LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2018, 04:43 AM   #16
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,941
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 832Reputation: 832Reputation: 832Reputation: 832Reputation: 832Reputation: 832Reputation: 832

$ lsb_release -a

$ cat /etc/issue

It would help to know "which" linux OS. Was this a used computer, formerly of a server variety?
 
Old 08-07-2018, 12:18 PM   #17
zeebra
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia, Slackware
Posts: 824
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
My first logical guess is the OP purchased a laptop with linpus lite pre-installed that does not have a GUI, no documentation and not surprised when they do not have a clue what to do next.
This is correct. Acer "Linux" notebooks/laptops come with Linpus Light, a pretty useless distro for most people. I like the idea of purchasing Acer with Linpus because it avoids supporting/paying Microsoft and it "proves" the laptop is fully supported by the Linux Kernel, and as such, any distro can easily be installed onto the computer and all hardware should work immediately.

I currently have an Acer laptop which came with Linpus, and what I did, and what I would do if I got another Acer with Linpus is the following:

1. Copy the .config file from the installed Linpus Kernel
2. Double check what firmware the Kernel is using

3. Download a distro of my own preference (ex. Mageia)
4. Install my own distro onto the notebook/laptop

Alot of notebooks/laptops these days come without a CD/DVD reader, which makes Mageia an optimal first distro for me, due to the ease of making a bootable USB (using DD). Otherwise I would install from a disk. Mageia has a great installer and powerful tools during installation, in addition to great hardware support. Even if my plan was to use another distro, I would install Mageia first. If I had no computer or no GNU/Linux computer the process is a whole lot more difficult if the machine comes without a CD/DVD reader. In Windows burning an ISO disk is a reasonable process, but making a bootable USB is not. Both are possible, but suboptimal. Without a machine or an available bootable USB distro, the process is difficult. I would need to use someone elses computer to make a bootable distro to install on the computer.

For ease of use I would still use Mageia.

www.mageia.org

https://wiki.mageia.org/en/Dump_Mage...ernative_tools

As long as all the hardware in Linpus works in command line, it should also be possible to "expand" it using whatever software is available in Linpus light to build a full Linpus. Ethernet (LAN) would be much preferable to Wireless in doing such a task, but nowdays many laptops come without an ethernet connection.

Here is an article about how to install software on top of Linpus Light:
http://linuxbsdos.com/2012/03/20/how...e-desktop-1-7/

This requires an internet connection, which is easy from command line with a LAN connection, but difficult with Wireless. With Lan, simply use ifconfig and dhcp tools:
"ifconfig ethX up" to bring up the LAN connection if it is not already up, then
"dhcpcd ethX" or whatever DHCP tool comes with Linpus. (can be found by typing dh then press shift)

then install software with the Fedora tool "yum".

To "get" all one need, I would personally install "kde" with Yum, which should also install all the dependencies (GNU, X, libs etc) and give you a fully functional and powerful GUI.

Good luck.
 
Old 08-07-2018, 12:35 PM   #18
zeebra
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia, Slackware
Posts: 824
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Perhaps based on my information, someone can write a more exact guide on how to build Linpus desktop from Linpus Lite, using either ethernet LAN or Wireless Wifi. Step by step instructions if possible.

More info on installed packages (and Linpus) here:
https://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=linpus
 
Old 08-08-2018, 10:23 AM   #19
snowday
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,667

Rep: Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeebra View Post
Perhaps based on my information, someone can write a more exact guide on how to build Linpus desktop from Linpus Lite, using either ethernet LAN or Wireless Wifi. Step by step instructions if possible.

More info on installed packages (and Linpus) here:
https://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=linpus
The Distrowatch link that you posted indicates that Linpus was last updated in 2014. It is an abandoned, dead-end project, not worth your time to troubleshoot.
 
Old 08-08-2018, 10:55 AM   #20
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 19,039

Rep: Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892
It is listed as dormant and not discontinued which may not mean it is a dead project yet. Their website is still functional... However, because it isn't a mainstream distribution you probably will not find many that are familiar with linpus and so help on forums like LQ will be limited.
 
Old 08-09-2018, 07:39 AM   #21
snowday
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,667

Rep: Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
It is listed as dormant and not discontinued which may not mean it is a dead project yet. Their website is still functional... However, because it isn't a mainstream distribution you probably will not find many that are familiar with linpus and so help on forums like LQ will be limited.
On the contrary, many of us are VERY familiar with Linpus from years of discussion. (Did you read through the links I posted in #8?) I just re-read this thread from the beginning, and I do not think our collective response to @Maryskha was "limited" in any way. As a community we were thorough, helpful, and practical in our replies. And I include your thoughtful suggestions in that statement.
 
Old 08-09-2018, 08:29 AM   #22
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 19,039

Rep: Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892Reputation: 2892
On the contrary I don't remember any of those threads from #8 where the problem was actually solved except for suggesting installing another distribution even with my posts. Granted some of the threads the OP never replied back or linpus was actually broken versus not having a GUI installed.

My EeePC ran linpus and had a simple GUI which was just a application launcher. While I played with linpus for a short it didn't take long to install something else...
 
Old 08-09-2018, 08:54 AM   #23
hazel
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 3,391
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895Reputation: 1895
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeebra View Post
Perhaps based on my information, someone can write a more exact guide on how to build Linpus desktop from Linpus Lite, using either ethernet LAN or Wireless Wifi. Step by step instructions if possible.

More info on installed packages (and Linpus) here:
https://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=linpus
You don't actually need to build a desktop on any binary distro. You just need to install it. Basically, you go to the distro site and see what desktops are available. Some small distros may have only one choice but most have several. Common possibilities are gnome, KDE, unity, mate, cinnamon, LXDE, LXQT, enlightenment, fluxbox, icewm, with quite a few less common ones too. Most of these are what is called desktop environments; they are big and need a good modern machine to run on. Fluxbox and icewm are simple window managers, good for old machines. Enlightenment is somewhere inbetween.

Once you have decided on your desktop, you just use your package manager to install it. The desktop will bring with it as dependencies all the lower-level software needed to run any kind of graphical interface (X-server, drivers, etc), so you don't need to worry about those. A desktop environment will also bring with it a complete suite of graphical applications, so this is a good way for a newbie to start. For a WM-based desktop, you will need to install your own apps separately.

Last edited by hazel; 08-09-2018 at 08:55 AM.
 
Old 08-09-2018, 09:06 AM   #24
snowday
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,667

Rep: Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407Reputation: 1407
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
While I played with linpus for a short it didn't take long to install something else...
Good advice.
 
Old 08-10-2018, 12:46 PM   #25
zeebra
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia, Slackware
Posts: 824
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowpine View Post
The Distrowatch link that you posted indicates that Linpus was last updated in 2014. It is an abandoned, dead-end project, not worth your time to troubleshoot.
It IS worth it, because Acer still sell machines with Linpus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowpine View Post
On the contrary, many of us are VERY familiar with Linpus from years of discussion. (Did you read through the links I posted in #8?) I just re-read this thread from the beginning, and I do not think our collective response to @Maryskha was "limited" in any way. As a community we were thorough, helpful, and practical in our replies. And I include your thoughtful suggestions in that statement.
Besides that, Linpus is also a GNU/Linux distro, so alot of the same things as apply to other distroes also apply to Linpus.

Last edited by zeebra; 08-10-2018 at 12:47 PM.
 
Old 08-10-2018, 12:50 PM   #26
zeebra
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia, Slackware
Posts: 824
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazel View Post
You don't actually need to build a desktop on any binary distro. You just need to install it. Basically, you go to the distro site and see what desktops are available. Some small distros may have only one choice but most have several. Common possibilities are gnome, KDE, unity, mate, cinnamon, LXDE, LXQT, enlightenment, fluxbox, icewm, with quite a few less common ones too. Most of these are what is called desktop environments; they are big and need a good modern machine to run on. Fluxbox and icewm are simple window managers, good for old machines. Enlightenment is somewhere inbetween.

Once you have decided on your desktop, you just use your package manager to install it. The desktop will bring with it as dependencies all the lower-level software needed to run any kind of graphical interface (X-server, drivers, etc), so you don't need to worry about those. A desktop environment will also bring with it a complete suite of graphical applications, so this is a good way for a newbie to start. For a WM-based desktop, you will need to install your own apps separately.
That's right, but as I mentioned in my post you still need to get your network up, you need to use the correct Yum commands and find the packages you want and make sure all dependencies install correctly.

For newbies, this is not easy, especially if they know nothing about GNU/Linux systems.
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:19 AM   #27
Collins Ochieng
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Exclamation

I have tried logging in kuccps but only to be told that there's an error and yet i want to view some details there
 
Old 09-20-2019, 06:59 AM   #28
Firerat
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Debian sid
Posts: 2,413

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Collins Ochieng View Post
I have tried logging in kuccps but only to be told that there's an error and yet i want to view some details there
  1. this is a old thread!
  2. what is kuccps?
  3. what was the error?
  4. what details where?

start a new thread
but please provide details
Which Linux distribution are you using
What version?

what commands are you running?
what error messages are you getting?

what do you want to achieve with what is not working?
has it ever worked?
when was the last time it worked?
has anything changed since then ( software updates , or any files you have edited/deleted )


take some time and read some of the other posts
it will help when you write yours


wait kuccps ?
Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Service


I think you are using the wrong forum, LQ is about Linux.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[root@localhost ~]# tecunuman LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 1 04-19-2014 01:38 PM
Mail from root@localhost.localdomain thru relay=localhost.localdomain[216.24.138.1] rshartog Linux - Server 2 02-02-2009 10:35 PM
How to change root@127 to root@localhost? FirstBorn Linux - General 3 07-20-2008 12:15 PM
root@localhost:~# xf86config -bash: xf86config: command not found klemen Slackware 17 01-06-2005 02:56 AM
Changing root@localhost to root@domain.com Stingreen Linux - General 14 12-17-2002 06:21 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration