LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2019, 12:11 PM   #1
Andrew Stallard
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
F-Keys don't work in htop


I just installed htop and the f-keys do not work. I can't get the term signal list or anything.

The specs for my system are:

Linux version 4.18.0-16-generic (buildd@lcy01-amd64-006) (gcc version 7.3.0 (Ubuntu 7.3.0-16ubuntu3)) #17~18.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Tue Feb 12 13:35:51 UTC 2019

It is also running in a virtual machine
 
Old 03-16-2019, 12:25 PM   #2
pan64
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 12,291

Rep: Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797
just one thing you did not tell us: is it used in a graphical terminal (like gnome-terminal), or in console?
 
Old 03-17-2019, 12:27 PM   #3
Andrew Stallard
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Posts: 12

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by pan64 View Post
just one thing you did not tell us: is it used in a graphical terminal (like gnome-terminal), or in console?
I am using it in a gnome terminal.

I was able to get the htop functions to work by clicking the bottom with my mouse, (I was using an ancient external mouse that couldn't get close enough I can zero in with my internal mouse on my laptop.) but I still can't get the F-keys to work, and yes, I can select the proper terminal window, and yes, the same issue exists in my main (Centos 7.0) OS.
 
Old 03-17-2019, 12:33 PM   #4
pan64
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 12,291

Rep: Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797Reputation: 3797
yes, gnome-terminal (and other graphical terminal implementations) may catch the function keys and use them - therefore the app inside the window will not be able to handle them.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-17-2019, 12:36 PM   #5
Andrew Stallard
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Posts: 12

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by pan64 View Post
yes, gnome-terminal (and other graphical terminal implementations) may catch the function keys and use them - therefore the app inside the window will not be able to handle them.
Thank You
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error while try to install htop-0.8 Elnegro8 Linux - Software 5 08-26-2013 02:36 PM
Get system current status to C program from "htop" chamila1986 Programming 1 01-17-2010 09:00 AM
htop execute and exit... chamila1986 Linux - Newbie 2 01-16-2010 03:21 PM
Looking for direction with reagarding a top/htop like app energyAlchemist Programming 3 09-22-2009 08:39 PM
LXer: Htop, a tip-top ncurses interactive tool for system monitoring your desktop LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-26-2009 02:21 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration