LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2023, 08:57 AM   #1
dale1957
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2019
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Is there a Linux distro that will install from a .exe file and run virtually from inside of Windows10


I remember way back there was a linux distro that would run
virtually from inside of msdos. you would install it from an
.exe file after you exited it you were back into dos.

Is there a version of Linux that you can install from a .exe
file inside of a running Windows 10 system, and it will
run more or less virtually from in ram ?


What is it's name , and where can I find it ?

Thanks Dale
 
Old 01-15-2023, 09:40 AM   #2
boughtonp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 3,059

Rep: Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163Reputation: 2163

I vaguely remember a distro which provided an option of booting from within Windows, but I never ran it that way and can't remember what it was.

However, you can just download QEMU and then run any live distro, e.g:
Code:
/path/to/qemu-system-x86_64.exe -m 512 -cdrom /path/to/TinyCorePure64-13.1.iso

Last edited by boughtonp; 01-15-2023 at 09:42 AM.
 
Old 01-15-2023, 10:28 AM   #3
mjolnir
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Posts: 799

Rep: Reputation: 88
At one time I believe you could run a version of ubuntu inside windows with something called 'wubi.exe.' https://www.howtogeek.com/9142/easil...lick%20Install.
 
Old 01-15-2023, 12:51 PM   #4
fatmac
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2011
Location: Upper Hale, Surrey/Hants Border, UK
Distribution: Mainly Devuan with some NetBSD & Haiku thrown in.
Posts: 4,811

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Maybe this was it - http://www.slackware.com/zipslack/

Edit: I think you may also use Tiny Core Linux from a vfat partition, it loads to & runs from ram.

Last edited by fatmac; 01-15-2023 at 12:57 PM.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 01-15-2023, 04:34 PM   #5
rokytnji
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Waaaaay out West Texas
Distribution: antiX 22, MX 21 Fluxbox
Posts: 6,798
Blog Entries: 21

Rep: Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387Reputation: 3387
Lick it.

https://forum.puppylinux.com/viewtopic.php?t=336
 
Old 01-15-2023, 05:46 PM   #6
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 20,667

Rep: Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933
What problem are you trying to solve ?.

I've run WSL since it was first announced, although I have no need for GUI support.
 
Old 01-15-2023, 09:26 PM   #7
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 18,572
Blog Entries: 28

Rep: Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877Reputation: 5877
I remember running Wubi until Ubuntu deprecated it. In my experience, it worked quite nicely, though, of course, it did have limitations.
 
Old 01-15-2023, 09:48 PM   #8
shortarcflyer
Member
 
Registered: May 2022
Location: Louisiana/USA
Distribution: Lilidog, PCLinuxOS, Mabox, ArcoLinux, AntiX, Bodhi
Posts: 233

Rep: Reputation: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankbell View Post
I remember running Wubi until Ubuntu deprecated it. In my experience, it worked quite nicely, though, of course, it did have limitations.
I ran it a bit way back in the day myself when I thought I needed to keep windows around. When I realized I didnt need windows at all, I dumped windows and went straight Linux and no need for Wubi either.
 
Old 01-16-2023, 01:52 AM   #9
pan64
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 19,524

Rep: Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608
yes, it depends on what do you really want to do with it (if you need gui for example). There are a lot of different ways, like: use real VM (virtual machine) and you can run almost anything inside, run cygwin or a similar linux-like environment within windows, use WSL, or try any other ideas from other posters.
 
Old 01-16-2023, 06:05 AM   #10
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 20,667

Rep: Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933Reputation: 3933
OK, so decided to scratch an itch.

I updated WSL to latest to get GUI support. Installed gedit - which pulled in X and gnome ... bigger download than I was expecting.
So, launching gedit from the bash command line, or from the (Windows11) start button worked as expected. Not a true Linux install, but might suffice for most. Me, I will still do it all from the CLI.
 
Old 01-17-2023, 12:44 PM   #11
John VV
LQ Muse
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: A2 area Mi.
Posts: 17,584

Rep: Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643Reputation: 2643
way back i used MinGW and Cygwin on Win xp
whether they are still supported anymore i do not know
 
Old 01-17-2023, 02:35 PM   #12
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 23,868

Rep: Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258Reputation: 5258
Quote:
I remember way back there was a linux distro that would run
virtually from inside of msdos. you would install it from an
.exe file after you exited it you were back into dos.
I do not remember that since linux is 32 bit and MSDOS is 16 bit. I do remember using loadlin to run linux which I could choose from the autoexec.bat file but linux replaced the running DOS. wubi is just the installer but the installed Ubuntu did not run from RAM or was a virtual machine. There is a wubiuefi version but I have no idea how well it works. Besides what has been posted I can not remember if anything else exists.
 
Old 01-18-2023, 02:43 AM   #13
pan64
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 19,524

Rep: Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608Reputation: 6608
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
I do not remember that since linux is 32 bit and MSDOS is 16 bit. I do remember using loadlin to run linux which I could choose from the autoexec.bat file but linux replaced the running DOS. wubi is just the installer but the installed Ubuntu did not run from RAM or was a virtual machine. There is a wubiuefi version but I have no idea how well it works. Besides what has been posted I can not remember if anything else exists.
That's why I suggested cygwin. There is a setup.exe to install it and you can start it from a dos box and you can exit from here with an exit command. But I still don't know if it was really the case.
 
Old 01-20-2023, 09:58 AM   #14
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 21,593

Rep: Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539Reputation: 3539
I think you are talking about MKT (x?) toolbox or maybe zipslack.

There is or was a colinux that ran along windows.

Windows has it's available services for unix.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] problems installing Mint 8 virtually inside of Windows 7 with virtual box redant2 Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 5 12-29-2009 12:09 PM
cygwin g++-3.exe, gcc-3.exe corrupted to g++3.exe.dam and gcc-3.exe.dam pawanjanbandhu Linux - Newbie 2 12-03-2009 12:27 PM
cygwin g++-3.exe, gcc-3.exe corrupted to g++3.exe.dam and gcc-3.exe.dam pawanjanbandhu Linux - Software 1 11-17-2009 03:26 PM
samba compatibility with microsoft srvtools.exe (usrmgr.exe and srvmgr.exe) checkmate3001 Linux - Software 1 09-06-2008 06:08 AM
SETUP.EXE/autorun.exe don't run in wine mst3kman Linux - Games 3 01-22-2006 03:20 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration