LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2019, 01:42 PM   #1
andymck
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Garland, TX, USA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 81

Rep: Reputation: 15
Fedora 30 Video Driver(s)


A little background first: a week or two ago I did a 'dnf upgrade' which, among other things, put me on kernel 5.3.xx (5.3.4, I think it was, but I'm not sure) and rebooted. As soon as it went past the grub screen, the monitor went blank, the amber 'No Signal' light went on, and it stayed that way. I rebooted, same thing. The only way I could come up functional was to select the kernel 5.2.xx option in my grub list. Not coming up with any better options, I did a backup of my /home directory and installed a new system.

Guess what? SAME THING -- except that now my version 5.2.xx kernel was gone, so I could do nothing!

After a little floundering around, I happened on doing an installation in rescue mode, which apparently didn't sense my video hardware and so installed some lesser-capability drivers, but did (and do) work correctly. I restored my /home directory, re-created my various users, re-installed the packages that I use but weren't part of the installation, etc., etc., etc.

So, now I'm back to normal, EXCEPT that, every time I boot up and/or log in, I get a pop-up notification that says (quote):
----------------------------------
Check your video drivers

Your system is currently running without video hardware acceleration.

You may experience poor performance and high CPU usage.
----------------------------------

The CPU usage isn't an issue, as I have a 6-core Dell Inspiron, but I do see a slight video degradation. I did replace my VGA cable with a DVI-to-HDMI cable, but that didn't help. Can anyone tell me what my options are to re-enable hardware acceleration?

Last edited by andymck; 10-22-2019 at 01:44 PM.
 
Old 10-22-2019, 09:38 PM   #2
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,862

Rep: Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577
What to suggest you do likely depends on us knowing more about your PC than Inspiron and Fedora 30. F30 is working here. Try pasting in I/O from an X terminal as I have done here:
Code:
> rpm -qa | grep drv
xorg-x11-drv-vesa-2.4.0-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-libinput-0.29.0-1.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-evdev-2.10.6-4.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-fbdev-0.5.0-3.fc30.x86_64
> inxi -V | head -n1
inxi 3.0.36-00 (2019-08-14)
> inxi -GxxSza
System:   Host: p5bse Kernel: 5.3.6-200.fc30.x86_64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.2.1
          parameters: ro root=f30p18 audit=0 ipv6.disable=1 net.ifnames=0 selinux=0 mitigations=auto consoleblank=0
          vga=791 video=1024x768@60 video=1440x900@60 3
          Desktop: Trinity R14.0.6 tk: Qt 3.5.0 wm: Twin dm: startx Distro: Fedora release 30 (Thirty)
Graphics: Device-1: NVIDIA GF119 [NVS 310] vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: nouveau v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.0 chip ID: 10de:107d
          Display: server: Fedora Project X.org 1.20.5 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 1920x1200~60Hz
          OpenGL: renderer: NVD9 v: 4.3 Mesa 19.1.7 direct render: Yes
> xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 1
Provider 0: id: 0x43 cap: 0xf, Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 2 outputs: 2 associated providers: 0 name:modesetting
> xrandr | head -n7
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 16384 x 16384
DP-1 connected primary 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 519mm x 324mm
   1920x1200     59.95*+
   1920x1080     59.96    60.00    59.94    59.93...
> fpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Uploading (81.5KiB)...
https://paste.centos.org/view/e12b4f59
If fpaste generates an error you may need to fpaste ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log instead of /var/log/Xorg.0.log. Any lines you see in Xorg.0.log containing (EE) are usually clues about trouble.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-29-2019, 12:42 PM   #3
andymck
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Garland, TX, USA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 81

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Okay, here goes:
--------------------------------------------------------------
[andy@localhost ~]$ rpm -qa | grep drv
xorg-x11-drv-nouveau-1.0.15-7.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-ati-19.0.1-2.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-vmware-13.2.1-9.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-vesa-2.4.0-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-wacom-serial-support-0.36.1-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-wacom-0.36.1-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.99.917-42.20180618.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-fbdev-0.5.0-3.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-libinput-0.29.0-1.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-qxl-0.1.5-11.fc30.x86_64
clalsadrv-2.0.0-19.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-evdev-2.10.6-4.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-0.6.0-7.fc30.x86_64
[andy@localhost ~]$ inxi -V | head -n1
inxi 3.0.35-00 (2019-07-15)
[andy@localhost ~]$ inxi -GxxSza
System: Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 5.3.7-200.fc30.x86_64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.2.1
parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=(hd2,gpt12)/vmlinuz-5.3.7-200.fc30.x86_64 root=UUID=fb497a66-098a-4477-88c1-c9deb7b79e9c ro
resume=UUID=bb512816-241a-4dab-a374-5315c5a529d2 nomodeset rhgb quiet
Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.4 wm: muffin dm: GDM, LightDM, LXDM, SDDM Distro: Fedora release 30 (Thirty)
Graphics: Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 630 vendor: Dell driver: N/A bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:3e92
Display: x11 server: Fedora Project X.org 1.20.5 driver: vesa unloaded: fbdev,modesetting
resolution: 1920x1080~77Hz
OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 8.0 256 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 19.1.7 compat-v: 3.1 direct render: Yes
[andy@localhost ~]$ xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 0
[andy@localhost ~]$ xrandr | head -n7
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1920 x 1080, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1080
default connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1920x1080 77.00*
[andy@localhost ~]$ fpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Uploading (29.9KiB)...
https://paste.centos.org/view/f3911765

[andy@localhost ~]$
---------------------------------------------------
Sorry, I couldn't figure out how to do the window box thing.

Also, sorry for the delay; I've been out of town.
 
Old 10-29-2019, 01:59 PM   #4
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,862

Rep: Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577
A fundamental problem is your kernel cmdline contains nomodeset, which blocks use of competent X drivers. To test its removal, at the Grub menu strike the E key, then find nomodeset and remove it before proceeding with boot according to the instruction at the bottom of the edit screen. If this produces acceptable results, its permanent removal is done by removing it from /etc/default/grub and rebuilding the grub menu with grub2-mkconfig.

https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...und-Your-Paste explains how to preserve formatting when you paste command output.

If trouble remains, in addition to removing nomodeset, try removing rhgb, which should produce a lot of messages on screen as boot proceeds, possibly including one to help produce a solution.

If trouble still remains, please try to provide the current Xorg.0.log and fresh output from xrandr and inxi.

Last edited by mrmazda; 10-29-2019 at 02:23 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-29-2019, 07:53 PM   #5
andymck
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Garland, TX, USA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 81

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Removing "nomodeset" in /etc/default/grub seems to have been sufficient. I have to wonder how it got in there, but it doesn't matter; it's fixed. Thanks for your help.
 
Old 10-29-2019, 08:04 PM   #6
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,862

Rep: Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577Reputation: 577
It's not unusual for nomodeset to be needed for the installation program to run.
 
Old 11-04-2019, 08:06 PM   #7
smithclarkson001
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by andymck View Post
Okay, here goes:
--------------------------------------------------------------
[andy@localhost ~]$ rpm -qa | grep drv
xorg-x11-drv-nouveau-1.0.15-7.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-ati-19.0.1-2.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-vmware-13.2.1-9.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-vesa-2.4.0-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-wacom-serial-support-0.36.1-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-wacom-0.36.1-6.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.99.917-42.20180618.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-fbdev-0.5.0-3.fc30.x86_64 https://shareit.vin https://mxplayer.vin
xorg-x11-drv-libinput-0.29.0-1.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-qxl-0.1.5-11.fc30.x86_64
clalsadrv-2.0.0-19.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-evdev-2.10.6-4.fc30.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-0.6.0-7.fc30.x86_64
[andy@localhost ~]$ inxi -V | head -n1
inxi 3.0.35-00 (2019-07-15)
[andy@localhost ~]$ inxi -GxxSza
System: Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 5.3.7-200.fc30.x86_64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.2.1
parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=(hd2,gpt12)/vmlinuz-5.3.7-200.fc30.x86_64 root=UUID=fb497a66-098a-4477-88c1-c9deb7b79e9c ro
resume=UUID=bb512816-241a-4dab-a374-5315c5a529d2 nomodeset rhgb quiet
Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.4 wm: muffin dm: GDM, LightDM, LXDM, SDDM Distro: Fedora release 30 (Thirty)
Graphics: Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 630 vendor: Dell driver: N/A bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:3e92
Display: x11 server: Fedora Project X.org 1.20.5 driver: vesa unloaded: fbdev,modesetting
resolution: 1920x1080~77Hz
OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 8.0 256 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 19.1.7 compat-v: 3.1 direct render: Yes
[andy@localhost ~]$ xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 0
[andy@localhost ~]$ xrandr | head -n7
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1920 x 1080, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1080
default connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1920x1080 77.00*
[andy@localhost ~]$ fpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Uploading (29.9KiB)...
https://paste.centos.org/view/f3911765

[andy@localhost ~]$
---------------------------------------------------
Sorry, I couldn't figure out how to do the window box thing.

Also, sorry for the delay; I've been out of town.
thanks was looking for this.

Last edited by smithclarkson001; 11-07-2019 at 09:10 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Eliminating video tearing with nouveau (default video driver). TheNutCase Slackware 10 01-21-2017 12:09 PM
If video is loaded in web browser I cannot hear video in VLC or other video player... linustalman Linux - Software 0 12-17-2011 10:48 AM
Many video format (such as video/x-ms-asf and video/x-ms-wvx ) does not play? jmettova Debian 1 05-05-2009 12:22 PM
Video Driver Poblems with Red Hat 8.0 (trident video driver) AstroJim Linux - Newbie 1 05-20-2004 04:25 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration