LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2019, 09:17 AM   #31
Kevin68
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Guys and gals, I decided to give up on using this computer for a test platform. Instead, I took my retired AMD 8350 (8 core) cpu with a motherboard that supports 32 gigs of memory and use it as a test platform.

Thank you everyone for your help, but I feel using this old core 2 quad that will only see 3 gigs of memory is a waste of time.
 
Old 09-25-2019, 09:23 AM   #32
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, KDE Neon, Arch, Void
Posts: 3,153

Rep: Reputation: 976Reputation: 976Reputation: 976Reputation: 976Reputation: 976Reputation: 976Reputation: 976Reputation: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin68 View Post
Guys and gals, I decided to give up on using this computer for a test platform. Instead, I took my retired AMD 8350 (8 core) cpu with a motherboard that supports 32 gigs of memory and use it as a test platform.

Thank you everyone for your help, but I feel using this old core 2 quad that will only see 3 gigs of memory is a waste of time.
Honestly, can't blame you.
 
Old 09-25-2019, 11:31 AM   #33
Kevin68
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timothy Miller View Post
Honestly, can't blame you.
Thank you.

I was wanting to set up a lab with multiple systems, hardware configs, and OSs. Now its looking more like one system using virtualization to run multiple OSs.

With the way things are going in the tech world using virtualization may be a better option than dedicated computers to a single OS.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not seeing Username or Password boxes on LQ after latest upgrade in seamonkey or firefox Trasa Slackware 8 06-30-2018 09:03 PM
Blackberry 8330 Curve not seeing the mass storage device(memory) metallica1973 Linux - Mobile 1 08-01-2010 12:06 AM
system not seeing memory card jukebox55 Slackware 18 08-03-2008 05:06 AM
Sun Fire v20z Server Not seeing more than 2 Gig memory fallenstar Linux - Newbie 5 11-04-2004 03:46 PM
RH 7.3 to RH 9 Upgrade, Dell 4300, Not Seeing Megaraid ctwarchol Red Hat 0 11-11-2003 08:58 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration