LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2021, 07:15 AM   #1
EYo
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, northern california
Distribution: Slackware 14.2
Posts: 188

Rep: Reputation: 153Reputation: 153
15.0 kernel and gparted show ataraid filesystem not ext4 partition(s)


This is an HP H8-1445 desktop PC from 2012, the BIOS is set to AHCI for storage options. Gparted has been "working" fine with 14.2/kernel 4.4.261, but with current I can't figure out how to create or resize partitions on the second drive because gparted only shows one big ataraid filesystem, as seen in the first attachment.


Code:
 # fdisk -l /dev/sda
Disk /dev/sda: 223.57 GiB, 240057409536 bytes, 468862128 sectors
Disk model: SanDisk SSD PLUS
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
 Disk identifier: 0x745715cd
Device     Boot    Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
 /dev/sda1  *        2048  62916607  62914560    30G 83 Linux
/dev/sda2       62916608 468860927 405944320 193.6G 83 Linux
Code:
#fdisk -l /dev/sdb
Disk /dev/sdb: 1.82 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
Disk model: ST2000DM001-1CH1
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x240f9102
Device     Boot Start        End    Sectors   Size Id Type
   /dev/sdb1        2048 1953517567 1953515520 931.5G 83 Linux
Code:
# parted -l
  Model: ATA SanDisk SSD PLUS (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 240GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: 
Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
 1      1049kB  32.2GB  32.2GB  primary  ext4         boot
 2      32.2GB  240GB   208GB   primary  ext4
Model: ATA ST2000DM001-1CH1 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 2000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: 
Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
 1      1049kB  1000GB  1000GB  primary  ext4
Code:
# findmnt -rn --real
/ /dev/sda2 ext4 rw,relatime
/home /dev/sdb1 ext4 rw,relatime
/a1 /dev/sda1 ext4 rw,relatime
Only the original gparted image I downloaded and burned for 14.2 shows that drive's filesystem correctly, like in the second attachment. All later versions give me the ataraid filesystem problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2021-04-11_08-43-04currentkde.png
Views:	39
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	36075   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2021-04-11_08-54-53.png
Views:	33
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	36076  
 
Old 04-12-2021, 08:08 AM   #2
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys
Posts: 3,591

Rep: Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457
That is quite odd perhaps even especially so for legacy MBR partitions. Is it possible that your machine's BIOS has a setting (or even a hidden setting) that somehow connects AHCI to RAID? A quick look shows that model has not seen a firmware update since 2013 but I'd make certain I had the latest. Additionally I see the storage controller is by AMD so it is possible the new kernel sees and defers to the raid feature. I'd check kernel config. It may be as simple as rebuilding and turning off any fixed RAID preferences.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-12-2021, 08:57 AM   #3
EYo
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, northern california
Distribution: Slackware 14.2
Posts: 188

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 153Reputation: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by enorbet View Post
I'd check kernel config. It may be as simple as rebuilding and turning off any fixed RAID preferences.

Thanks, I am replying from 14.2 after rebooting, can't get used to the new toolkits. Like thunar new gtk3 filepicker on my 720dpi TV monitor, ha ha ha! That was funny.



Anyway, here are the configs but they are simply default for each kernel and look the same to me. I once tried to recompile a kernel, but it took forever, and failed at the end. Which is why I simply use defaults for everything. hm



Code:
# grep -i raid /boot/config-generic-4.4.261.x64 
CONFIG_RAID_ATTRS=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_3W_XXXX_RAID=m
CONFIG_SCSI_AACRAID=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_NEWGEN=y
CONFIG_MEGARAID_MM=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_MAILBOX=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_LEGACY=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_SAS=m
CONFIG_SCSI_PMCRAID=m
CONFIG_MD_RAID0=y
CONFIG_MD_RAID1=y
CONFIG_MD_RAID10=y
CONFIG_MD_RAID456=y
CONFIG_DM_RAID=m
CONFIG_DMA_ENGINE_RAID=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_RAID6_TEST=m
CONFIG_ASYNC_RAID6_RECOV=y
CONFIG_RAID6_PQ=y
Code:
# grep -i raid /a2/boot/config-generic-5.10.28.x64 
CONFIG_RAID_ATTRS=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_3W_XXXX_RAID=m
CONFIG_SCSI_AACRAID=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_NEWGEN=y
CONFIG_MEGARAID_MM=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_MAILBOX=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_LEGACY=m
CONFIG_MEGARAID_SAS=m
CONFIG_SCSI_PMCRAID=m
CONFIG_MD_RAID0=y
CONFIG_MD_RAID1=y
CONFIG_MD_RAID10=y
CONFIG_MD_RAID456=y
CONFIG_DM_RAID=m
CONFIG_DMA_ENGINE_RAID=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_RAID6_RECOV=y
CONFIG_RAID6_PQ=y
# CONFIG_RAID6_PQ_BENCHMARK is not set
CONFIG_ASYNC_RAID6_TEST=m
The BIOS has three storage options: IDE, AHCI (selected), and RAID. It has always been set to AHCI since 14.2 was installed.


I think you are right it is the newer kernels because same problem exists on all gparted (Debian based) iso images since 14.2, which means it's just me. Me and and my HP H8 . Cheers.
 
Old 04-13-2021, 02:59 PM   #4
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys
Posts: 3,591

Rep: Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457
Just FTR if you have even the default (cheapest) CPU for that model it is still an 8 core AMD (pretty sweet for the time). You can vastly speed up kernel build time by using the "-j" switch which uses a number one more than the number of cores you have, so in your case -j9.

Example:

Code:
 
make clean && make mrproper
make localmodconfig  (selects modules currently loaded as well as base defaults and asks what you want to do on new ones
<at this point you could run make menuconfig to change out those raid options to loadable modules instead on "hardwired">
make -j9 && make modules_install
followed by the usual copy and rename processes and adding the new kernel to your bootloader (keep the old bootable kernel till new one is confirmed working). I doubt such a build will take longer than 10-20 minutes (my new 6 core i5 does it in 3).

Do first check to see if you have the most recent BIOS version installed.

FWIW it's not a particularly great time to do full system upgrades right now, due to the vastly increased demand and reduced supplies. I got lucky ordering my Z490 in early Summer. One barebones high performance motherboard I lusted after was ~$340.00 last June and is currently at $449 now. That said my totally ancient T61P Thinkpad (SATA v1) was born again with the addition of a Samsung SATA SSD... 250GB for 40bux. It was a jaw dropping increase even with that ancient interface. I haven't benchmarked it yet on a newer (2012) box with SATA v3 but I'm betting it would scream. I will probably try that at some point since it too has a 2014 BIOS/UEFI update for "latest" and is a royal PITA to boot M.2 NVME drives. Priority is low though 'cuz My Z490 box is a AA Fuel Dragster
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-16-2021, 10:43 AM   #5
EYo
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, northern california
Distribution: Slackware 14.2
Posts: 188

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 153Reputation: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by enorbet View Post
Just FTR if you have even the default (cheapest) CPU for that model it is still an 8 core AMD (pretty sweet for the time). You can vastly speed up kernel build time by using the "-j" switch which uses a number one more than the number of cores you have, so in your case -j9.
Yes, it took about seven minutes to build a new kernel with -j9 on my cheap 240G SSD, that was fast. But then I messed up the backup and copy part, or I disabled too much making the new config because it did panic.

This was solved by simply moving that drive cable from SATA 01 to 02 on the main board this morning, and now the drive looks the same as it does in 14.2, and I can resize or add space like I'm used to. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2021-04-16_08-01-48.png
Views:	9
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	36131  
 
Old 04-16-2021, 01:13 PM   #6
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys
Posts: 3,591

Rep: Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457Reputation: 3457
Excellent! Congrats!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
modprobe: Module ext4 not found. no dependencies for kernel module 'ext4' found TheIndependentAquarius Linux - Newbie 6 01-25-2012 05:07 AM
[SOLVED] ext4 partition turned into Unknown according to gparted dimm0k Linux - Newbie 6 07-09-2010 04:28 AM
Kernel 2.6 and ataraid - Does it work yet? pepsilvr Linux - General 0 06-22-2004 12:13 PM
installing slackware on an ataraid with more than one partition supermatt Slackware 0 11-14-2003 09:58 PM
kernel 2.4.21 with ataraid major.tom Slackware 1 06-22-2003 06:17 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration