LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2017, 10:13 AM   #16
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,075
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251

I don't find anything for "Mitsay" on a web search. Is that a brand? If you look on the back of the keyboard does it give you any other information?

Portuguese layout keyboards I did find show the "=" at exactly the same place as American layouts. 2 keys to the right of the zero key (above the alpha keys).

Left Alt 61 also works for me.

I'd say you probably need to find more information about your keyboard and failing that buy a replacement that has documentation.
 
Old 11-14-2017, 01:13 PM   #17
miramarcos
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
it,s a brand of a large electronics salescompany and hasn't anything at back, on the box it says made in Portugal.
cannot experience with the keyboard now, have a no signal on monitor now to resolve. Anyway thanks for your suggestions. P.S. tried to open saved on media work on LibreCalc on W10, but only the first rows apear instead of in the hundred I have on Linux desktop.
miramarcos
 
Old 11-14-2017, 04:52 PM   #18
TheEzekielProject
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2016
Distribution: Devuan
Posts: 478

Rep: Reputation: 115Reputation: 115
If you happen to have a rooted android smart phone you can download USB keyboard app and connect with a USB OTG cable to the PC
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-15-2017, 09:59 AM   #19
miramarcos
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
dear EzekielProject,
I'm don't know, what do you mean with rooted ? have an android smart phone and what is a USB OTG, I also do have a cable from the Nokia 5 to connect with PC
miramarcos
 
Old 11-15-2017, 10:55 AM   #20
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,075
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251
A rooted phone is one that you've taken control of so you can do what you want with it rather than what the manufacturer or the phone carrier are allowing.

However, I'm not sure why TheEzekielProject suggested you'd need to do it on a rooted phone.

On checking Google play store just now I see free USB keyboard apps available. I haven't tried any of them myself.
 
Old 11-15-2017, 03:06 PM   #21
TheEzekielProject
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2016
Distribution: Devuan
Posts: 478

Rep: Reputation: 115Reputation: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by MensaWater View Post
A rooted phone is one that you've taken control of so you can do what you want with it rather than what the manufacturer or the phone carrier are allowing.

However, I'm not sure why TheEzekielProject suggested you'd need to do it on a rooted phone.

On checking Google play store just now I see free USB keyboard apps available. I haven't tried any of them myself.
The USB Keyboard app I use said that it required root to work, I guess I just assumed that the type of app it is required root. If not, that makes it easier for OP
 
Old 11-15-2017, 03:10 PM   #22
miramarcos
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Posts: 106

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
after I finally could get ubuntu going, after pressing shift with start up, without monitor, I could type in the = sign and could finish my work in LibreCal. Hope tomorrow Asus desktop starts that way, with shift get going again.
miramarcos
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bios reluctant to start on hp dr62 with slackware 14.1 porphyry5 Linux - Hardware 2 05-11-2014 02:08 PM
scrambled bios and ubuntu start up screens mpo Linux - Hardware 3 07-01-2006 08:24 AM
Automatically Start Box without BIOS arew264 General 7 03-08-2006 11:15 AM
can't engage bios on start-up Rory in Toronto Mandriva 5 04-12-2004 06:47 PM
BIOS won't start after installing second hdd pilotgi Linux - Hardware 4 09-21-2003 08:49 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration