LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
jmpz
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 74

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
xrandr problem


Hi, all,

I use a laptop with slackware (the version now I use is 14) for a long time but there is an issue I never figure out.

When I connect the laptop with a VGA monitor, I use xrandr to set up the displays.

First, I close the monitor on the laptop:
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off
Then, I set up the VGA monitor:
Code:
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1280x1024
Finally, I keep this setting till I shutdown the computer, which means I shutdown the computer using the VGA monitor.

Then, if you reboot the laptop using the laptop monitor only, everything is OK until the screen resolution is changing (I don't know whether this description is enough or not). The screen will turn into total black. However, the boot process is still running.

My temporary solution is that: instead of booting slackware, I boot into windows first. Once I get the login interface of windows, I reboot the laptop and choose slackware in lilo. Then the problem can be fixed.

Is there a direct solution or setting for this problem?

I didn't have this problem in the same laptop on debian. So I think it may be related with slackware. Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
Old 12-11-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
camorri
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Somewhere inside 9.9 million sq. km. Canada
Distribution: Slackware 15.0, current, slackware-arm-currnet
Posts: 6,209

Rep: Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845
I did some testing with my HP netbook and an external monitor, Slack 14 32 bit system.

I can turn on the external monitor with
Quote:
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768
without problems.

I can then turn off the netbook display with
Quote:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off
. So far so good.

I shutdown the netbook through the gui, I run XFCE. I booted, with the external monitor connected. I see what you describe, the messages from the lilo boot screen to the first mode change appear only on the internal monitor. Once the modes set happens, ( font size changes ), I see the rest of the boot messages on both screens. The KDM screen shows up, I can log in. ( Still visible on both monitors), I log in, both monitors show the desktop. I can turn off the netbook monitor, either by the command line, or through the 'Display' app in the Settings menu.

What is a little strange, ( at least to me ) is the internal monitor is not in the correct mode. It normally runs in 1024x600 ( a 16x9 format ) and the external ( a 4x3 format ) is 1024x768. The bottom 1/3'rd of the screen is cut off on the internal monitor.

Now, if I try to turn the internal monitor back on, either with xrandr, or the Display app, I can not turn in on.

If I run shutdown, both work on reboot. I did get into a situation, once where I had both external and internal blank. I have not figured out how I did that though. I ssh'ed into the netbook, and ran shutdown.

So, in summary, it appears if both monitors are attached, on boot, the mode is picked for the external monitor. Don't know if you have another system to ssh to your system, if you do, that may be another way to gain control.

Not sure if the fact I can not turn the internal back on is a bug or not.

Hope this sheds a little light...
 
Old 12-11-2012, 01:57 PM   #3
jmpz
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 74

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks for your reply. However, I notice that you reboot your laptop with the external monitor connected:

Quote:
Originally Posted by camorri View Post
I shutdown the netbook through the gui, I run XFCE. I booted, with the external monitor connected.
Could you do another experiment that you reboot you laptop without the external monitor? (all the previous steps are same as you did in the last experiment)

If after rebooting your laptop monitor turns off when the font size is changing, I think you may face the same situation as I have.

Also, what's your display card? Mine is Intel 945 mobile (I think).

Last edited by jmpz; 12-11-2012 at 01:59 PM.
 
Old 12-11-2012, 04:17 PM   #4
camorri
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Somewhere inside 9.9 million sq. km. Canada
Distribution: Slackware 15.0, current, slackware-arm-currnet
Posts: 6,209

Rep: Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845
No problem. First of all, the VGA controller.

Quote:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 3660
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 45
Memory at 58180000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
I/O ports at 60c0 [size=8]
Memory at 40000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
Memory at 58000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
Capabilities: [90] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
Kernel driver in use: i915
Kernel modules: i915
I'll run the test and post again.
 
Old 12-11-2012, 04:28 PM   #5
camorri
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Somewhere inside 9.9 million sq. km. Canada
Distribution: Slackware 15.0, current, slackware-arm-currnet
Posts: 6,209

Rep: Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845
I booted the system, connected the external monitor, ran the 2 xrandar commands as before; and shutdown with the external monitor running. Once shut down, disconnected he external monitor; and booted.

All was normal. The netbook monitor came up it 1024 x 600, as it should.
 
Old 12-11-2012, 04:51 PM   #6
jmpz
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 74

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks a lot! It seems you don't face my problem.

Do you know what are the possible issues there? It troubles me much.

Thanks!
 
Old 12-11-2012, 06:27 PM   #7
camorri
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Somewhere inside 9.9 million sq. km. Canada
Distribution: Slackware 15.0, current, slackware-arm-currnet
Posts: 6,209

Rep: Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845Reputation: 845
Quote:
Do you know what are the possible issues there?
Sorry, no. You do have different video hardware, so there is a possibility it is hardware, or BIOS related. You could look to see if there are any BIOS updates for your system.

Once you power down, nothing should be left in memory or hardware registers that is not reset. So, it is a mystery why your system boots with some in-useable video mode, that you can reset with a windoze boot.

Can you switch back to the system monitor after having the external monitor on? This is the one thing that does not work for me.
 
Old 12-13-2012, 05:45 AM   #8
allend
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Distribution: Slackware64-15.0
Posts: 6,357

Rep: Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739Reputation: 2739
My netbook has a LVDS with a native resolution of 1024x600. The output from '/sbin/lspci' shows
Quote:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
I include a 'video=1024x600' option in the append line in my /etc/lilo.conf. I have not seen any problems with video on reboot after using an external monitor.
Quote:
append = " vt.default_utf8=1 resume=/dev/sda6 video=1024x600"
To use the external monitor I generally use
Quote:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --auto --output VGA1 --auto --left-of LVDS1
To turn off the external monitor I use
Quote:
xrandr --output VGA1 --off; xrandr --fb 1024x600
I recently posted about patching xorg-server for use with the scale and panning options to xrandr here. http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...ml#post4831740

Last edited by allend; 12-13-2012 at 07:13 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xrandr problem sylar Debian 1 02-18-2010 07:35 PM
Xrandr Problem Libertes Linux - Newbie 19 02-06-2010 03:41 PM
xrandr + dual monitors + problem with scalling ruppertus Linux - Hardware 0 10-20-2009 06:33 PM
radeon and dual head, to xrandr or not to xrandr, that's the question i92guboj Linux - Desktop 1 06-17-2009 05:48 AM
tv-out xrandr problem Abe_the_Man Ubuntu 1 05-02-2008 07:27 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration