LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2011, 02:16 AM   #1
sunnieside-up
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2011
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
How to remove KDE menu categories


Hi all,

I'm wondering if it's possible to remove some of the menu categories. There are currently 5, which I think is a bit excessive... I'd like to remove the "Computer" and "Recently Used"... how can I do this? Thanks!
 
Old 09-18-2011, 02:49 AM   #2
cascade9
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2011
Location: Brisneyland
Distribution: Debian, aptosid
Posts: 3,753

Rep: Reputation: 934Reputation: 934Reputation: 934Reputation: 934Reputation: 934Reputation: 934Reputation: 934Reputation: 934
Kmenuedit might let you do that. I dont know for sure, I've never tried editing the kickoff menu....I dont even use the kickoff menu, I switch to 'classic menu style'.
 
Old 09-19-2011, 03:22 AM   #3
sunnieside-up
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2011
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 68

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Kmenuedit only lets me edit the actual applications in the menu, not the layout itself.
 
Old 09-19-2011, 12:03 PM   #4
DavidMcCann
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: London
Distribution: CentOS, Xubuntu
Posts: 5,203

Rep: Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744Reputation: 1744
You could try looking for configuration files: try searching for "menu" in /etc. You may not find anything useful, though. In Gnome you can edit the sections of the menu that deal with software and documentation, but the Places menu (which covers Computer and Recent documents) doesn't seem configurable without getting at the source code.
 
Old 02-27-2019, 10:08 AM   #5
TBotNik
Member
 
Registered: May 2016
Posts: 318

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Me Too

All,

I'm jumping in here, because this thread is working toward what I want to know. I'm constantly building machines in Kubuntu and want to capture the "Icons" from the source machine and dup them onto the target/new machine being built.

What I need to know is where are the "desktop" and "panel" icons stored and do those icon files contain the location info as to whether it is panel, with order of appearance, left to right on the panel; and if desktop, where on the desktop is is located.

I spend 4-6 hours after an install, just getting icons properly displayed, so knowing this, so they can be captured and reproduced by either just a "copy" or a bash script to place them, would be great.

Cheers!

TBNK

PS
Also need to know how to capture and reproduce the "applcations launcher" icons as well!

TBNK

Last edited by TBotNik; 02-27-2019 at 10:11 AM.
 
Old 03-14-2019, 05:31 PM   #6
Brains
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 962

Rep: Reputation: 241Reputation: 241Reputation: 241
Don't seem that hard to me, amazing what you can do with a right click. So... I right clicked on Computer there at the bottom of the menu and selected "Configure Application Launcher", both Fedora and Debian are the same. A "Application Launcher Settings--Plasma" window pops up. Under Menu Buttons are two rows of icons, "Visible Tabs" and "Hidden Tabs", I left click on the "Computer" and drag it down to the "Hidden Tabs" row, clicked "Apply" and voila! "Computer" is gone from the bottom of the menu. I figured, heck I don't ever use it either, so just left it there and moved the "History" icon down there too and clicked "Apply" again. Kinda looks naked now but we'll see how it goes.

@ TBotNik
You might find a lot of your answers here.
 
Old 03-14-2019, 06:53 PM   #7
TBotNik
Member
 
Registered: May 2016
Posts: 318

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brains View Post
Don't seem that hard to me, amazing what you can do with a right click. So... I right clicked on Computer there at the bottom of the menu and selected "Configure Application Launcher", both Fedora and Debian are the same. A "Application Launcher Settings--Plasma" window pops up. Under Menu Buttons are two rows of icons, "Visible Tabs" and "Hidden Tabs", I left click on the "Computer" and drag it down to the "Hidden Tabs" row, clicked "Apply" and voila! "Computer" is gone from the bottom of the menu. I figured, heck I don't ever use it either, so just left it there and moved the "History" icon down there too and clicked "Apply" again. Kinda looks naked now but we'll see how it goes.

@ TBotNik
You might find a lot of your answers here.
Brains,

Sure easy if everytime you build a new machine you don't mind manually spending about 4 hours copying and arranging icons that should/could be copied in and positioned, with a BASH script, but I have yet to find where these are actually stored or reside, so I can automate the processs!

But thanks for the input!

Cheers!

TBNK
 
Old 03-15-2019, 08:39 PM   #8
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,633
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056Reputation: 4056
You might take a look at this thread which asks a similar question: https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...dd-4175650180/
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remove 'recently used applications' from KDE menu fatrandy13 Linux - Software 4 05-02-2005 11:50 AM
Cannot remove item from KDE Menu (aka start button) MattG1981 Linux - Newbie 3 06-13-2004 01:20 PM
Where is the KDE "menu editor" or the actual menu located in KDE 3.1? GoSTaRnE Linux - General 3 05-23-2004 08:37 AM
How do i add or remove buttons from the KDE 'start' menu? m15a4 Linux - Software 5 12-22-2003 04:12 AM
How to remove "KDE Menu" from Gnome Menu? goal2guy Linux - General 1 11-29-2003 01:17 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration