LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2018, 10:21 AM   #1
seddik
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Location: france
Distribution: CENTOS,,DEBIAN,,UBUNTU,,ARCHLINUX,,RHEL
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
[NAGIOS] Check status of machine DOWN , but Services are UP


Dear members


I have tried many solutions to resolve this problem (status machine down but services are up ).I have server_nagios running , and the connections are successfully established with the others cients .
On nagios web interface i have already the status of machines DOWN .
Note that we have droped all connections (icmp) betwen the hosts for security measure .
On services files for hosts i didn't define the check_ping

Does any one have an idea to check status by another method


Thanks in advance .


Seddik

Last edited by seddik; 07-13-2018 at 10:29 AM.
 
Old 07-13-2018, 10:41 AM   #2
TenTenths
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2011
Location: Dublin
Distribution: Centos 5 / 6 / 7
Posts: 2,708

Rep: Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035
Go take a look in the commands.cfg file and look for check-host-alive

That's the command that does the host check. You can change it to whatever suits your needs.

Personally I'd allow ICMP between your Nagios server and the hosts you monitor.

You may also find this article gives you ideas: https://www.slashroot.in/what-tcp-ping-and-how-it-used

Last edited by TenTenths; 07-13-2018 at 10:44 AM.
 
Old 07-13-2018, 11:07 AM   #3
seddik
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Location: france
Distribution: CENTOS,,DEBIAN,,UBUNTU,,ARCHLINUX,,RHEL
Posts: 16

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thank you for replying , i will fix it with another check

Seddik
 
Old 07-13-2018, 11:15 AM   #4
TenTenths
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2011
Location: Dublin
Distribution: Centos 5 / 6 / 7
Posts: 2,708

Rep: Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035Reputation: 1035
You could change the command to /path/to/plugins/check_dummy 0 which will ALWAYS return a dummy result that the host is OK
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a monitoring tool to check services status rawand Linux - Software 7 04-21-2010 09:39 PM
LXer: How to check the status of VMware Tools per virtual Machine the easy way. LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-01-2009 09:20 PM
How to get list of services status in linux kbarani Linux - Networking 3 03-28-2009 01:36 AM
Default status(and runlevel) of services chessonly Ubuntu 0 11-18-2005 06:15 PM
Debian boot with the status of the services... hrz999 Debian 0 08-26-2005 01:16 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration