LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2019, 05:33 AM   #1
a1u
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Blackscreens after forcing resolution


Hey,
so to explain my problem i will start right from the begining.

I use a AMD RX 480 GPU and a 4k Samsung TV as main screen.

Both are connected via HDMI 2.0 and 3840x2160@60hz works just fine on Windows.
In Linux (At the moment Manjaro Cinnamon) i could not set the resolution to 3840x2160@60hz.

So I tried adding it via xrandr as I thought there seems to be a problem with the screens EDID.
I generated a modeline with cvt which did not worked at all.
Second i tried to generate a modeline with reduced blanking (cvt -r).
This modeline did work.

Unfortunately I ran into a new problem.

In different intervals I get a black screen...
It seems like the screen lose the connection to the PC and directly reconnects.
This results in a black screen for aproximetly 3 seconds and is very annoying.
I dont know any further.
Do you guys have any ideas how I could fix this problem?

Alex
 
Old 07-12-2019, 12:02 PM   #2
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,574

Rep: Reputation: 458Reputation: 458Reputation: 458Reputation: 458Reputation: 458
Start with the basics. Try another cable, and make sure it has the quality to support 3840x2160@60. The Windows driver may be specifically tailored to the Samsung or Radeon to overcome some known limitation in either.

Is the trouble the same logging in with a virgin user account? Cinnamon might have saved incompatible settings made with an older display.

Does 3840x2160@30 work? Does 3840x2160@60 work in any other DE or WM, such the lightweight IceWM? What does hwinfo --monitor report?

Manually generated modelines are virtually always unnecessary, diversions stealing your effort better used to find the real problem, especially with newer hardware, such as 4k and GCN4th. If EDID is a problem, preferred mode, sync and refresh specs can be provided via xorg.conf*, allowing X to generate modelines it needs automatically. 3840x2160 should be automatic, no configuration necessary in xorg.conf or Cinnamon.

Pastebin Xorg.0.log from /var/log/ or ~/.local/share/xorg/ from a session that included 3 second blanking so we can see what X is reporting.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forcing the native resolution in NIVIDIA X Server Settings Steviepower Linux - Hardware 3 10-17-2012 04:36 AM
forcing traffic through certain route(forcing source ip) taltman Linux - Networking 1 12-26-2007 01:07 PM
Forcing a resolution... Unr3a164 Linux - Newbie 3 07-06-2007 04:33 AM
Setting DSL for autologin and forcing a better resolution on console stormrider_may DamnSmallLinux 4 02-06-2006 03:42 AM
How can I prevent my box from automatically forcing fsck after the default number of abefroman Linux - Software 4 12-16-2005 04:25 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration