LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2020, 04:35 AM   #1
UNeverNo
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Installed program fails to run at other profile


I installed a program called lucaschess with my sudo-profile from https://github.com/lukasmonk/lucasch...e/master/Linux (see xlinux_install.sh) and can run it using xlucas.sh afterwards.
But when another user tries to run it, it fails without an error message.

The normal behaviour is to run the sh-file. It then logs 'x86_64' to console and starts the GUI where one can select a language.
On the other user's profile it just logs 'x86_64' and that's it.

Is there a way to find out, why it fails?

I'm running Ubuntu 18.04 if that matters.
 
Old 03-26-2020, 07:25 AM   #2
sevendogsbsd
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,521

Rep: Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619
Where is the software installed? What path?
 
Old 03-26-2020, 07:57 AM   #3
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 4,030
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852
If the installer put stuff in $HOME of the user that installed it, that wont exist on the $HOME of the "other" user.

But it depends on what you mean by "other" user. Cold boot and log in as someone else? Or su / sudo to someone else in an already running GUI? I tend to su / sudo to someone else. Which requires $( xhost local: ) for the user who launched the GUI / X session to "share" the gui environment. With various other trickery to "share" the audio environment if using pulseaudio.

And then there's some software that's just poorly designed and will only work for the one who installed it. They might call that a feature or "licensing".
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-28-2020, 12:15 PM   #4
UNeverNo
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevendogsbsd View Post
Where is the software installed? What path?
I copied the git repo to /opt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_7 View Post
If the installer put stuff in $HOME of the user that installed it, that wont exist on the $HOME of the "other" user.

But it depends on what you mean by "other" user. Cold boot and log in as someone else? Or su / sudo to someone else in an already running GUI? I tend to su / sudo to someone else. Which requires $( xhost local: ) for the user who launched the GUI / X session to "share" the gui environment. With various other trickery to "share" the audio environment if using pulseaudio.

And then there's some software that's just poorly designed and will only work for the one who installed it. They might call that a feature or "licensing".
I was talking about log out and log in with another user. Normally I install something with sudo and everyone can use it.

Is there a way to find out if this software is installing something to $HOME? Are there any system logs?
 
Old 03-28-2020, 02:29 PM   #5
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 4,030
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852Reputation: 852
They'll be files in $HOME. You could also strace it and filter out the "Open" commends. See what it's looking at when it runs. Do it on the failed user account and see what it's NOT finding at the point that it fails. Could also be a group or something the user needs to be in. AKA permissions.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-28-2020, 05:15 PM   #6
sevendogsbsd
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,521

Rep: Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619Reputation: 619
Check to see if /opt is in your path. Also, does it need to be built? If the app is a binary and the git repo is just source code, that’s not going to do anything.
 
Old 04-01-2020, 02:18 AM   #7
FlinchX
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2017
Distribution: Slackware Linux
Posts: 444

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Might be worth pinging the author by bumping the years old issue that requested an official AppImage.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Ok to copy and rename Chromium profile folder to use as Chrome profile? linustalman Linux - Software 4 01-10-2017 08:54 AM
[SOLVED] How to import Thunderbird Profile backup containng mail archive with Profile Manager? Beukel Linux - Newbie 2 02-16-2014 03:01 AM
Where can I read about the difference between "..profile" and ".profile"? zorrokan Linux - Newbie 4 09-05-2007 01:26 AM
system profile vs user profile bonito SUSE / openSUSE 3 06-28-2006 01:02 PM
non roaming profile on a roaming profile system fieldyweb Linux - Newbie 1 10-03-2005 12:27 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration