LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2018, 06:56 AM   #1
Dantaliion
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2017
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Screen turns black without nomodeset on Debian (old laptop)


Hello, guys. I have always used Debian normally, and suddenly, after the line
Code:
/dev/sda: clean, $number/$number files, $number/$number blocks
the screen turns completely black and i am forced to power the computer off manually.

My laptop is a Dell Vostro 1320 (Intel Core 2 Duo). I use the "unstable" repository, but already tried downgrading to "testing", to no avail (although i have not tried stable, and will not, because i need packages to be as up to date as possible for my personal projects).

I can currently boot normally using the "nomodeset" parameter, but the resolution, proportion, fonts and icons are all horrible. I have tried reinstalling firmware-linux, firmware-amd-graphics and xserver-xorg-video-intel, also to no avail.

Do any of you have any suggestions on how to approach this issue? Thanks in advance!
 
Old 12-14-2018, 08:45 PM   #2
Brains
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 689

Rep: Reputation: 158Reputation: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantaliion View Post
I can currently boot normally using the "nomodeset" parameter,
I recently had similar issue when booting with Nvidia graphics enabled, (I can switch graphics from Nvidia to Intel and vise versa via hardware switch), I used to have:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet modeset nouveau.modeset=0"
in /etc/default/grub for a year or so. Then the issues you are experiencing started a couple weeks or month ago. I found booting to rescue mode, then hitting CTRL+D to continue would get it to boot to the desktop.

So I eventually fixed it by removing "modeset nouveau.modeset=0" from that line in the code above and just having "quiet", then running update-grub command and now it boots normally. But had no issues when booting with Intel graphics enabled.
 
Old 12-15-2018, 03:29 AM   #3
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 10,412
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantaliion View Post
My laptop is a Dell Vostro 1320 (Intel Core 2 Duo). I use the "unstable" repository, but already tried downgrading to "testing", to no avail (although i have not tried stable, and will not, because i need packages to be as up to date as possible for my personal projects).
and what if it turns out that the computer works flawlessly with stable?

in any case, 'nomodeset' is something you use until you fixed your graphics issues, then you can remove it again.
 
Old 12-16-2018, 06:42 AM   #4
Dantaliion
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2017
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Brains: thanks for the reply. I have already tried adding "modeset nouveau.modeset=0" as suggested here https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...en-4175620654/ (there was already only "quiet" in GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT). Black screen. Tried booting to single-user mode. Black screen. Hit Ctrl-D. Black screen.

ondoho: yeah, if it turns out there is no other option, i'd rather sacrifice current updates than have an unusable computer. Though i need to try everything before that.
 
Old 12-16-2018, 06:58 AM   #5
Dennis99
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: Gorleston, Norfolk, UK
Distribution: Debian, Manjaro, Raspian
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 10
What happens with a different kernel?
I ask because I have the same problem on an old Dell laptop on testing.
Black screen on kernel 4.18.0-3 but boots ok on 4.18.0-2.

Last edited by Dennis99; 12-16-2018 at 07:01 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-16-2018, 10:23 AM   #6
Dantaliion
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2017
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Dennis99: thank you very, VERY much, sir. That worked. I installed 4.18.0-2 and removed linux-image-amd64 to prevent further upgrades. But does this mean i will not be able to upgrade the kernel anymore?
 
Old 12-16-2018, 11:28 AM   #7
Dennis99
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: Gorleston, Norfolk, UK
Distribution: Debian, Manjaro, Raspian
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantaliion View Post
Dennis99: thank you very, VERY much, sir. That worked. I installed 4.18.0-2 and removed linux-image-amd64 to prevent further upgrades. But does this mean i will not be able to upgrade the kernel anymore?
The $64,000 question, I wish I knew. I've not really looked into why it doesn't boot on 4.18.0-3.

Edit: Looked into this a little. I use the pae kernel if that makes a difference.
Edited the 4.18.0-3 linux line in grub, deleted quiet to see what's happening, added nomodeset and rebooted and it booted.
Did an update (169) and rebooted, still didn't boot without deleting quiet and adding nomodeset so I'm now assuming it's graphics related.

Last edited by Dennis99; 12-16-2018 at 01:53 PM.
 
Old 12-17-2018, 02:35 AM   #8
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 10,412
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577Reputation: 2577
isn't it possible to use an LTS kernel even on unstable/testing?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xubuntu 12.04 won' boot and install on old laptop. Don't know how to set nomodeset taubi Linux - Newbie 4 10-03-2014 05:27 PM
[SOLVED] Linux Mint13 install with nomodeset hendomen Linux - Newbie 5 06-17-2012 07:03 PM
Nomodeset parameter goes where? szboardstretcher Linux - Software 10 09-01-2010 12:03 PM
-current users with 2.6.33+ and nVidia GPU : nomodeset can avoid you a blank screen Didier Spaier Slackware 2 04-08-2010 03:07 PM
LXer: Ubuntu Lucid (10.04) daily build for March 15, 2010 runs with nomodeset on Inte LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-16-2010 10:40 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration