LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2020, 10:54 PM   #1
SnowArch
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2020
Distribution: Ubuntu, RemixOS, and whatever vm i may try
Posts: 81

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
kvm is slower than virtual box.


Yep in title. Have a kvm windows 10 box, and a virtual box same specs, but kvm, supposedly good for gaming, is slower. I havent launched a game in kvm, but wifi and os are already slower than vb. How do i fix it?all virtualzation settings are on in bios.


Host: ubuntu 16.04

Last edited by SnowArch; 03-21-2020 at 10:55 PM.
 
Old 03-22-2020, 01:41 AM   #2
Geist
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2013
Distribution: Slackware 14 / current
Posts: 381

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Doesn't it want two GPUs? One low end one for general display and then the big one used by the guest.
 
Old 03-22-2020, 02:11 AM   #3
SnowArch
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2020
Distribution: Ubuntu, RemixOS, and whatever vm i may try
Posts: 81

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I installed kvm the gui way. Where, and how would i edit this, also I somewhat have 2 gpus on my host. Coffee lake graphics passing passing my p106 to host via prime rendering. Do i need a 2nd p106 to do this safely/ no ridk of bricking host? I tried bioshock 2 remastered, and its somewhat strange.

Windows in kvm uses "basic display adapter driver" so the gpu isnt near even fully used. (20% max) screen flashes in the kvm with game running. Since the gpu is simi-passedthrough, is there a way to make windows think its a 1060 without the driver or at least a high intel gpu controller so it'll use more of the p106? If itll see theres more power to use, id be perfect.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Is KVM slower than Virtual Box? Ulysses_ Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 2 07-27-2017 07:48 PM
LXer: VirtualBox Is Still Running Slower Than QEMU-KVM LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-09-2014 11:42 PM
FC6 gets slower and slower and slower... jonrpick Linux - Software 19 11-12-2007 03:02 PM
Internet connection becomes slower and slower. caesius_01 Linux - General 1 03-14-2004 02:59 PM
Surfing gets slower and slower knotty Linux - Newbie 3 07-09-2003 08:23 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration