LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2018, 08:45 AM   #1
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,451

Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Invalid user


I have blown something up somehow. and I am not finding much through google.
After upgrading -current, this is what I got trying to login:

Code:
chown: invalid user: 'michael'
Code:
I have no name!darkstar:~$
I have no access to /home/michael

Logging in as root gives me access

Creating another user gives the same outcome as the first.
 
Old 05-18-2018, 09:01 AM   #2
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,383
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404
Is it possible you've filled up the filesystem (/) and its not able to update /etc/passwd and/or /etc/shadow when you add the new user?

Do you have a backup of your old /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow files with user "michael" in them? Are you sure that was the user's "name" in the name field of those files (as opposed to the comment field)? Does /etc/passwd's home field show value as /home/michael? (That is a default home directory on most systems but it can be changed when adding the user.)
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-18-2018, 09:05 AM   #3
upnort
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2014
Distribution: Slackware, Proxmox, Debian, CentOS, Ubuntu MATE
Posts: 520

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
When logged in as root, does /home/michael exist? If not then that is the cause of the message. If yes, check the permissions and ownership. Ownership should be michael:michael and permissions something like 711 or 755. Also check /etc/passwd. You should see something like michael:x:1000:1000:Michael:/home/michael:/bin/bash. Similarly in /etc/group: michael:x:1000:.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-18-2018, 10:04 AM   #4
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,451

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Thanks for the reply! Working on the ownership angle. It seems that there are inconsistencies with ownership for whatever reason. Waiting for it to go through /home/michael recursively. If that does not do it, I have a 600gb partition that I will reinstall to, then pull files from the original. I won't lose anything other than time. Just wish I knew what happened during the reboot after the updates - which I have done successively ever since x86_64-current was born.

Maybe it was just time for a reinstall.......
 
Old 05-18-2018, 12:48 PM   #5
55020
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Yorks. W.R. 167397
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,227
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737
Did you move over all the .new files? including /etc/passwd.new and /etc/shadow.new?
 
Old 05-18-2018, 12:53 PM   #6
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,383
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404
Quote:
Originally Posted by 55020 View Post
Did you move over all the .new files? including /etc/passwd.new and /etc/shadow.new?
Ouch!

Does slack add existing users/groups to the .new files or does one have to manually merge things? I'd really hate to have an upgrade overwrite my existing password file especially.
 
Old 05-18-2018, 01:30 PM   #7
55020
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Yorks. W.R. 167397
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,227
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737Reputation: 1737
[deleted]

Last edited by 55020; 05-18-2018 at 01:31 PM. Reason: Damn -- double post :(
 
Old 05-18-2018, 01:36 PM   #8
volkerdi
Slackware Maintainer
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware! :-)
Posts: 1,464

Rep: Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238Reputation: 4238
Quote:
Originally Posted by MensaWater View Post
Does slack add existing users/groups to the .new files or does one have to manually merge things? I'd really hate to have an upgrade overwrite my existing password file especially.
New users and groups are automatically merged into the existing /etc/passwd and /etc/group files. The .new files are the unmodified files that ship with the etc package. There are almost no situations where you'd want to move those .new files on top of existing passwd/group files. This is why they are ignored by slackpkg and by the .new handling script in UPGRADE.TXT. But they still might be of some interest (at least for seeing the original ordering of the users/groups), which is why they are there.
 
7 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-19-2018, 08:16 AM   #9
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,451

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 201Reputation: 201Reputation: 201
Originally, after applying the -current updates (I have been away for two weeks working), KDE would not start. Going to XFCE, I reinstalled all of ktown. KDE still wouldn't start. I have no clue after that. It doesn't matter, since I have cleanly installed -current. I copied over necessary stuff and am rebuilding other 3rd party software. I have not done ktown or multilib yet. Everything is just fine and almost back to normal. But I hesitate marking this solved since I have never fixed the original problem. The partition still exists in its messed up state, so I may revisit it after three weeks. I will be retired then.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Invalid User SSH Waiyan Lynn Linux - Newbie 2 11-27-2017 07:36 PM
[SOLVED] invalid user name, with dot mfoley Slackware 10 08-11-2016 10:31 AM
Found invalid password for user: 'root@localhost'; Ignoring user charu Linux - Server 1 11-18-2010 04:33 AM
squirremail ...it says invalid user or invalid password. rnj Fedora 9 10-25-2004 09:56 PM
How to know if there any other user try to 'su' but with invalid password? huangyanfeng Linux - General 3 11-05-2003 10:05 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration