LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Mobile
User Name
Password
Linux - Mobile This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Mobile Linux. This includes Android, Tizen, Sailfish OS, Replicant, Ubuntu Touch, webOS, and other similar projects and products.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2021, 11:57 AM   #1
schneidz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: boston, usa
Distribution: fedora-30
Posts: 5,295

Rep: Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916
how to transfer app data to new device


hi, i got a new fone and i used smart switch to transfer stuff wirelessly. it got all my movies, music, pictures, apps to my new device; however, when i clikk on, e.g., connect bot it says no hosts are created yet / extensive notes lite says no notes or to-do lists are saved / opera is missing my bookmarks / ... ?
 
Old 11-19-2021, 01:10 PM   #2
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, VSIDo, tinycore, Q4OS,Manjaro
Posts: 4,088

Rep: Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904
Connect bot: The only way I know is to recreate the connections.

Bookmarks: the best way is to EXPORT to a file on the old device, transfer the file to the new device, and IMPORT the bookmarks there. You used to be able to set up sync so that all of your Opera browser instances would sync the same basic settings and bootmarks (Like Mozilla Sync - I think Google tools do the same thing but I would not trust them).

I understand that Opera sync is problematic since they sold it to less ethical players, so I would do the export/import trick. .
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-20-2021, 09:23 AM   #3
schneidz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: boston, usa
Distribution: fedora-30
Posts: 5,295

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916
thanks, i guess i was kinda' hoping there was something like a /home/schneidz/ sub-directory that i could just drag-and-drop.
 
Old 11-21-2021, 02:10 AM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 18,127
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneidz View Post
thanks, i guess i was kinda' hoping there was something like a /home/schneidz/ sub-directory that i could just drag-and-drop.
On Android? No. Users/permissions work very differently compared to our familiar GNU/Linux paradigm.
 
Old 11-22-2021, 04:39 PM   #5
sandratom
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2021
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
sign in to your Google account on your existing phone – or create one if you don't already have one. back up your data if you haven't already. turn on your new phone and tap start. when you get the option, select “copy apps and data from your old phone”
 
Old 11-23-2021, 07:52 AM   #6
schneidz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: boston, usa
Distribution: fedora-30
Posts: 5,295

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916
^ prefer not to use spyware <@.
 
Old 11-23-2021, 10:48 AM   #7
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, VSIDo, tinycore, Q4OS,Manjaro
Posts: 4,088

Rep: Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904Reputation: 1904
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneidz View Post
^ prefer not to use spyware <@.
Dude! You are either using Android (Google) or one of those little fruit machine (Apple) and spyware at the OS level is a given!
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-24-2021, 12:35 AM   #8
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 18,127
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521
AFAIR, Android's builtin backup functionality backs data up into the Googleverse; OP didn't originally say this, but I assumed they're trying to avoid that.
Also AFAIK it's still possible to use an Android phone without a Google account, therefore also no Google cloud backup.

Unfortunately OP hasn't provided much information at all: what the old and the new phone's OS are etc.
I could also imagine that some apps remain untouched by any built-in backup functionality.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-24-2021, 06:38 AM   #9
schneidz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: boston, usa
Distribution: fedora-30
Posts: 5,295

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916
^ +1; i am going from oxygen-os 11.0.5.7.in55cb to android-11.
 
Old 11-25-2021, 12:19 AM   #10
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 18,127
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521
IIRC, it's also possible to make (complete) backups via adb or fastboot, but I don't know about restoring.

edit: there's also software on the phone - some sort of advanced bootloader, I forget the name, it's almost a requirement when you use things like LineageOS - that makes backups straight to the phone's sd card.

It's been a while for me, nowadays I'm using a real GNU/Linux system on my phone.

Last edited by ondoho; 11-25-2021 at 12:20 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-25-2021, 07:28 AM   #11
schneidz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: boston, usa
Distribution: fedora-30
Posts: 5,295

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916Reputation: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
IIRC, it's also possible to make (complete) backups via adb or fastboot, but I don't know about restoring.

edit: there's also software on the phone - some sort of advanced bootloader, I forget the name, it's almost a requirement when you use things like LineageOS - that makes backups straight to the phone's sd card.

It's been a while for me, nowadays I'm using a real GNU/Linux system on my phone.
twrp ?

which fone / which distro ?
 
Old 11-26-2021, 12:19 AM   #12
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 18,127
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521Reputation: 5521
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneidz View Post
twrp ?
Yes, that was it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneidz View Post
which fone / which distro ?
https://sailfishos.org/
https://shop.jolla.com/
https://dt.iki.fi/tags?q=sailfish+os
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
transfer from one device to another always is fast for half the transfer, then block and I have to wait a lot (loooot) of time AoiHana Linux - Newbie 17 12-18-2018 04:05 PM
LXer: Google Data Transfer Project will help you move your data between services LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-22-2018 11:37 PM
memcpy_toio transfers data in 4 byte chunks, but I need to transfer data in one lump. jbreaka4lyfe Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer 2 06-02-2008 12:25 PM
data transfer bet RH8.0 pc to & fro device thru /dev/ttyS0 shivanitha Linux - Newbie 0 10-30-2003 08:25 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Mobile

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration