LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Other *NIX
User Name
Password
Other *NIX This forum is for the discussion of any UNIX platform that does not have its own forum. Examples would include HP-UX, IRIX, Darwin, Tru64 and OS X.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2021, 06:22 PM   #1
gentisle
Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: LinuxMint, NomadBSD
Posts: 234

Rep: Reputation: 8
Anyone With Catalina Can Run This Test Please?


Hi,
I am trying to rid my brand new MacBook Pro of malware, and I wondered if anyone could run a process command and see if they are getting the results I am. This is the command:
ps -ax |grep mackeeperI am just testing for the presence of the mackeeper. Please post results here, thanks.
 
Old 02-14-2021, 06:26 PM   #2
HappyTux
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Distribution: Debian AMD64
Posts: 3,976

Rep: Reputation: 192Reputation: 192
Nothing there.

Code:
MacUser2525:~$ ps -ax |grep mackeeper
27342 ttys004    0:00.00 grep mackeeper
MacUser2525:~$ sw_vers -productVersion
10.15.7
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-14-2021, 06:26 PM   #3
Emerson
LQ Sage
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
Distribution: Gentoo ~arch
Posts: 7,231

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
So you want us to install mackeeper and then test if it shows up in ps output?
 
Old 02-16-2021, 05:01 AM   #4
gentisle
Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: LinuxMint, NomadBSD
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
@Stephen C. - thanks.
@Emerson - No. Just run the command, I'm comparing outputs to see what happens. Maybe you already know the answer? Does ps list what you typed on the command line as a process? In other words, does it appear to show a process that is really not running? Thanks
 
Old 02-16-2021, 09:14 AM   #5
HappyTux
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Distribution: Debian AMD64
Posts: 3,976

Rep: Reputation: 192Reputation: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentisle View Post
@Stephen C. - thanks.
@Emerson - No. Just run the command, I'm comparing outputs to see what happens. Maybe you already know the answer? Does ps list what you typed on the command line as a process? In other words, does it appear to show a process that is really not running? Thanks
Yes that is it, it shows the process you just ran in its output, you are grepping all instances of that, so it shows the grep command doing it.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-16-2021, 10:00 AM   #6
shruggy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 2,550

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The usual way to grep the output of ps is
Code:
ps -ax|grep [m]ackeeper
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-16-2021, 10:37 AM   #7
HappyTux
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Distribution: Debian AMD64
Posts: 3,976

Rep: Reputation: 192Reputation: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by shruggy View Post
The usual way to grep the output of ps is
Code:
ps -ax|grep [m]ackeeper
Yes, hard to believe it is the first time in 23 years of use I have seen this really handy one, thanks for the posting.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-16-2021, 10:51 AM   #8
shruggy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 2,550

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Alas, this works in Bash, Fish and Yash, but not in Zsh or Tcsh. You'll have to type one character more there:
Code:
ps -ax|grep \[m]ackeeper
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-02-2021, 05:04 PM   #9
Pagonis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Location: Lithuania
Distribution: macOS on M1
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: 8
disregard, misunderstood

Last edited by Pagonis; 03-02-2021 at 05:07 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-30-2021, 10:30 PM   #10
gentisle
Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: LinuxMint, NomadBSD
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
Thanks all. Closing this one.
 
Old 09-05-2021, 11:31 AM   #11
MadeInGermany
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: Simplicity
Posts: 1,805

Rep: Reputation: 814Reputation: 814Reputation: 814Reputation: 814Reputation: 814Reputation: 814Reputation: 814
Correct is
Code:
ps -ax|grep \[m]ackeeper
or
Code:
ps -ax|grep "[m]ackeeper"
in all shells.

A quick alternative:
Code:
pgrep -lf mackeeper
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-05-2021, 06:40 PM   #12
gentisle
Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: LinuxMint, NomadBSD
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
Talking

Thanks MadeInGermany. Those worked perfectly. It was amazing to find the command on the Internet, and bring it back to the forefront of someone's mind. I had just found it as a Linux command, and figured it might work the same on MacOS, even though I knew it doesn't always work that way between Linux and BSD. Anyway, problem solved.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache Tomcat catalina.out renamed to catalina.yyyy-mm-dd.log adebayoo Linux - Server 5 10-16-2012 04:26 AM
Tomcat 5: jsvc vs basic catalina timmeke Linux - Software 0 11-23-2005 07:37 AM
Turtle Beach Catalina 7.1 souled Linux - Hardware 3 11-17-2005 05:54 PM
mysql entry in catalina.policy when using security option gschrade Linux - Software 5 03-23-2004 11:23 AM
Tomcat(catalina) + Apache ?? Robert0380 Linux - Software 1 12-09-2002 03:01 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Other *NIX

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration