LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2019, 09:54 AM   #1
bradvan
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 319

Rep: Reputation: 59
ilo virtual iso image is seen by the os, but no block device is created


I have some DL380 G9s running CentOS 7.4. Networking is not up due to a recent switch OS upgrade. I need to update the firmware on the NICs. I have the firmware files in an iso image that I have mounted to the iLO console. I can see that the system recognizes it from dmesg:
Code:
usb 4-1: new high-speed USB device number 2 using xhci_hcd
usb 4-1: New USB device found, idVendor-03f0, idProduct=2027
usb 4-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 4-1: Product: iLO Virtual USB CD/DVD ROM
usb 4-1: Manufacturer: HPE
but there is no device created for it. I looked under /dev/disk/by-id, but found nothing starting with usb. Anyone have a clue what package I might be missing?
 
Old 05-23-2019, 10:08 AM   #2
dc.901
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Location: Atlanta, GA - USA
Distribution: CentOS 6-7; SuSE 8-12
Posts: 447

Rep: Reputation: 118Reputation: 118
This is rather old thread; not sure if you saw this?
https://community.hpe.com/t5/General...x/td-p/3284053
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-23-2019, 10:20 AM   #3
bradvan
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 59
Yes, I saw that. I do have usb_storage and sr_mod loaded. The other two aren't. Not sure if they are relevant to vs 7 or not? Also, not sure how to get them on the system? Thanks!
 
Old 05-23-2019, 10:58 AM   #4
sgrlscz
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 108

Rep: Reputation: 78
It's been awhile since I've used an iLO, but I seem to recall ISOs appear as CD/DVD devices. So, I would try mounting the cdrom device(s).
 
Old 05-24-2019, 06:50 AM   #5
bradvan
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 59
No, that is the problem. There are no devices. I found out late yesterday that the guys at the remote site have a USB thumb drive. I'm sending them the firmware update rpms. They can put on the thumb drive and then plug in to each server and copy to the file system. I'll then be able to install through the iLO console.

Thanks!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ILO: Using Virtual Media with the Command-Line Interface command not working on ILO3 LittleMaster Linux - Server 0 10-31-2017 11:44 AM
Formating FAT32, but linux created FAT32 is not like win created FAT32?? Difference? boki15 Linux - Newbie 19 07-21-2010 04:41 AM
HELP - HPUX virtual mount dvd through ILO boyd98 Other *NIX 1 02-17-2009 03:19 PM
Fibre Tape drives seen, but /dev/st* not being created @ boot (RHEL AS4) guyvert1 Linux - Hardware 1 07-15-2008 12:41 PM
Does anyone Know how to open either .iso.rz or these .iso.xdelta,.iso.bz2,.iso.lzma?? maximalred Debian 5 06-09-2004 06:15 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration