LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Kernel
User Name
Password
Linux - Kernel This forum is for all discussion relating to the Linux kernel.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2024, 06:22 AM   #1
kaz2100
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Penguin land, with apple, no gates
Distribution: SlackWare > Debian testing woody(32) sarge etch lenny squeeze(+64) wheezy .. bullseye bookworm
Posts: 1,832

Rep: Reputation: 108Reputation: 108
after kernal compile, I forgot "make install"


Dear Experts

System, 4 Debian amd64 penguins. testing, slightly differernt configuration.

An idiot (=me) did something silly.

After system upgrade (apt-get update, apt-get dist-upgrade), new kernel (6.6.15) compiled. (make oldconfig; make) without error.
I forgot to "make install" before update-grub

Something starts to go wrong.

One penguin did not reboot, but bios (UEFI ?) screen shows up, and unable to boot Debian image (it shows up in menu, though). The others boot in old kernels. I was able to streighten up three others, but not the one which did not reboot.

With USB sitck (installer image, kernel 5.x era, but it worked), booted into rescue mode, then execute shell. HD is not mounted on /target, as screen reads.

Is there any other way to execute "make install"?

Quite a while ago, I forgot to run "lilo" after "make install". I was able to recover with rescue mode, but if I remember correcct, there was "mount hard disk partition" or something, which I do not find today.

I will appreciate any input.

cheers
 
Old 02-26-2024, 09:08 AM   #2
smallpond
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 4,138

Rep: Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263Reputation: 1263
Don't you still have the old kernel? Hold down shift to get to grub menu and select the last working kernel.
 
Old 02-26-2024, 09:52 AM   #3
pan64
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 21,789

Rep: Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304
compilation (make oldconfig; make) will not change anything in grub or lilo and in the boot sequence.
make install will install the new kernel, but probably you will need make modules_install too, otherwise the new kernel won't be able to find its modules.
Yes, as it was mentioned you need to be able to use advanced menu and boot the previous/old kernel.
 
Old 02-26-2024, 02:06 PM   #4
kaz2100
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Penguin land, with apple, no gates
Distribution: SlackWare > Debian testing woody(32) sarge etch lenny squeeze(+64) wheezy .. bullseye bookworm
Posts: 1,832

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 108Reputation: 108
Thank you for your prompt replies.

Yes, I do have old kernels, but for some reason, this one does not boot, (other three did, so rescued) grub screen does not show up, only bios screen.

Yes, I also forgot make modules_install. I was able to rescue other three easily.

I think that if only HD is mounted, it could be rescued. How?

cheers
 
Old 02-27-2024, 12:19 AM   #5
pan64
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 21,789

Rep: Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304Reputation: 7304
the usual question: do you have a reliable backup?
Sometimes a full reinstall is faster than recovering, but it depends on the actual situation, the content. You have 3 other similar hosts, you may try to use them to restore a few files or probably a partition too. But without details hard to say more. Exactly what went wrong, what's happening....
 
Old 02-27-2024, 01:39 AM   #6
kaz2100
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Penguin land, with apple, no gates
Distribution: SlackWare > Debian testing woody(32) sarge etch lenny squeeze(+64) wheezy .. bullseye bookworm
Posts: 1,832

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 108Reputation: 108
Yes, I do. I have full data backup, triplicate.

No, I do not. Several config files and setting files are not. (node dependent ones.) Dead one is a front end, so history... It should not be difficult to rebuild, but rescue mode would be nicer.

As currently I have no access to logs, I will take disk drive out and see what happened.
 
  


Reply

Tags
debian, grub, rescue mode, update


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Java Problem Please"""""""""""" suemcholan Linux - Newbie 1 04-02-2008 06:02 PM
kernal panic after update redhat enterprice 4 from kernal(2.6.9-5) to kernal(2.6.9-42 TAREK-SALAMA Linux - Enterprise 3 09-10-2006 09:07 AM
Kernal modules on a Newly Compiled Kernal sethgeekx86 Slackware 4 05-03-2004 11:08 PM
How do you configure the kernal, overwriting the old version of the same kernal? sabaka Linux - Newbie 13 10-04-2003 10:00 AM
Help! Configuring Kernal failed, GRUB can't boot new kernal, help! sabaka Linux - Newbie 4 09-16-2003 09:12 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Kernel

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration