LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2019, 03:20 AM   #16
Fruchtenstein
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Distribution: Ubuntu. And FreeBSD, too.
Posts: 12

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by evo2 View Post
Hmm, but it wouldn't turn your second display on etc? You could only get that to work with the xorg.conf.
Of course. The rotation was done in .xinitrc, which I completely removed when I understood that Xorg doesn't start. The problems I described above were happening when there were no configuration files, neither xorg.conf, nor .xinitrc or anything else.

Quote:
Hmm, that really makes me think you shouldn't need that xorg.conf. Just turning displays on and off, and positioning them with xrandr should be enough.
Unfortunately, I don't know of any way to turn displays on other than to put that 'Device' section in xorg.conf. Any ideas?
 
Old 07-20-2019, 11:48 PM   #17
evo2
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Japan
Distribution: Mostly Debian and CentOS
Posts: 5,940

Rep: Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375Reputation: 1375
Hi,

you can use xrandr or a gui frontend to it like arandr.

Evo2.
 
Old 07-21-2019, 03:17 AM   #18
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,654

Rep: Reputation: 515Reputation: 515Reputation: 515Reputation: 515Reputation: 515Reputation: 515
You might try making one or the other display explicitly primary with xrandr.

Any chance your VGA cable could be replaced with a DVI-DVI or DVI-HDMI cable? My Haswell has HDMI, DVI and VGA. Going all digital can sometimes work better, or at all.

My xrandr script is in /etc/X11/Xsession.d/. No .xinitrc, .xsession, Gnome or GDM here. I have no trouble getting my Kaby Lake to use all connected displays without any need for xorg.conf* whether I use startx or TDM:
Code:
## to stack displays instead of side by side by side
# xrandr --output DP-1 --mode 2560x1440 --primary --output HDMI-1 --mode 2560x1080 --above DP-1 --output HDMI-2 --mode 1920x1200 --above HDMI-1
# xrandr | egrep 'onnect|creen|\*' | grep -v disconn | sort -r
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2560 x 3720, maximum 8192 x 8192
HDMI-2 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 519mm x 324mm
HDMI-1 connected 2560x1080+0+1200 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 673mm x 284mm
DP-1 connected primary 2560x1440+0+2280 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   2560x1440     59.95*+  74.92
   2560x1080     60.00*+
   1920x1200     59.95*+
# inxi -GxxS
System:    Host: gb250 Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 8.3.0 Desktop: Trinity R14.0.7 tk: Qt 3.5.0
           wm: Twin dm: startx Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 630 vendor: Gigabyte driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:5912
           Display: tty server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
           resolution: 2560x1080~60Hz, 1920x1200~60Hz, 2560x1440~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2) v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.6 compat-v: 3.0
           direct render: Yes
Note HDMI-2 here is actually a DVI connection.

I would expect my Haswell to do no differently other than connector names in xrandr, but I don't have Buster on it.
 
  


Reply

Tags
debian, xorg


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] [Solved] Debian 9 Stretch to Debian 10 Buster upgrade catastrophe sudowtf Debian 2 07-12-2019 10:55 AM
LXer: How to Upgrade Debian 9 Stretch to Debian 10 Buster LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-07-2019 05:54 PM
LXer: Debian 11 "Bullseye" and Debian 12 "Bookworm" Are Coming After Debian 10 "Buster" LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-18-2018 12:26 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration