LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password
Ubuntu This forum is for the discussion of Ubuntu Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2019, 04:06 AM   #1
Majed17
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
problem with Russian Ubuntu's


Peace, I have several bionic servers, 2 of which are in Russian, and every other time when a kernel upgrade takes place, the Russian servers report that they are out of space..an apt autoremove --purge does not solve the problem. The solution is to manually go to the boot directory and remove the old kernel files and reapply apt-get update && apt-get upgrade. Is there any possible fix for this bug?
 
Old 03-15-2019, 08:51 PM   #2
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,633
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056
It's a shot in the dark, but do your run these after an update?

Code:
apt-get autoclean
apt-get autoremove
The later removes "packages that are no longer needed." I think that includes old kernels, but I'm not in a position to test it right now. https://itsfoss.com/apt-get-linux-guide/
 
Old 03-16-2019, 06:01 AM   #3
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 11,062
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793Reputation: 2793
i'm pretty sure there's an option to remove unused kernels:
https://www.startpage.com/do/dsearch...unused+kernels
but if one old kernel is already causing trouble, means that the hard drive is way too full anyhow.
you might want to look through it if there's more stuff to remove.
another web search will enlighten you on how to do that. seriously, that's the sort of stuff people ask all the time even though the solutions are already out there by the busload.
 
  


Reply

Tags
kernel, russian, ubuntu 18.04


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with russian(?) text appearing in various places.. Treize.k Debian 7 07-08-2010 03:10 AM
How to change the keyboard layout (I have English-Russian set-up, Russian kbd wrong) Wombat Pete Linux - Newbie 20 05-07-2010 11:08 AM
LXer: New russian blog "Digged Linux Articles in Russian" LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-31-2007 06:16 AM
OpenOffice in Russian - font problem nikolayds Fedora 0 06-24-2004 03:41 PM
Russian Submarine Tradegy Larry James General 3 08-24-2000 08:20 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration