LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2021, 08:25 AM   #31
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by enorbet View Post
Then, check /var/log/packages for any kde4 files as well as ConsoleKit which should be replaced by elogind. One of those will need to exist but not both. Ideally if you are comfortable with the risk and time for fixing back, you can simply rename any kde4 packages and ConsoleKit IF you also have Plasma 5 files, sddm, elogind, etc. OR if you are a serious gambler and handy with chroot, you can manually remove those packages or do "slackpkg clean-system" but it is wise to thoroughly review what will be "cleaned" and uncheck those you wish to keep.
Looks like I have my work cut out for me as this is what I have:
Code:
$ ls /var/log/packages/*ConsoleKit*
/var/log/packages/ConsoleKit2-1.0.0-x86_64-4

$ ls /var/log/packages/*elogind*
/var/log/packages/elogind-246.10-x86_64-1

$ ls /var/log/packages/*kde4*
/var/log/packages/pykde4-4.14.3-x86_64-9
 
Old 04-09-2021, 08:30 AM   #32
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
I did slackpkg install-new and it appears that every package has an md5sum error. Now what?
EDIT: I ran slackpkg install-new again and it looks like nothing was updated, the same packages seem to be in the list of packages to install.

Last edited by rwcooper; 04-09-2021 at 08:40 AM.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 08:56 AM   #33
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys
Posts: 3,586

Rep: Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457
Yeah those errors piss me off, too. The only things that seem to avoid them appears to be connection quality which depends on a couple things. I have wifi 6 so, new to me, I prefer my wifi connection but I get FAR fewer checksum errors with ethernet, so I "ifconfig wlan0 down" to prefer eth1.

Another help is selecting a different mirror, but there is also possibly a time of day issue since mirrors seem to get a bit hincky when they update. I may try the "download" feature at some point so files aren't just temporarily in cache, but that may only be wise for people with multiple systems to upgrade.

Regarding your current conflict condition, this is merely anecdotal, but for a short time I found myself in that same condition upgrading to Plasma5 where I had both elogind and ConsoleKit installed. I wasn't certain what to do either but I discovered, oddly enough, that at least I could still get into X while both were installed. Once I felt confident Plasma 5 was all there I just manually removed ConsoleKit and all was golden. I don't know for certain but I strongly suspect pykde4-4.14.3-x86_64-9 won't present a major problem to finishing your upgrade process anyway.

Try ethernet if you have it and perhaps another mirror and redo the "slackpkg update" process. One thing it is remarkably good at is keeping track of it's own errors and addressing them. I tend to review upgrades for the most obvious base files like GCC, and actually reboot (which is otherwise quite rare for me) and because I use the nvidia proprietary driver I reinstall it when I see a mesa upgrade. It isn't always essential, I've learned, but it is safer if you use the NVIDIA-foo.run installer.

Last edited by enorbet; 04-09-2021 at 08:58 AM.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 09:10 AM   #34
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by enorbet View Post
Yeah those errors piss me off, too. The only things that seem to avoid them appears to be connection quality which depends on a couple things. I have wifi 6 so, new to me, I prefer my wifi connection but I get FAR fewer checksum errors with ethernet, so I "ifconfig wlan0 down" to prefer eth1.

Another help is selecting a different mirror, but there is also possibly a time of day issue since mirrors seem to get a bit hincky when they update. I may try the "download" feature at some point so files aren't just temporarily in cache, but that may only be wise for people with multiple systems to upgrade.

Regarding your current conflict condition, this is merely anecdotal, but for a short time I found myself in that same condition upgrading to Plasma5 where I had both elogind and ConsoleKit installed. I wasn't certain what to do either but I discovered, oddly enough, that at least I could still get into X while both were installed. Once I felt confident Plasma 5 was all there I just manually removed ConsoleKit and all was golden. I don't know for certain but I strongly suspect pykde4-4.14.3-x86_64-9 won't present a major problem to finishing your upgrade process anyway.

Try ethernet if you have it and perhaps another mirror and redo the "slackpkg update" process. One thing it is remarkably good at is keeping track of it's own errors and addressing them. I tend to review upgrades for the most obvious base files like GCC, and actually reboot (which is otherwise quite rare for me) and because I use the nvidia proprietary driver I reinstall it when I see a mesa upgrade. It isn't always essential, I've learned, but it is safer if you use the NVIDIA-foo.run installer.
I'm using ethernet (the computer does not have wifi capability). I'll try a different mirror. Thank you for your detailed replies I really appreciate them.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 09:40 AM   #35
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
I've tried 5 different mirrors with the same md5sum errors.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:01 AM   #36
garpu
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 811

Rep: Reputation: 390Reputation: 390Reputation: 390Reputation: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwcooper View Post
Thanks for your reply. I think I'll try this next.
Like the person underneath my response said, make sure you do a clean-system, as well.

MD5 errors: have you updated slackpkg and/or slackpkg+? It sounds like you're doing incomplete updates, which is...not recommended...for current.

Last edited by garpu; 04-09-2021 at 11:02 AM.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:10 AM   #37
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by garpu View Post
Like the person underneath my response said, make sure you do a clean-system, as well.

MD5 errors: have you updated slackpkg and/or slackpkg+? It sounds like you're doing incomplete updates, which is...not recommended...for current.
slackpkg got updated to version 15.0.1 I'll give the clean-system a try.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:23 AM   #38
LuckyCyborg
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,284

Rep: Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022
In my humble opinion, the Slackware-current is so far away from Slackware 14.2 that I doubt that there could be done a meaningful fixing of an accidental upgrade.

I suggest to OP to make an local mirror of Slackware-current via rsync using this script made by Mr. Hameleers:

http://www.slackware.com/~alien/tool...are-current.sh

Secondly, to reinstall everything manually, running from the <path to slacware-current>/slackware64
Code:
upgradepkg --reinstall --install-new */*.t?z
Then, inspecting and eventually replacing all .new files from /etc . MANUALLY.

Finally, from the base directory of mirror tree, to execute:
Code:
cat ./ChangeLog.txt | grep ".t[gx]z" | grep ":  Removed." | cut -d: -f1 | cut -d/ -f2 | xargs removepkg  --terse
This removes every package removed from -current.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-09-2021, 11:29 AM   #39
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyCyborg View Post
In my humble opinion, the Slackware-current is so far away from Slackware 14.2 that I doubt that there could be done a meaningful fixing of an accidental upgrade.

I suggest to OP to make an local mirror of Slackware-current via rsync using this script made by Mr. Hameleers:

http://www.slackware.com/~alien/tool...are-current.sh

Secondly, to reinstall everything manually, running from the <path to slacware-current>/slackware64
Code:
upgradepkg --reinstall --install-new */*.t?z
Then, inspecting and eventually replacing all .new files from /etc . MANUALLY.

Finally, from the base directory of mirror tree, to execute:
Code:
cat ./ChangeLog.txt | grep ".t[gx]z" | grep ":  Removed." | cut -d: -f1 | cut -d/ -f2 | xargs removepkg  --terse
This removes every package removed from -current.
Thanks for your reply. I didn't accidentally upgrade from 14.2, it was from an older version of current.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:32 AM   #40
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwcooper View Post
slackpkg got updated to version 15.0.1 I'll give the clean-system a try.
Well that didn't work. I still get the md5sum errors.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:35 AM   #41
LuckyCyborg
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,284

Rep: Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwcooper View Post
Thanks for your reply. I didn't accidentally upgrade from 14.2, it was from an older version of current.
This "older version of current" was from before switching to Plasma5 and elogind, with the removal of KDE4 and ConsoleKit2?
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:43 AM   #42
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyCyborg View Post
This "older version of current" was from before switching to Plasma5 and elogind, with the removal of KDE4 and ConsoleKit2?
Yes, long before that. I had a particular program that I couldn't get to build on a newer version of current on my test computer so I didn't upgrade my main computer.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:48 AM   #43
LuckyCyborg
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,284

Rep: Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwcooper View Post
Yes, long before that. I had a particular program that I couldn't get to build on a newer version of current on my test computer so I didn't upgrade my main computer.
Then, I think that my previous post remains as valid solution.

Better to forget about slackpkg and to do the things manually.

At least this is what I will do myself. Honestly, I never used slackpkg on Slackware.

Last edited by LuckyCyborg; 04-09-2021 at 11:49 AM.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 11:54 AM   #44
rwcooper
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyCyborg View Post
Then, I think that my previous post remains as valid solution.

Better to forget about slackpkg and to do the things manually.

At least this is what I will do myself. Honestly, I never used slackpkg on Slackware.
I'm thinking I should just back up /home and reinstall from an ISO of the latest version of current.
 
Old 04-09-2021, 12:03 PM   #45
LuckyCyborg
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,284

Rep: Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022Reputation: 1022
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwcooper View Post
I'm thinking I should just back up /home and reinstall from an ISO of the latest version of current.
Probably this is also the faster option.

As far I know from my own experience, reinstalling everything is so slow that makes puppies cry - seen by myself when the mass rebuilds happened.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having problems getting KDE to start after SOHO upgrade SOHO sinczar MEPIS 1 09-07-2005 01:46 PM
Having problems getting KDE to start after SOHO upgrade from 3.3.1 sinczar MEPIS 0 09-07-2005 01:27 PM
Can't start PPP after dialing in... Or don't know how to start PPP after dialing in.. exabrial Linux - Networking 2 04-13-2004 04:46 PM
After upgrade KDE doesnt start. gruessle Debian 7 04-10-2004 01:26 PM
KDE and GNOME unable to start after upgrade to MDK9.1 from 8.1. Malakh Linux - Software 2 05-22-2003 12:46 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration