LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2020, 03:34 AM   #16
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 4,618

Rep: Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839

Returning traffic will go via the default gateway. Is that as you intend it?
 
Old 06-09-2020, 03:36 AM   #17
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 4,618

Rep: Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839
Do a tracert from one of the remote work stations...
Code:
tracert 172.16.30.23
 
Old 06-09-2020, 04:25 AM   #18
bogdanc2011
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Distribution: openSUSE, Arch Linux
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrari View Post
Returning traffic will go via the default gateway. Is that as you intend it?
There's no gateway so it doesn't really matter. All I want is for traffic from 172.16.10.x and 172.16.122.x to be routed through enp1s0 and for traffic from 172.16.30.x and 172.16.132.x to be routed through enp1s8.
Quote:
Do a tracert from one of the remote work stations...
I currently don't have access to a remote workstation, but last time I did with the same configuration, I got a "request timed out" error
 
Old 06-09-2020, 05:19 AM   #19
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 4,618

Rep: Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839Reputation: 839
Then you probably need to write rules for that. I still don't have a good understanding of the physical topology. (Network drawings are always useful for this type of situation.)
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ping does not work in two way. only one way mahmoodn Linux - Networking 2 05-16-2012 02:10 AM
I cannot ping with command 'ping IP' address but can ping with 'ping IP -I eth0' sanketmlad Linux - Networking 2 07-15-2011 05:32 AM
DNS look up works, ping only works for some sites any ideas? Mantrout Linux - Wireless Networking 3 01-29-2006 11:59 AM
Linux/Windows networking: ping only works one way qmm Linux - Wireless Networking 6 03-24-2004 04:21 AM
ping works, host works, ping host does not dublin212 Linux - Networking 3 03-31-2003 11:38 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration