LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password
Ubuntu This forum is for the discussion of Ubuntu Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2018, 04:24 AM   #1
Geekazoid0
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Lost /home after 16.04 upgrade --mdadm question


I upgraded my 14.04 installation to 16.04 using the DVD and a wifi connection. So far, everything looks good. But it looks as though the upgrade did not bring over the /etc/fstab file from the previous installation.
The installation had root and all the defaults on / and the usual partitions at the default spots. I had a fake raid built using mdadm that was supposed to be mounted at /home. I think the entire /home system is intact and running, but I have forgotten the steps to build the RAID and get it mounted.
Where to start?
 
Old 01-14-2018, 09:59 AM   #2
hydrurga
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 18.3 MATE
Posts: 3,782
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302Reputation: 1302
Welcome to LQ, Geekazoid0.

Have you checked the /etc directory to see if the fstab file has been backed up?

In general, I would *highly* recommend that you make a backup image of your system partition(s) before an upgrade like this. If anything goes wrong, it means that you can roll back the system and/or access the files in their pre-upgrade condition.

In addition, if you carry out tasks like configuring fake raid, or any other non-simple task, you should document the steps you take. It only takes a couple of minutes extra to do this and can save you a lot of pain in the future.
 
Old 01-14-2018, 01:09 PM   #3
Geekazoid0
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I do have backups! I had a 2TB disk mounted at /backups and regularly made backups to it. But it was the /home filesystem I backed up. Those files are still there, and the /backups filesystem is intact. I should've known better and backed /etc, but didn't. The new fstab looks pretty good, but I do not see the RAID array in there anywhere. Thanks for reminding me to check /etc/fstab. My mind was focused on other things when I posted the question.

I'll have to rebuild the RAID by hand and put it back in that file, I think.
 
Old 01-14-2018, 05:47 PM   #4
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 16,121

Rep: Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256
What do you mean by "upgrade" ?. Be precise.

In all likelihood you are correct, mdadm has probably done it job - what does "cat /proc/mdstat" produce. Post the full output.
 
Old 01-14-2018, 10:43 PM   #5
Geekazoid0
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
/proc/mdstat

Quote:
Originally Posted by syg00 View Post
What do you mean by "upgrade" ?. Be precise.

In all likelihood you are correct, mdadm has probably done it job - what does "cat /proc/mdstat" produce. Post the full output.
..

#cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities :
unused devices: <none

I can usually figure it out from the man page, however.
 
Old 01-14-2018, 10:57 PM   #6
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 16,121

Rep: Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256Reputation: 2256
Off you go then.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] mdadm upgrade raid5 array lost 1 drive, out of synch narfman0 Linux - Server 1 11-28-2014 12:04 PM
mdadm - ran with create option - lost superblock? krizzz Linux - Server 1 09-23-2013 04:08 PM
Problem with lost array (raid-1) mdadm acidrop Linux - Server 6 09-19-2012 01:19 PM
[SOLVED] Lost users after upgrade keeping old /home. Can't re-create users... JZL240I-U Linux - Software 7 05-02-2011 04:43 AM
MDADM problem: partition lost because of mkfs.ext3 trivet.es Linux - Hardware 2 11-05-2008 08:51 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration