LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE
User Name
Password
SUSE / openSUSE This Forum is for the discussion of Suse Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2021, 01:52 PM   #1
wiliamvw
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Distribution: Suse, Slack,Uberstudent, Zorin, SL, Bugtraq
Posts: 312

Rep: Reputation: 16
nothing working for internet


I installed Leap 15.2 on one hard drive and all went well; on another have nothing reading as a scanned source either using Network Manager, or Wicked. Rebooted between them; no connections showing where just had several on other OS [zorin].
 
Old 03-23-2021, 02:45 PM   #2
Emerson
LQ Sage
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
Distribution: Gentoo ~arch
Posts: 7,231

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiliamvw View Post
I installed Leap 15.2 on one hard drive and all went well; on another have nothing reading as a scanned source either using Network Manager, or Wicked. Rebooted between them; no connections showing where just had several on other OS [zorin].
OK, what we have got here. We have SuSe, Zorin, NetworkManager and something is Wicked. Possibly wicd? Anyhow, if we mix all this together, what do we get? Wicked cocktail?

Seriously, carefully considering all the information provided I'd conclude something is wrong.

Edit: It looks like you need someone to come and look at it for you. I haven't been in Pittsburgh for years, I'll gladly come and fix it for you. For free, just cover my travel expenses.

Last edited by Emerson; 03-23-2021 at 02:49 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-23-2021, 09:41 PM   #3
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 4,332
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421Reputation: 1421
I've only passed through (near by) for FDR skate park or New York...

So the internet is working on one but not the other or both now? Might need firmware*? Could transfer it from one to other then reboot, install.

https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...a-network.html

http://opensuse-guide.org/command.ph...medium=twitter

Searching on how to give any more relevant information would be helpful.
 
Old 03-24-2021, 04:47 AM   #4
Sauerland
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiliamvw View Post
I installed Leap 15.2 on one hard drive and all went well; on another have nothing reading as a scanned source either using Network Manager, or Wicked. Rebooted between them; no connections showing where just had several on other OS [zorin].
Please post:
Code:
lsusb
Code:
/sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 net
to see what Hardware is inside.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-25-2021, 12:00 PM   #5
wiliamvw
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Distribution: Suse, Slack,Uberstudent, Zorin, SL, Bugtraq
Posts: 312

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 16
data

intel corp integrated rate matching hub
linux foundation 2.0 root hub
authenTec inc AES2550 fingerprint senser
idesCom technology inc
Alcor Micro corp Au9540 SMARTCARD READER
GENESYS LOGIC INC HUB
intel corp integrated rate matching hub
Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub; 3.0 root hub; 2.o root hub

Ethernet controller:intel corp 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
[Lewisville] [8080:1502] rev 04
subsystem: Mitac device [1071:4002]
kernel drivers in use: e1000e
kernel modules: e1000e

Network controller [0280] intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 AGN [8086:4060]
subsystem: intel Advanced-N 6235
kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
kernel modules: iwlwifi
 
Old 03-27-2021, 06:58 AM   #6
Sauerland
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiliamvw View Post
intel corp integrated rate matching hub
linux foundation 2.0 root hub
authenTec inc AES2550 fingerprint senser
idesCom technology inc
Alcor Micro corp Au9540 SMARTCARD READER
GENESYS LOGIC INC HUB
intel corp integrated rate matching hub
Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub; 3.0 root hub; 2.o root hub
This is not all of lsusb:
Code:
lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 010: ID 0c46:64ab WaveRider Communications, Inc. 
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 05e3:0610 Genesys Logic, Inc. 4-port hub
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 06f8:3005 Guillemot Corp. Hercules Dualpix Exchange
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 05e3:0610 Genesys Logic, Inc. 4-port hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0c4b:0500 Reiner SCT Kartensysteme GmbH cyberJack RFID standard dual interface smartcard reader
Bus 001 Device 009: ID 0a5c:21e8 Broadcom Corp. BCM20702A0 Bluetooth 4.0
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 8086:0808 Intel Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 1ea7:0064  
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
The important thing is the ID, not the name:
05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. Hub

But your network hardware is this in lspci.
So what do you want?
wlan or Lan?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-06-2021, 03:01 PM   #7
wiliamvw
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Distribution: Suse, Slack,Uberstudent, Zorin, SL, Bugtraq
Posts: 312

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 16
wlan

Definitely require wlan, but trying to see how LAN would interfere with that and just unable to figure it out; will go with whatever you suggest.
 
Old 04-06-2021, 04:51 PM   #8
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,333

Rep: Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011Reputation: 4011
Quote:
I installed Leap 15.2 on one hard drive and all went well; on another have nothing reading as a scanned source either using Network Manager, or Wicked. Rebooted between them; no connections showing where just had several on other OS [zorin].
Does this mean wireless is working on SuSE but not for other distributions? It helps to be specific.

Quote:
Network controller [0280] intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 AGN [8086:4060]
subsystem: intel Advanced-N 6235
kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
kernel modules: iwlwifi
Is this the output for SuSE. If so the adapter is recognized and the correct wireless drive is loaded. Per SuSE the Intel wireless adapters should just work...

With other distributions it depends on the kernel version and if the proper firmware is installed.
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/...rivers/iwlwifi
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-10-2021, 05:06 PM   #9
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 3,188
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094Reputation: 1094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerson View Post
...something is Wicked. Possibly wicd?
https://github.com/openSUSE/wicked
Code:
# rpm -qi wicked
...
Wicked is a network configuration infrastructure incorporating a number
of existing frameworks into a unified architecture, providing a DBUS
interface to network configuration....
I'm early in process of converting my installations from wicked to systemd-network, as only one needs "management" post-system installation, a rarely used laptop that needs a battery to be useful wirelessly.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-14-2021, 11:23 AM   #10
wiliamvw
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Distribution: Suse, Slack,Uberstudent, Zorin, SL, Bugtraq
Posts: 312

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 16
update

Michaelk: the SUSE install on one hard drive has internet, but SUSE install on identical hard drive has no internet; all the data references come from the the hard drive that is without any internet -- so of course I have no idea why it isn't functioning.
 
Old 04-14-2021, 11:50 AM   #11
Sauerland
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiliamvw View Post
Michaelk: the SUSE install on one hard drive has internet, but SUSE install on identical hard drive has no internet; all the data references come from the the hard drive that is without any internet -- so of course I have no idea why it isn't functioning.
Post:
Code:
ping -c3 8.8.8.8
Code:
ping -c3 google.com
Code:
ip a
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nothing to hide ? Then release all your details publicly and have nothing to fear. H_TeXMeX_H General 61 07-01-2013 01:04 PM
nothing thread about nothing, just needed to check a browser on LQ damgar General 1 06-05-2012 09:52 AM
KDE 4.1.1 - there's nothing on the desktop, nothing works. lordmorgul23 SUSE / openSUSE 10 09-21-2008 04:23 AM
/dev/.udev? Googled, nothing. Searched here, nothing. svarmido Linux - Security 5 10-16-2006 04:00 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration