LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2019, 08:27 PM   #1
slac
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question How to create an Slackware ISO "up-to-date"?


Right now I have two installations of Slackware, the first one is Slackware 14.2 and the second one is Slackware 14+current. Both of them are "up to date".

My internet is very slow so it really takes a while installing updates after a fresh installation, specially upgrading to Slackware 14+current (it takes me 8 hours upgrading from the initial Slackware 14.2 ISO to Slackware14+current).

I think it will easier for me if I just have an ISO with, say, the Slackware 14.2 packages "up-to-date" ready. That way I don't have to update packages after a fresh installation. Same goes for Slackware14+current, I think.

How can I do so? I've never created ISO medias before, by the way.

Also I thought of another possibility. Maybe if I just save the packages that I've already downloaded to update the initial packages I can apply those updates to other installations, that way I can get rid of downloading the packages, still I have to apply the updates though. If there's a way to create an ISO with the updated packages I can avoid the two steps. Either way will be useful, at least it'll shorten the time I'll spend installing Slackware.

Last edited by slac; 08-09-2019 at 08:29 PM. Reason: "it takes me" instead of "it takes"
 
Old 08-09-2019, 09:58 PM   #2
allend
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 5,235

Rep: Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896Reputation: 1896
These SlackDocs links may help.
watching_for_updated_packages
isolinux/README.TXT and usb-and-pxe-installers/README_USB.TXT
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-09-2019, 10:15 PM   #3
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, arch, ubuntu, others
Posts: 3,266

Rep: Reputation: 532Reputation: 532Reputation: 532Reputation: 532Reputation: 532Reputation: 532
this at the bottom on making a slak iso https://docs.slackware.com/slackware:liveslak

or this to make a live iso from existing system
https://www.linux-live.org/

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 08-09-2019 at 10:17 PM.
 
Old 08-10-2019, 01:53 AM   #4
bormant
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 335

Rep: Reputation: 194Reputation: 194
Are you about ISO of fresh current or fresh 14.2?

For the 1st task you can see
https://alien.slackbook.org/blog/loc...ckware-mirror/
http://www.slackware.com/~alien/tool...are-current.sh

Another option is to have install media (mini-iso without packages is ok too) and package tree somewhere (stick, hdd, local network) and select this tree on SOURCE step of setup.

For the 2nd task you can mirror slackware 14.2 tree, replace packages (and .asc, .txt) in slackware*/* with the new versions from patches/packages/ and build fresh ISO with empty /patches as described in /isolinux/README.TXT.

Slackware 14.2 added rust package since release. You can simple place rust package files in /patches/packages/ and install them manually after setup or place them in slackware/d/ and fix tagfile and maketag, maketag.ez scripts.

Last edited by bormant; 08-10-2019 at 02:02 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-10-2019, 03:35 AM   #5
solarfields
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Location: Outer Shpongolia
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,006

Rep: Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579
for an unofficial ISO of -current, you can check here:
ftp://ftp.slackware.no/slackware/sla...e-current-iso/

an ISO of Slackware stable (like 14.2) with latest patches is a nice idea, however I do not know if you can just download this from somewhere...
 
Old 08-10-2019, 07:00 AM   #6
Qury
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Dublin
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 164

Rep: Reputation: 145Reputation: 145
Hi,

Here is my script. I copy this to the directory where i have downloaded slackware:

Code:
#! /bin/sh

OUTDIR=/mnt/memory/ISO
DATE=`date +%Y-%m-%d`
ISO=slackware64-$DATE-dvd.iso

mkisofs -o $OUTDIR/$ISO \
-R -J -V "Slackware Install" \
-hide-rr-moved \
-v -d -N -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table \
-sort isolinux/iso.sort \
-b isolinux/isolinux.bin \
-c isolinux/isolinux.boot \
-A "Slackware Install DVD" .

chmod 777 $OUTDIR/$ISO
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-10-2019, 05:22 PM   #7
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys for decades while testing others to keep up
Posts: 2,315

Rep: Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332Reputation: 2332
I just use Iso Master and add or subtract whatever I want.
 
Old 08-10-2019, 07:46 PM   #8
slackware-current
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2019
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
So you have an iso of slackware mount the ISO and then copy to a folder name that folder slackware-14.2 or slackware64-14.2
Code:
rsync -r -a -v     --delete --progress --stats    rsync://mirrors.kernel.org/slackware/slackware-14.2 .
or
Code:
rsync -r -a -v     --delete --progress --stats    rsync://mirrors.kernel.org/slackware/slackware64-14.2 .
or
Code:
rsync -r -a -v     --delete --progress --stats    rsync://mirrors.kernel.org/slackware/slackware-current .
or
Code:
rsync -r -a -v     --delete --progress --stats    rsync://mirrors.kernel.org/slackware/slackware64-current .
Or do like I do
Code:
mkdir -p /home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware
Then copy ISO contents to /home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware/slacware-14.2
The script I use will keep that updated. you just need to edit your /etc/slackpkg/mirrors like this.
Code:
# Local Directory
#----------------------------------------------------------------
# file://path/to/some/directory/
file://home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware/slackware-14.2/
#----------------------------------------------------------------

How to upgrade to current from slackware-14.2
Code:
mv /home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware/slackware-14.2/  /home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware/slackware-current/
then
Code:
rsync -r -a -v     --delete --progress --stats    rsync://mirrors.kernel.org/slackware/slackware-current /home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware/
you just need to edit your /etc/slackpkg/mirrors like this.
Code:
# Local Directory
#----------------------------------------------------------------
# file://path/to/some/directory/
file://home/ftp/pub/Linux/Slackware/slackware-current/
#----------------------------------------------------------------
Then run these commands
Code:
slackpkg update
slackpkg install-new
slackpkg upgrade-all
reboot
If you upgrade to current the script will see that and then keep current up to date.
Have fun.
Attached Files
File Type: txt slackupdate.txt (7.7 KB, 6 views)
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-10-2019, 07:51 PM   #9
tramtrist
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Location: Detroit, MI / Nagoya JP
Distribution: Slackware, Debian Buster
Posts: 82

Rep: Reputation: 36
I wish this was sticky
(though maybe it is?)

Last edited by tramtrist; 08-10-2019 at 07:51 PM. Reason: Typo
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-11-2019, 12:25 AM   #10
slac
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question

If I want to create an ISO that boots in EFI/UEFI, is this the correct command (instructions)?

Code:
mkisofs -o /tmp/slackware-dvd.iso \
  -R -J -A "Slackware Install" \
  -hide-rr-moved \
  -v -d -N \
  -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table \
  -sort isolinux/iso.sort \
  -b isolinux/isolinux.bin \
  -c isolinux/isolinux.boot \
  -eltorito-alt-boot \
  -eltorito-platform 0xEF -eltorito-boot isolinux/efiboot.img \
  -m 'source' \
  -V "SlackDVD" .
 
Old 08-11-2019, 12:51 AM   #11
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1.2 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,917

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by slac View Post
If I want to create an ISO that boots in EFI/UEFI, is this the correct command (instructions)?
From the file /isolinux/README.TXT at the root of a Sackware64-current mirror: HOW TO MAKE A BOOTABLE SLACKWARE DVD ISO IMAGE

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 08-11-2019 at 02:56 AM.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-11-2019, 01:05 AM   #12
slac
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didier Spaier View Post
From the file /isolinux/README.TXT at the root of a Sackware644-current mirror: HOW TO MAKE A BOOTABLE SLACKWARE DVD ISO IMAGE
Thank you. I was reading this https://slackware.osuosl.org/slackwa...nux/README.TXT and there wasn't included those lines. Now I see this one also has the instructions: https://slackware.osuosl.org/slackwa...nux/README.TXT
 
Old 08-14-2019, 03:46 AM   #13
slac
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2019
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question How to correctly exclude packages in ISO Slackware creation?

If I have already downloaded the Slackware64 14.2 tree (https://slackware.uk/slackware/slackware64-14.2/) to my computer and I want to leave out some packages in order to a create a custom ISO, what is the recommended approach to do so?

Let's say I want to create an ISO without the KDE (v4) packages (example).

I have this directory from where the ISO is created (https://slackware.uk/slackware/slack...2/slackware64/) and the KDE packages are in kde/kdei directories. Because I don't want those packages I can delete them in order to no longer have them inside the ISO I'll create, right?

Now, I haven't checked myself if you need to JUST edit the file: /slackware64-14.2/isolinux/setpkg to remove the kde and kdei installation options in the setup menu (when you are installing Slackware), but if I remove these lines:

Code:
"KDE" "The K Desktop Environment for X" on "The KDE series contains the K Desktop Environment for X." \
"KDEI" "International language support for KDE" off "The KDEI series provides support for languages other than US English in KDE." \
... then the setup won't show up those options when installing slackware from its setup, will they?

After doing that... I no longer have to install patches of KDE/KDEI but I think they still will show up when doing:

Code:
slackpkg install-new
slackpkg upgrade-all
What could be a convenient approach to avoid that? I mean... even if those patches for kde/kdei appear they can't be installed/applied since there aren't such packages installed in the system, but is it a correct option to just blacklist the packages in the file /etc/slackpkg/blacklist?

Also, should I delete the lines referring to those packages in the files (?), /slackware64-14.2/slackware64/FILE_LIST and /slackware64-14.2/slackware64/PACKAGES, ie:

Code:
...
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root     45056 2016-06-23 23:07 ./kde
-rw-r--r--  1 root root       322 2015-10-25 09:32 ./kde/amarok-2.8.0-x86_64-3.txt
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  34959092 2015-10-25 09:32 ./kde/amarok-2.8.0-x86_64-3.txz
-rw-r--r--  1 root root       181 2015-10-25 09:32 ./kde/amarok-2.8.0-x86_64-3.txz.asc
-rw-r--r--  1 root root       445 2015-10-25 08:44 ./kde/amor-4.14.3-x86_64-2.txt
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    193648 2015-10-25 08:44 ./kde/amor-4.14.3-x86_64-2.txz
-rw-r--r--  1 root root       181 2015-10-25 08:44 ./kde/amor-4.14.3-x86_64-2.txz.asc
...
I don't think that last thing should be done at all since when you do a rsync to the local tree, new files_list and packages files are downloaded/sync'd (I think(?)), so would it be better to just blacklist, is it true?

Last edited by slac; 08-14-2019 at 04:00 AM. Reason: spell checking
 
Old 08-14-2019, 04:21 AM   #14
bifferos
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Posts: 152

Rep: Reputation: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by slac View Post
I want to leave out some packages in order to a create a custom ISO, what is the recommended approach to do so?
I think the recommended way is tagfiles:
See: https://www.slackwiki.com/Tagfile_Install

However in the past I've removed some directories and it's not caused a problem, the install has completed without them.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Older than $(date +"%m%d%Y" --date="14 days ago") script help Habitual Programming 10 04-06-2013 04:41 PM
Extract ISO to HD, create ISO from Extractions, Boot ISO LemensTS Linux - Software 1 12-28-2010 01:10 PM
[SOLVED] Use date with touch to create new file with date based name craigjl Linux - Newbie 5 03-12-2010 09:46 AM
Help With Java Problem Please"""""""""""" suemcholan Linux - Newbie 1 04-02-2008 06:02 PM
Does anyone Know how to open either .iso.rz or these .iso.xdelta,.iso.bz2,.iso.lzma?? maximalred Debian 5 06-09-2004 06:15 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration