LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Bodhi
User Name
Password
Bodhi This forum is for the discussion of Bodhi Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2017, 11:31 AM   #1
dcs.79c
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: 0
Multiple desktops


I know that some distros of Linux allow one to install multiple desktop environments & switch from one to another by logging out of one & logging into another. I think Linux Mint allows that.

I watched a YouTube video where multiple desktop environments were downloaded & installed into, I think, Linux Mint & the narrator switched desktops by logging out of one desktop & logging into another.

I intend to install VirtualBox on my Mac & try out different distros.

Does Bodhi allow that?

I'm coming from a Windows & Mac background & this is my 1st foray into Linux. I've spent hours on Wikipedia, YouTube & Google researching the different distros of Linux. I've made a list of contenders & I'm narrowing it down.

Some distros probably don't allow multiple desktops. I know that KDE Neon only supports KDE & won't install other desktops according to their website.

There are so many desktop environments. If there's an option to have more than one desktop on a distro than to have to install a bunch of distros each with a different desktop, then that's what I want to try.
 
Old 03-15-2017, 01:19 PM   #2
skogsjanne
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: Norrköping, Sweden
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 1
Run Linux Mint MATE and you will get multiple desktops.
 
Old 03-15-2017, 03:43 PM   #3
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 6,193
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489Reputation: 1489
VirtualBox?
god, just do it. try it out. no need to ask questions.

once you want to install some distro, you'd probably want to stick to some setup.
because it's just too painful to switch back & forth all the time.
could be some prefab desktop environment, could be something you built yourself.
 
Old 03-15-2017, 03:47 PM   #4
BW-userx
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: MID-SOUTH USA
Distribution: Void Linux / Slackware 14.2
Posts: 4,673

Rep: Reputation: 864Reputation: 864Reputation: 864Reputation: 864Reputation: 864Reputation: 864Reputation: 864
all Linux are capable to have multi desktops
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting Multiple Monitors / Multiple Desktops at System Startup. Kaiji Linux - Desktop 4 08-04-2014 05:18 PM
multiple desktops christel Linux - Newbie 4 05-23-2005 05:25 PM
Multiple Desktops- What you use 'em for? TigerCardeo Mandriva 4 03-06-2004 07:35 AM
multiple desktops oubipaws Linux - Software 3 03-16-2003 03:02 PM
multiple desktops chrismiceli Linux - General 19 03-10-2003 03:17 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Bodhi

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration