LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2018, 11:38 PM   #16
tofino_surfer
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 284

Rep: Reputation: 82

A modern GeForce GT1030 is 758% faster than a Quadro 400.

http://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare...m9363vsm283726

Quote:
A modern Quadro low cost card (like the Quadro P400) only consumes 30 W.
Only costs 120 .
Well 120 Euro = $149.95US as the OP is from the US.

A GT1030 sells for around $90-110 US so for less money you can have a card about 8 times as fast.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...673&isNodeId=1

If you aren't running professional software then you don't need the overpriced pro Quadro cards.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-22-2018, 07:48 PM   #17
ballsystemlord
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Distribution: opensuse 13.1
Posts: 107

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I must agree with tofino surfer, Nvidia often does the same thing with it's pro line as Intel does, sell the last gen stuff to the businesses and the new, testing stuff to the consumer.
As for the Noveau driver, I have heard that it does not work as well as the radeon and amdgpu drivers for the AMD cards because Nvidia only supports it sporadically, and they want people using their closed source version. As for the Linux folks, who wants to try to use a fast gaming card with an unoptimized/developed driver? For the OPs purposes, it may be sufficient. I don't stay nearly as abreast of the matter because I'd prefer to support those who are friendly to our cause.
 
Old 05-25-2018, 04:42 PM   #18
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
I went ahead and picked up a Nvidia Quadro 4000 for a good price. I threw it in today and what a total difference! Everything seems to be buttery smooth. I went ahead and ran some benchmarks and it's amazing what an extra 1.75GB will do in a graphics card! I know it's not the top of the line at all, but for the price and what I need it to do, it works above and beyond.

Installing the Nvidia drivers in Mint was a breeze and the driver manager popped up with 4 choices. Once everything installed, it restarted, and I was on my way. I now get audio through HDMI and I need to tweak that because it seems like it's in competition with the built in sound card. I got it adjusted for now, until I can sit down and properly tweak it to see what's going on. All in all, I am a very happy man! LOL! It's funny the older I get, the less it takes to make me happy.

Now off to research how I want to upgrade the processor!

Last edited by mr.travo; 05-25-2018 at 04:44 PM.
 
Old 05-25-2018, 04:48 PM   #19
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
Follow up question:

Is it now safe to remove these AMD/ATI packages?

Thanks guys!

~T
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2018-05-25 17-46-28.png
Views:	5
Size:	197.2 KB
ID:	27726   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2018-05-25 17-49-10.png
Views:	4
Size:	181.6 KB
ID:	27727  

Last edited by mr.travo; 05-25-2018 at 04:49 PM. Reason: added screenshot
 
Old 05-25-2018, 05:19 PM   #20
ballsystemlord
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Distribution: opensuse 13.1
Posts: 107

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Personally, I would keep libc6 . Other then that, and assuming that you permanently removed the old AMD one, yes.
 
Old 05-25-2018, 05:25 PM   #21
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
I appreciate it! I just wanted to make sure before I gave 'em the ax. I physically removed the card and threw it in the spare parts box (protected of course )

~T
 
Old 05-25-2018, 05:43 PM   #22
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
I ended up also leaving amdgpu1 and amdgpu1:i386 because they wanted to also remove half of Mint. I figured they wouldn't do any harm just staying installed *I think*

~T
 
Old 05-27-2018, 02:39 PM   #23
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
Note to anyone else who is new to installing graphics cards on Linux (like me )

If you are using Mint and go through Driver Manager, BE SURE to read the supported device list of the version number from the manufacturer. I just chose the "recommended version" out of the selection and called it good (it was the newest version too). Everything booted, I had the Nvidia server settings, and everything seemed to run great, at least compared to what I was used to. There was something that was a little "off" though and I got some ever-so-minor screen tearing when scrolling firefox quickly or changing the scrolling direction with lots of images on the screen. I played with all the settings, rebooted between settings changes, researched for 4 hours online, etc... Well, I ended up going back to the Driver Manager and then looking up the release notes on each version from Nvidia. Turns out the newest version (the one I chose) supported the Quadro 4000 for Mac, not just the plain Quadro 4000. I looked into the 2nd most recent update and it supported the Quadro 4000. I switched, rebooted, and no more minor screen tearing. I also have a couple more options in the Nvidia Server Settings too. Things seem to be that much more smoother and YouTube is very crisp and no tearing at all.

This card was a major upgrade from my previous one, but it pays to read the fine print and not just take the "recommended version" from the computer.

Lesson learned! Thanks guys!

~T
 
Old 05-29-2018, 10:15 PM   #24
ArazelEternal
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Location: South Central Wisconsin, USA
Distribution: Fedora 28 Workstation - Cinnamon Desktop Spin
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
There is a reason that I know of to go with the pro series cards, even if not using pro software. They are designed with higher grade components, and often times have and use ECC memory on board to keep error counts as low as possible. Not something that a non-pro user would ever really see in anything they do, but would provide extra system hardware stability. The GPU is often constructed using higher grade silicon, like the Xeon in Intel's line. The Xeon can have the exact same specs as an i7 (core count, speed L2, L3 cache, etc) but will be a better unit due to being constructed out of higher grade silicon, and it supports ECC memory as long as the mainboard does.

Incidentally, I built my system with a Xeon as at the time, it was actually $100 cheaper than a comparable i7.

I run a Quadro 600 in my desktop which I got on eBay for $30 because I needed a new card, and something cheap. As I never do any gaming, I didnt need anything powerful. As insignificant as this card seems, it does just fine with Youtube videos and other such basic internet, day to day things.

Last edited by ArazelEternal; 05-29-2018 at 10:18 PM.
 
Old 05-29-2018, 10:44 PM   #25
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArazelEternal View Post
There is a reason that I know of to go with the pro series cards, even if not using pro software. They are designed with higher grade components, and often times have and use ECC memory on board to keep error counts as low as possible. Not something that a non-pro user would ever really see in anything they do, but would provide extra system hardware stability. The GPU is often constructed using higher grade silicon, like the Xeon in Intel's line. The Xeon can have the exact same specs as an i7 (core count, speed L2, L3 cache, etc) but will be a better unit due to being constructed out of higher grade silicon, and it supports ECC memory as long as the mainboard does.

Incidentally, I built my system with a Xeon as at the time, it was actually $100 cheaper than a comparable i7.

I run a Quadro 600 in my desktop which I got on eBay for $30 because I needed a new card, and something cheap. As I never do any gaming, I didnt need anything powerful. As insignificant as this card seems, it does just fine with Youtube videos and other such basic internet, day to day things.
Very good point(s). I use ECC memory in this system and man is that stuff pricey! I will probably upgrade the processor in couple of months to the 6 core (the model number slips my mind right now). I have enjoyed this Dell workstation and it has changed my mind about older computers and not having to shell out big bucks for good performance. I have tweaked this one and thrown some magic parts at it, but being an older system, the upgrades are considerably cheaper. I don't play games on this and just need a snappy computer for editing some newsletters, building a website, doing some SSH, and some other things I manage.

Best $100 computer I ever bought....

~T

Last edited by mr.travo; 05-29-2018 at 10:46 PM.
 
Old 05-29-2018, 10:59 PM   #26
ArazelEternal
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Location: South Central Wisconsin, USA
Distribution: Fedora 28 Workstation - Cinnamon Desktop Spin
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Indeed. The last computer I bought was a Dell Precision M4800 on eBay for around $600 ($700 after adding a couple things) and its one of the best investments I have made. Snappy little machine for sure. Nothing compared to the latest and greatest, but its fantastic for what I do.
 
Old 06-05-2018, 11:06 PM   #27
rodjones
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
nvidia grief

I have an older computer with builtin nvidia geforce 6200 and have been getting severe hangs and slow desktop for the last few upgrades of fedora, whether using nouveau or proprietary drivers. I installed an ati radeon cedar card, a veryold and unimpressive card, but all my problems have gone way, at least for now. I noticed nvidia won't be upgrading its drivers for linux after fc 27, can this be so?
 
Old 06-06-2018, 01:56 AM   #28
mr.travo
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2017
Location: All over the US
Distribution: Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, Gallium, Ubuntu Armbian (headless), Arch (learning)
Posts: 138

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodjones View Post
I have an older computer with builtin nvidia geforce 6200 and have been getting severe hangs and slow desktop for the last few upgrades of fedora, whether using nouveau or proprietary drivers. I installed an ati radeon cedar card, a veryold and unimpressive card, but all my problems have gone way, at least for now. I noticed nvidia won't be upgrading its drivers for linux after fc 27, can this be so?
It happened to me. My second monitor was flickering every few mins and it stopped doing it on the new graphics card. Both ATI and Nvidia seem to each have their "quirks". I don't have many answers but per my own experience, this is what I am finding out.

~T
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you think ? Worth paying big bucks for Fixit7 General 18 08-14-2016 02:16 PM
Use Nvidia graphics card on linux mint mate 17.3 when in a hybrid graphics card environment betty _frances Linux Mint 1 06-08-2016 06:31 AM
[SOLVED] Bad screen resolution when switch from NVIDIA graphics card to motherboard graphics crs17 Linux - Hardware 9 11-15-2012 09:06 AM
Dual monitors: inbuilt graphics card & external graphics card fanofai Linux - Newbie 1 06-07-2009 07:31 AM
S3 SuperSavage IXC 64 SDL graphics card Opensuse 11.1 slow graphics Infasoft SUSE / openSUSE 0 03-12-2009 09:07 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration