LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2019, 02:50 AM   #16
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 11,646
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096Reputation: 3096

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebbi View Post
The thing is, using Midori (that is, the really old version available in the Ubuntu repositories) I couldn't get any sound with the videos!
you could try installing all the gstreamer plugins (the good, the bad and the ugly).

if the hardware really cannot keep up with flash or html5 in-browser video playback, one MUST mention mpv + youtube-dl
  • youtube-dl can download almost anything (many more sites than the name suggests). it has a huge community & a dedicated developer team and receives updates constantly. one of the few apps that should be upgraded fast (esp. youtube.com like to change their apis frequently), preferably outside your distro's package management
  • mpv automatically integrates youtube-dl if it's present in $PATH, so you can directly stream videos with 'mpv http://site.tld/video_url'
  • for those bemoaning the lack of clicky-clicky and shiny-shiny, GUI frontends for mpv exist, e.g. the much beloved smplayer.
so with all 3 compnents in place, you have a great, gui solution for online video streaming that is much, much lighter than playing it back in $Browser.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 03:14 AM   #17
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 17,829

Rep: Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831Reputation: 2831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_Walsh View Post
I'm running a slightly older Inspiron 1100 ...
What a masochist ...
Many years ago I ran one of the early Ubuntu on an 1100 (512M maybe in my case) just to prove I could. Not good, primarily due to the minuscule video RAM that got increased by a Windows driver at boot - the Linux driver didn't at that time. I found that Slackware ran ok, but it was a long time ago.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 06:06 AM   #18
Mike_Walsh
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Distribution: Nowt but Puppies....
Posts: 334

Rep: Reputation: 143Reputation: 143
@ syg00:-

Yep; definitely a masochist, mate!

We've had this 1100 from new, and I've got kinda attached to it - stupid, I know, but it's proven more reliable than many newer machines I've had through my hands. And I'm one of these daft buggers who just loves seeing what old hardware is still capable of.

I'm no 'green warrior', to be sure, but I fail to see the point in chucking stuff that still works 100% in the trash...


Mike.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 06:32 AM   #19
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, Vsido, tinycore, Q4OS
Posts: 2,916

Rep: Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_Walsh View Post
@ syg00:-

Yep; definitely a masochist, mate!

We've had this 1100 from new, and I've got kinda attached to it - stupid, I know, but it's proven more reliable than many newer machines I've had through my hands. And I'm one of these daft buggers who just loves seeing what old hardware is still capable of.

I'm no 'green warrior', to be sure, but I fail to see the point in chucking stuff that still works 100% in the trash...


Mike.
With you on that.
Still, you might want to retire this hardware to secondary use and grab something newer for gulping streaming media and heavier tasks.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 08:11 AM   #20
rebbi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Random thought that I forgot to mention before: I had even tried using TinyCore on this machine, but although it boots really quickly, I couldn’t wrap my brain around the paradigm of how that distribution works and how it is supposed to be installed! :-(
 
Old 05-25-2019, 10:39 AM   #21
Mike_Walsh
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Distribution: Nowt but Puppies....
Posts: 334

Rep: Reputation: 143Reputation: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpeckham View Post
With you on that.
Still, you might want to retire this hardware to secondary use and grab something newer for gulping streaming media and heavier tasks.
Ah, fair comment. The Dell is located permanently in the front room; I'm a full-time carer, and I use it on the occasions I keep Mama company of an evening.

My main rig is an elderly Compaq Presario desktop, from just before the HP takeover. Dual-core Athlon64 X2, 3 GB RAM, and all sorts of goodies and extras added over the years. It's my main workhorse, and flies with Puppy. That lives in my room, and is where most of my work is done.

I'm a major sci-fi nut, and the Presario spends a lot of its time streaming NetFlix....

Still runs like a dream.....'touch wood'!


Mike.

Last edited by Mike_Walsh; 05-25-2019 at 10:41 AM.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 06:29 PM   #22
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,858
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819
Modern browsers require pulseaudio. Just the lay of the land. I always avoided it in the olden days, because it chewed up 100MB of RAM, which, when you only have 512MB of RAM, is an issue. Hence the losing battle comment from earlier. For $80-ish you can get a 6 core arm (4x 2GHz 2x 1.5GHz) and 4G's of DDR4 RAM. More than enough to do youtube at whatever resolution your display does and your network speed supports. At least for the next couple of years. Till it takes 1TB of RAM for a browser and 8K displays are the only thing for sale new.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 08:26 PM   #23
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, Vsido, tinycore, Q4OS
Posts: 2,916

Rep: Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258Reputation: 1258
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebbi View Post
Random thought that I forgot to mention before: I had even tried using TinyCore on this machine, but although it boots really quickly, I couldn’t wrap my brain around the paradigm of how that distribution works and how it is supposed to be installed! :-(
TinyCore is a live run only distribution. It CAN be installed to hard disk, but the recommended install is to just move the img to the HD and do what is called a "frugal" install. Documentation is available and clear on the web site.
The concept is that every run will boot from a read-only image, run from ram like lightning, and only retain what YOU decide will be preserved from one start to the next (preservation folder stuff/settings, installed packages, etc.) It makes it not only very fast, but secure in a way that most are not. It is not for everyone, but a very useful and powerful tool. (I like it, and puppy, a lot!)

Last edited by wpeckham; 05-25-2019 at 08:27 PM.
 
Old 05-25-2019, 09:31 PM   #24
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,858
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819
I've always wanted to do a puppy linux (boots to / runs from RAM). To chroot into a debian install, replicated to a ramdisk while in puppy. But I've never really had hardware with quite enough RAM. AKA 32GB+, to have 16GB for the puppy+debian ramdisks and 16GB to do useful things. But I'd also want it to be ECC RAM, and those options in the < $500 and < 75W options are few and far between, if such an option exists at all.

The main issue with the OPs setup is that once you're out of RAM, and end up using swap. Insert SLUG, and various other issues. You can change the swappiness value to favor not using swap and gain some relief. But apps are not getting smaller anymore. No longer are we trying to squeeze a full blown linux into a 24MB device (agenda vr3). Which was pretty sweet when we did, a 66MHz mips running as fast as a 400MHz x86. At least in terms of the user experience.

$ echo /proc/sys/vm/swappiness

# echo 20 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness

The default is 60 for many *deb distros. Meaning it'll swap even when you don't really need to. Modern linux kind of has /tmp as swap, versus actual swap. For those apps that know that they're pigs and couldn't possibly do it all in RAM. So really you'll gain a lot of speed breaking out various things to their own storage devices, like /tmp. I have the /home/ of one of my users that does a lot of disk I/O on it's own SSD and the difference in the user experience is very noticeable. All of which is moot if you don't have the RAM to run the OS and company to do the things you want to do. Lower resource heavy browsers only go so far.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Calibre 0.7.18 slow importing .... I mean slug through the salt flats slow = / jkzfixme Linux - Software 1 01-21-2011 09:30 PM
[SOLVED] Apt-get update gets stuck while reading package list on my slug rolnics Debian 11 04-05-2010 07:59 AM
Printing from XP to a Slug via CUPS - "Get-Printer-Attributes successful-ok " wibbleypants Linux - Networking 0 01-28-2009 12:24 PM
LXer: Linux-based SLUG spawns highly hackable NAS LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-07-2007 12:50 PM
LXer: Debian Etch loves the Slug LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 11-15-2006 04:33 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration