LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux Mint
User Name
Password
Linux Mint This forum is for the discussion of Linux Mint.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2018, 02:44 AM   #1
bscho
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: London
Distribution: Mint 19, Fedora 27, NHSbuntu, Ubuntu 15.10
Posts: 456

Rep: Reputation: 11
Talking Linux Mint 19 will not always boot for me on a Lenovo


Linux Mint 19 will not always boot for me on a Lenovo. I have dual boot and when I switch on if I allow it to start up from the menu it hangs on the Mint Icon and the 5 dots do not show any action.

When I boot up and see the boot menu I click enter it works.

On all my other laptops desktops, etc it works OK.

I do not expect a solution, but would be surprised if one is forthcoming.

Thanks everyone for your kind help with my questions.
 
Old 11-15-2018, 02:26 PM   #2
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware, MX 17
Posts: 9,010
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107
Have you tried updating grub?
 
Old 11-15-2018, 03:39 PM   #3
bscho
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: London
Distribution: Mint 19, Fedora 27, NHSbuntu, Ubuntu 15.10
Posts: 456

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 11
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ztcoracat View Post
Have you tried updating grub?
How do I do that please?
 
Old 11-15-2018, 04:01 PM   #4
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware, MX 17
Posts: 9,010
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107
Quote:
Originally Posted by bscho View Post
How do I do that please?
Open your terminal and run this cmd:

Code:
sudo update-grub
That's it.

You mentioned that you are in a dual boot. What's your other os?
 
Old 11-15-2018, 09:08 PM   #5
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 14,290
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903Reputation: 3903
Have you checked the log files to see whether they contain any hints regarding the failed boots?

I believe Mint has rsyslog installed to output SystemD's journalctl logs to more traditional text files in /var/log.
 
Old 11-16-2018, 07:59 AM   #6
bscho
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: London
Distribution: Mint 19, Fedora 27, NHSbuntu, Ubuntu 15.10
Posts: 456

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 11
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ztcoracat View Post
Open your terminal and run this cmd:

Code:
sudo update-grub
That's it.

You mentioned that you are in a dual boot. What's your other os?

Do you think it is safe to do this as I have a lot on this machine and even backup of files is hard as I have no USB large enough to do it in one go.

Windows 10 sorry have some programs there that you cannot get in Mint.

I am running one on another machine like this EaseUS Partitoning Tool which is running an error check on my
new 1 Terrabyte sd card. It has found two errors so far and fixed them.

It now is doing a surface scan which has done 4.8% so far in two hours.
 
Old 11-16-2018, 10:02 PM   #7
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware, MX 17
Posts: 9,010
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107Reputation: 1107
Quote:
Originally Posted by bscho View Post
Do you think it is safe to do this as I have a lot on this machine and even backup of files is hard as I have no USB large enough to do it in one go.

Windows 10 sorry have some programs there that you cannot get in Mint.

I am running one on another machine like this EaseUS Partitoning Tool which is running an error check on my
new 1 Terrabyte sd card. It has found two errors so far and fixed them.

It now is doing a surface scan which has done 4.8% so far in two hours.
Yeah, it's safe to update your distro's bootloader.

Check those log files like frankbell suggested.

If you are still having trouble booting let us know:-
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: How to make Mint Menu always show favorite applications in Linux Mint 15 MATE LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 06-09-2013 02:00 PM
LXer: Get a Lenovo computer cheap - and from Lenovo LXer Syndicated Linux News 1 01-07-2010 09:23 PM
moved harddrive from t61 lenovo to t60 lenovo, now cpu freezes Peter Shepard Ubuntu 3 10-26-2009 07:11 PM
Command ls --color=always, can always be always Kevin Tough Linux - Newbie 1 09-09-2005 12:05 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux Mint

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration