LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2017, 01:17 PM   #1
Marco2G
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Windows gaming VM and Linux work VM


Hello everyone

I'm dealing with a tricky puzzle. I want to get rid of my aging gaming PC and instead put a decent GPU inside my Ubuntu server which is already running two VMs on KVM/QEMU.

So far, so good but I'd really like to limit my contact with windows to the bare minimum.

I thought about running the windows VM and ussing PCI passthrough, having it directly use the GPU. I could then virtualize linux in it and work on that.

Drawback is that all keystrokes would still pass windows.

Then there's having a linux VM and then virtualizing windows on it. To game, I'd have to pass through the GPU twice. I don't know whether this is possible nor do I think it very efficient.

The best idea, I think, would be to put my old GPU in as well and having something like a KVM switch.

Problem is the hardware is on another floor and another room than the peripherals. So it would have to be a KVM switch that could be switched over that distance. I have connected the peripherals through 10 to 15m long DP and USB3 cables.

Does anyone have a better idea on how to solve this? The ideal goal is to have to separate VMs on a more or less remote machine. Both should be accessible through my "terminal".

Regards and thanks in advance,

Marco


Edit: D'uh, I completely forgot that most KVM switches accept hotkeys to switch between machines. Only question that remains is is there such a hotkey solution integrated in the hypervisor, perhaps?

Last edited by Marco2G; 03-17-2017 at 01:24 PM.
 
Old 03-17-2017, 01:27 PM   #2
273
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian Sid AMD64, Raspbian Wheezy, various VMs
Posts: 6,769

Rep: Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935
Could you not install the GPU in the server and tell the host not to use it, and then creat a Windows VM and a Linux VM which cannot be running at the same time and have both use the GPU passthrough?
I've not been patient enough to get GPU passthrough working myself so perhaps I missed something?

Last edited by 273; 03-17-2017 at 01:29 PM.
 
Old 03-17-2017, 01:38 PM   #3
Marco2G
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 16

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
And how would you switch between the two?
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:02 PM   #4
273
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian Sid AMD64, Raspbian Wheezy, various VMs
Posts: 6,769

Rep: Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935
Using the host OS? How do you switch between the existing VMs? I take it you are sitting near the server, or how would the GPU work?
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:18 PM   #5
Marco2G
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 16

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
As stated, 10 meters through several walls

The existing VMs are the firewall and a DMZ server respectively. I only need SSH for those.
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:25 PM   #6
273
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian Sid AMD64, Raspbian Wheezy, various VMs
Posts: 6,769

Rep: Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935
Then you're not likely to get a gaming rig working. You need a monitor, mouse and keyboard physically attached to the machine to game on it.
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:28 PM   #7
Marco2G
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 16

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Again, as stated, 10-15m Displayport and USB3 cable
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:35 PM   #8
273
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian Sid AMD64, Raspbian Wheezy, various VMs
Posts: 6,769

Rep: Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935
Yes, very funny.
If you have physical connecions to the host OS then you access the guests through that?
You acceess the Windows and Linux VMs you created using the sam methods you use to access the other VMs but you have to have a physical connection between the graphics card dedicated to them and the monitor you wish to use.
I'll freely admit I'm thinking of this logocally rather than from experience so if you know better it may help your chances of an answer to chip in with what you do know?
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:43 PM   #9
Marco2G
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Posts: 16

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The intention is to attach the monitor and the usb 3 cable (on which there is a dockingstation attached with keyboard, mouse and an audio card) to the GPU and an USB port both passed directly into the VM. Now if I were to have two GPUs in the machine and dedicated two USB ports, I could then pass them through to a gaming windows and a working linux vm respectively.

Using a KVM switch, I could then switch between the two VMs as if they were physical machines. The host OS has nothing to do with this at that point.

Now an alternative that comes to mind is having only one GPU and writing a script that will shut down the running vm, detach the GPU, reattach it to the other VM, reassign the USB port and then boot that second VM. Obviously, this switch would take longer. I would save money on the KVM switch, though.

Third option, if this is supported, would be to hot-swap the GPU and leave the vms running.
 
Old 03-17-2017, 02:55 PM   #10
273
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian Sid AMD64, Raspbian Wheezy, various VMs
Posts: 6,769

Rep: Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935Reputation: 1935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco2G View Post
Now an alternative that comes to mind is having only one GPU and writing a script that will shut down the running vm, detach the GPU, reattach it to the other VM, reassign the USB port and then boot that second VM. Obviously, this switch would take longer. I would save money on the KVM switch, though.
that's roughly what I mean.
 
Old 04-24-2017, 10:09 AM   #11
edbarx
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2010
Distribution: Used Debian since Sarge. (~2005)
Posts: 373

Rep: Reputation: 20
Give USB access to QEMU guest (Windows XP)

Misposted. Deleting post.

Last edited by edbarx; 04-24-2017 at 10:10 AM. Reason: Error post.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming on Linux and Windows whiners LinBox2013 General 56 09-26-2014 09:33 AM
LXer: Is Windows still better than Linux at gaming? LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-08-2014 10:20 PM
LXer: Is Linux better than Windows 8 for gaming? LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 11-28-2012 04:40 AM
LXer: LLVMpipe Still Doesn't Work For Linux Gaming LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 05-28-2012 08:30 AM
Windows Gaming on Linux trickykid General 1 03-27-2001 03:50 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration