE) is lined up for inclusion into Slackware 15, so it is not completely randomly contributed. Whether it is shit, is again a matter of personal preference.
 
6 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Vivaldi 1.1 Web Browser Released for All Platforms, Based on Chromium 50 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-26-2016 07:46 PM
Installing Chromium web browser monojeffrey Ubuntu 13 02-28-2013 08:00 AM
error while trying to install chromium web browser in ubuntu 11.04 quazisaad Linux - Software 2 05-01-2011 12:40 PM
[SOLVED] Trying to install Google Chromium Web Browser - not quite succeeding... Robert.Thompson Slackware 8 02-07-2011 01:54 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration