LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2021, 07:34 PM   #16
truepatriot76
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: California, USA
Distribution: slackware64-current
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation: 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitest View Post
***snicker***

Really bored today so I installed Arch on bare metal, it runs well. One day I may try Gentoo. For now I'll stick with Debian, Arch, and Slackware (in no particular order).

Toying around with Arch myself in a VM. Making it more like Slackware, starting in runlevel3 and noclear on tty1... I just dislike installing a package and it grabs some 30 odd dependencies. After a while I just feel like a monkey smashing keys.. "oh another 25 packages? SURE!" Instant mindless gratification. Runs well, though.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-06-2021, 08:15 PM   #17
hitest
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, VM: Void, FreeBSD
Posts: 6,631

Rep: Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883Reputation: 2883
Quote:
Originally Posted by truepatriot76 View Post
Toying around with Arch myself in a VM.
Nice! I'm enjoying Arch with Plasma. It may be interesting to note that Slackware and Arch use very similar amounts of system resources to run Plasma.
 
Old 04-06-2021, 09:04 PM   #18
truepatriot76
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: California, USA
Distribution: slackware64-current
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation: 75
I'm using MATE and Arch's version/implementation is slightly different and a bit disappointing compared to Willy's msb in Slackware.

Last edited by truepatriot76; 04-06-2021 at 09:10 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] How to select more than 1 line,copy those selected more than one line,and paste them. shabariv Linux - Newbie 1 02-02-2015 11:51 AM
fixed ip for more than 1 nic - more than 1 network - multi homed zimbot Ubuntu 1 07-05-2011 05:21 PM
Can I've more than 6 virt consoles (and can I launch more than 2 GUIs simultaneosly)? kornerr Linux - General 6 02-24-2005 02:33 AM
several processes started more than once at boot j-ray Linux - General 2 05-13-2004 12:37 PM
How is Slackware more "Unix-like" than other distros? simsjr Slackware 1 04-27-2004 11:29 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration