LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2018, 06:22 AM   #1
KarolDworak
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
GUI Issue with graphical.target being inactive


I installed a basic CentOS7 server and later downloaded desktop software and am able to startx into it, but I would like to, if possible, to boot into graphical.target. When I run
Code:
systemctl list-units --type=target --all
graphical.target           loaded    inactive dead   Graphical Interface
Anyway to activate it and set the target to graphical? Thank you.
 
Old 11-08-2018, 08:16 AM   #2
sevendogsbsd
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Location: Texas
Distribution: Not a distro: FreeBSD
Posts: 412

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
What is the output of
Code:
systemctl get-default
?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-09-2018, 12:26 AM   #3
KarolDworak
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Multi-user.target
 
Old 11-09-2018, 01:55 AM   #4
berndbausch
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: Redhat/Centos, Ubuntu, Raspbian, Fedora
Posts: 2,053

Rep: Reputation: 438Reputation: 438Reputation: 438Reputation: 438Reputation: 438
Try
Code:
systemctl isolate graphical.target
to switch from multiuser to graphical right now. And
Code:
systemctl set-default graphical.target
to boot to graphical mode by default.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-09-2018, 03:19 AM   #5
KarolDworak
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Berndbauch, thank you very much sir, solved.
 
Old 11-09-2018, 03:54 AM   #6
berndbausch
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: Redhat/Centos, Ubuntu, Raspbian, Fedora
Posts: 2,053

Rep: Reputation: 438Reputation: 438Reputation: 438Reputation: 438Reputation: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarolDworak View Post
Berndbauch, thank you very much sir, solved.
Credit to sevendogsbsd, who had the right idea.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] default.target in Centos 7.3.1611 is graphical instead of multiuser vincix CentOS 2 06-09-2017 02:00 PM
iSCSI target configuration GUI Nick_C Linux - Server 0 11-04-2012 03:49 PM
Keyboard inactive when log in GUI, but active on Console, any command line ?? Msi100SuSe10 Linux - Laptop and Netbook 16 01-26-2010 09:09 AM
simple GUI for target tamilm Programming 3 07-22-2008 02:47 PM
how to Add GUI feature to Target board sateeshgalla Linux - General 1 09-14-2005 04:34 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration