LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Security
User Name
Password
Linux - Security This forum is for all security related questions.
Questions, tips, system compromises, firewalls, etc. are all included here.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2022, 01:31 PM   #1
JanGayle
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2022
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 10
dpkg interrupted


Help with the dpkg interrupted program run. The instructions say to open a terminal. How do I open a terminal and find a $ prompt
 
Old 11-14-2022, 02:43 PM   #2
jailbait
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Debian 11
Posts: 8,102

Rep: Reputation: 464Reputation: 464Reputation: 464Reputation: 464Reputation: 464
You start a program which emulates now obsolete physical devices like a VT101. Different desktops have different programs to emulate a terminal. Once you start a terminal emulator you will see a screen that looks like a computer console from a 1970s era computer.

KDE uses a program called konsole.

Gnome uses a program called gnome-terminal.

Whatever terminal emulator your desktop uses it will probably have an icon that looks like an IBM 2260 or something similar. So look in your list of available programs for an icon that looks like an old fashioned console.
 
Old 11-14-2022, 03:47 PM   #3
273
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian Sid AMD64, Raspbian Wheezy, various VMs
Posts: 7,629

Rep: Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362Reputation: 2362
There is usually an entry in the menu, or finder thingy or whatever called Terminal or you can often right-click in the file manager and use the "open terminal here" option.
 
Old 11-15-2022, 05:43 AM   #4
fatmac
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2011
Location: Upper Hale, Surrey/Hants Border, UK
Distribution: Mainly Devuan/Devuan based - with - OpenBSD - NetBSD - Fatdog64
Posts: 4,724

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Alternatively, you could press Ctrl+Alt+F2, (all at the same time), to get one.
 
Old 11-15-2022, 05:49 AM   #5
hazel
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 6,577
Blog Entries: 17

Rep: Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918Reputation: 3918
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatmac View Post
Alternatively, you could press Ctrl+Alt+F2, (all at the same time), to get one.
If you do that, you'll have to log in again, but you do get a nice full-screen terminal. If you open a terminal on your desktop, you don't have to log in and you can see the rest of your desktop.
 
Old 11-24-2022, 11:40 AM   #6
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on freest; has been KDE, CLI, Novena but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 4,567
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489
oops
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 'dpkg--configure-a' E: dpkg was interrupted error Mountain Man 77 Linux - Newbie 8 02-21-2015 11:59 PM
dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the prob krishna.nitk Linux - Newbie 3 03-21-2009 03:41 PM
Ubuntu newbie, E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' ? chinkychan Linux - Newbie 1 01-28-2009 11:21 PM
E:dpkg was interrupted,you must manually run"dpkg --configure -a" to correct problem loplop4 Debian 5 09-29-2008 12:11 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Security

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration