LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2018, 03:51 AM   #1
qrange
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Belgrade, Yugoslavia
Distribution: Debian stable/testing, amd64
Posts: 954

Rep: Reputation: 47
Krusader, no copy progress


when copying files with Krusader, the copy progress window/indicator doesn't show up.

Code:
qt5ct: using qt5ct plugin
qt5ct: D-Bus system tray: no
qt5ct: D-Bus global menu: no
Couldn't start kuiserver from org.kde.kuiserver.service: QDBusError("org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildSignaled", "Process org.kde.kuiserver received signal 6")
 
Old 09-17-2018, 10:27 PM   #2
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,406
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942
I'm intrigued by this. I've made a note to myself to test Krusader on Debian tomorrow.
 
Old 09-18-2018, 08:32 PM   #3
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,406
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942
I took a look at this and learned nothing.

I did get a progress dialog when I when I copied a directory from one location to another. I tested again white observing the terminal and, aside from the messages when starting Krusader, nothing displayed when I did copied. Nothing in the settings seems to refer to the progress dialog.

I have to say, I don't have a clue as to why you aren't getting a progress dialog, but I can say that you should do so.

Sorry I haven't been able to help more.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-19-2018, 01:26 AM   #4
qrange
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Belgrade, Yugoslavia
Distribution: Debian stable/testing, amd64
Posts: 954

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 47
thanks for the effort.
are you using latest 'debian stable' too?
 
Old 09-19-2018, 08:48 PM   #5
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,406
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942
I just wish I could have found a clue.

Quote:
are you using latest 'debian stable' too?
Yes, I am. Debian is my second-favorite distro after Slackware.

I like rock-solid.
 
Old 09-22-2018, 09:27 AM   #6
qrange
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Belgrade, Yugoslavia
Distribution: Debian stable/testing, amd64
Posts: 954

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 47
I'm using LXDE, perhaps that might be the reason.
 
Old 09-22-2018, 04:08 PM   #7
jlinkels
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Bonaire, Leeuwarden
Distribution: Debian /Jessie/Stretch/Sid, Linux Mint DE
Posts: 5,187

Rep: Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037Reputation: 1037
Do you mean a real dialog, a pop up? Like in Windows? Such a window which shows files flying from one folder to the next?

I have never seen that in Krusader. What I have is a clock like icon in my system tray (next to the wifi symbol in KDE) The icon shows either a rotating line or a number. I do not recall what it looks like on other DE. I am not even sure I sue Krusader on my non-KDE desktops.

jlinkels

Last edited by jlinkels; 09-22-2018 at 04:10 PM.
 
Old 09-27-2018, 03:39 PM   #8
qrange
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Belgrade, Yugoslavia
Distribution: Debian stable/testing, amd64
Posts: 954

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 47
yes, Krusader always had that popup window like TC in windows.
some newer versions have a 'progress bar' inside Krusader window, though.

anyway, it has been fixed somehow. perhaps reboot did it. dunno.
 
Old 09-27-2018, 09:38 PM   #9
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,406
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942Reputation: 3942
Quote:
I'm using LXDE, perhaps that might be the reason.
I'm using Fluxbox.

If you have a different DE installed, you might switch to that and see what happens. If you've tried that already, I love to know what happened.

Last edited by frankbell; 09-27-2018 at 09:41 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] md5sum sha1sum are different after copy file/s by cp command, krusader or nautilus masuch Linux - Newbie 22 11-30-2011 03:56 PM
copy at terminal with progress bar. DoME69 Programming 6 03-10-2009 02:41 PM
Copy with progress count jo4 Linux - Software 5 10-01-2007 09:10 PM
krusader copy mode Padawan.AVT Linux - Software 0 04-01-2007 06:26 PM
Copy progress Ztyx Linux - Software 3 10-16-2003 02:25 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration