LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2019, 06:51 PM   #1
LMeland
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2019
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
missing boot choice


Bought a new Acer Aspire XC-330 desktop computer with Windows 10 Home.
Proceeded to install Linux Mint 19.2 along side of Windows, which worked well on my Lenova G50-80 laptop with Windows 10.
Mint installed on my Aspire but apparently didn't create a new boot order.
I'm at wits end. Any ideas? I'm quite new to Linux; though I've had many years with MicroSoft Windows and started out with dos (though that was a long time ago). frustrated.
 
Old 11-08-2019, 07:32 PM   #2
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: FreeBSD/Slackware-14.2+/ArcoLinux
Posts: 9,337

Rep: Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979Reputation: 1979
time to learn how to chroot and install grub.
https://zeldor.biz/2010/12/install-grub-from-chroot/
boot a live distro, perhaps the one you used to install your linux system.

open a terminal, from that i do this as root, or sudo
Code:
#knowing my mount point that Linux is on, lsblk, replace 1 with the number it is.
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/
mount -t proc none /mnt/proc
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/dev
mount -t sysfs sys /mnt/sys
chroot /mnt/ /bin/bash
grub-install /dev/sda
update-grub
reboot

(if you had something else like a sd card, I know them installers always pick that on my laptop, and if I forget to change it, I end up without a grub to boot the system).

or .....

Last edited by BW-userx; 11-08-2019 at 08:57 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-08-2019, 07:59 PM   #3
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 19,292

Rep: Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957Reputation: 2957
Does it boot to windows still?
 
Old 11-08-2019, 08:20 PM   #4
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 18,214

Rep: Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952Reputation: 2952
Get into the firmware menus (what used to be called "the BIOS") - see if you can boot Ubuntu from there. If so it should have Win10 in the grub menu.
If that works it should be easy enough to change the default boot - saves messing with chroot.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-08-2019, 08:44 PM   #5
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, arch, ubuntu, others
Posts: 3,557

Rep: Reputation: 584Reputation: 584Reputation: 584Reputation: 584Reputation: 584Reputation: 584
go into bios settings and see if you can change boot order there.
 
Old 11-09-2019, 06:23 AM   #6
yancek
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Slackware
Posts: 8,641

Rep: Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779Reputation: 1779
Recent Acer computers require you to set "Trust" in the BIOS/firmware before you can install another OS other than windows. THis requires setting a Supervisor password in the BIOS/firmware first. You may also need to upgrade the UEFI firmware.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] I'm xfce and have the choice between kde, gnome and root. Which is the best choice? Gregg Bell Linux - Software 9 05-31-2015 02:37 PM
LXer: Windows: Choice But No Choice LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-08-2010 03:20 PM
Please give the right choice about the multi-choice question! keika Programming 1 07-22-2009 05:20 AM
LXer: Thank [Deity of Your Choice] For Choice LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-10-2008 02:11 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration