LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2020, 10:10 PM   #1
Moniquejor
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
bios from grub


Hello !

Is that possible to modify setparams to get my BIOS next reboot ? or to force BIOS from grub menu ?

When I push [DEL] on my T101HA I can't enter in my BIOS, I directly get into grub menu


Code:
setparams 'Arch Linux'

        load_video
        set gfxpayload=keep
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod fat
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  F15-5ABB
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root F15-5ABB
        fi echo          'loading Linux linux-hardened ...'
        linux        /vmlinuz-linux-hardened root-UUID=7eb7aedf-a6f9-4a12-b340-cbdd361ee647 \
rw  loglevel=3 cryptdevice=/dev/lvm/lvroot: root=/dev/mapper/root
        echo        'loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd       /intiramfs-linux-hardened.img
I forget my password, in grub menu I only got two options
arch linux
advanced options for arch linux
 
Old 03-26-2020, 12:59 AM   #2
berndbausch
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: A few
Posts: 4,295

Rep: Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224Reputation: 1224
I don't think that Grub allows you to launch the BIOS (or probably the UEFI, in your case).

Are you sure it's the DEL key? It might be F8, F2, ESC or others. Just press everything

Regarding the password, I would check the Archlinux wiki for instructions; ArchLinux is known for excellent documentation. On RHEL or Centos, you can stop the boot process in the initramfs phase by adding rd.break to the kernel parameters in the linux directive. Or perhaps init=/bin/bash would work.
 
Old 03-26-2020, 04:07 AM   #3
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 2,306

Rep: Reputation: 746Reputation: 746Reputation: 746Reputation: 746Reputation: 746Reputation: 746Reputation: 746
Looks like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbg_675EDXQ may explain the bizarre method of getting into your BIOS.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-26-2020, 01:44 PM   #4
RockDoctor
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Minnesota, US
Distribution: Fedora, Ubuntu, Linux Mint
Posts: 1,718

Rep: Reputation: 400Reputation: 400Reputation: 400Reputation: 400Reputation: 400
[QUOTE=Moniquejor;6104416] Hello !

Is that possible to modify setparams to get my BIOS next reboot ? or to force BIOS from grub menu ?

Fedora (as of F31, possibly a bit earlier) installs an option to access UEFI in the grub menu
Code:
### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
menuentry 'System setup' $menuentry_id_option 'uefi-firmware' {
	fwsetup
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
I have no idea where fwsetup resides
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infinite Grub Loop: GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB... beeblequix MEPIS 2 11-02-2013 10:56 PM
Grub, Stage1, and GRUB/BIOS detection of external hard drive godfigure Linux - Newbie 1 03-10-2009 02:51 AM
Booting my new ubuntu install = "GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB" etc. dissolved soul Ubuntu 2 01-13-2007 12:55 PM
GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB "Whats Going on?" Gaweph Linux - Newbie 6 03-26-2004 10:40 AM
Trying to dual-boot XP and RH9 with GRUB...GRUB stops right after BIOS EvilYoda Linux - Newbie 5 06-20-2003 03:38 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration