LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2018, 08:01 AM   #16
RadicalDreamer
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware64-Current
Posts: 887

Rep: Reputation: 408Reputation: 408Reputation: 408Reputation: 408Reputation: 408

I don't use DRM video but there is this:
"Your Widevine Chrome plugin may need an update. Check for Widevine CDM Updates by typing chrome://components into the Chrome browser address bar, and then pressing Enter. Click Check for update under the "Widevine Content Decryption Module" item, restart the browser, and then try playing again."
https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custo...FE441CEAAAD009

If you care going to build vlc maybe build ffmpeg too!
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-13-2018, 09:07 AM   #17
ruario
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 2,352

Rep: Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394
F.Y.I. Chromium 68 will not work with Widevine 1.4.8.1008. It requires something newer. Sadly https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/current.txt lists this as the latest version, even though it is not. However, you can get version 4.10.1146.0 here:

https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/4...-linux-x64.zip
https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/4...linux-ia32.zip

Then use it with Alien Bob's chromium-widevine-plugin.SlackBuild.

In Vivaldi, we setup a symlink to use Chrome's copy of Widevine (assuming it is installed), since they bundle a copy of 4.10.1146.0. Since we are currently not on Chromium 68, this does not work right now. So if you are using Vivaldi stable, fetch ones of these and install them manually (as root).

https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/1...-linux-x64.zip
https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/1...linux-ia32.zip

Code:
install -Dm644 libwidevinecdm.so /opt/vivaldi/libwidevinecdm.so

Last edited by ruario; 08-13-2018 at 09:23 AM. Reason: Linked to the dev version of the slackbuild before. Now corrected
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-13-2018, 10:16 AM   #18
Lysander666
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Location: London
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 + Xfce
Posts: 787
Blog Entries: 1

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676
RadicalDreamer - looks like you are right, then.

ruario - very good post, thank you. This gives me two options, updating Widewine on Chromium or maybe trying out Vivaldi. Will report back.

Last edited by Lysander666; 08-13-2018 at 10:51 AM.
 
Old 08-13-2018, 02:04 PM   #19
Lysander666
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Location: London
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 + Xfce
Posts: 787
Blog Entries: 1

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruario View Post
In Vivaldi, we setup a symlink to use Chrome's copy of Widevine (assuming it is installed), since they bundle a copy of 4.10.1146.0. Since we are currently not on Chromium 68, this does not work right now. So if you are using Vivaldi stable, fetch ones of these and install them manually (as root).

https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/1...-linux-x64.zip
https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/1...linux-ia32.zip

Code:
install -Dm644 libwidevinecdm.so /opt/vivaldi/libwidevinecdm.so
You are a genius! I installed Vivaldi and the Widevine plugin as you recommended and now Amazon Video works! I am amazed. Not only that, but Vivaldi is looking very good these days. When I first tried it, it was before version 1.0. I liked it a lot, but not enough to make it my default.

This version though, 1.15, looks excellent, very smooth and modern, moreso than Chromium. I used Opera for years, from 2004 to 2017, and changed to Chromium because Opera just didn't work well enough for me in Linux and I didn't like the way they were bundling Facebook and Whatsapp apps in with the browser. I really like how Vivaldi has come on and I'll give it another test spin. I would love to move back to something with Opera roots.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-14-2018, 03:10 AM   #20
ruario
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 2,352

Rep: Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394Reputation: 1394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lysander666 View Post
You are a genius!
I am pretty sure I am not! It is more that I have spent a lot of time playing with and testing browsers so I have a good overview of these things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lysander666 View Post
I installed Vivaldi and the Widevine plugin as you recommended and now Amazon Video works! I am amazed. Not only that, but Vivaldi is looking very good these days.

[…SNIP…]

This version though, 1.15, looks excellent, very smooth and modern
Thanks, I apppreciate your kind words.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lysander666 View Post
I would love to move back to something with Opera roots.
To be clear we don't rshare any code with the old Opera, though our development team does have a lot of ex-Opera staff. So you will see a lot of the same ideas (or extensions of them) implemented.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-14-2018, 06:30 PM   #21
Lysander666
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Location: London
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 + Xfce
Posts: 787
Blog Entries: 1

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676Reputation: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruario View Post
So you will see a lot of the same ideas (or extensions of them) implemented.
The Opera team [or ex in this case] have had some excellent ideas. If I remember correctly, tabbing was an Opera innovation. Additionally, one of the simplest things that I saw nowhere else for a while but Opera was "paste and go": so simple but so useful, and then it bled through to other browsers.

I see a lot of very interesting and attractive features with Vivaldi, particularly the flexibility with accent colours and the immense amount of customisation [transparent tabs!]. The only thing I've had to root around for myself is changing the tab icon in /opt/vivaldi/resources/vivaldi/resources/icon_16.png - which I changed to a mono colour scheme to go with my desktop look. It would be good to have that option included in the customisation at some point. Overall thought, very impressive browser, I'm really enjoying the experience.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2018-08-14_23-34-28.png
Views:	21
Size:	195.9 KB
ID:	28400  

Last edited by Lysander666; 08-14-2018 at 06:41 PM.
 
Old 08-15-2018, 04:27 PM   #22
Alien Bob
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,287

Rep: Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435Reputation: 5435
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruario View Post
F.Y.I. Chromium 68 will not work with Widevine 1.4.8.1008. It requires something newer. Sadly https://dl.google.com/widevine-cdm/current.txt lists this as the latest version, even though it is not.
That is not correct actually. The URL resolves to version "1.4.9.1088" which does work with Chromium 68. I use this library in my own chromium-widevine-plugin package and successfully use it with Chromium 68 to watch Netflix.
 
Old 08-15-2018, 05:30 PM   #23
Drakeo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: Urbana IL
Distribution: Slackware, Slacko,
Posts: 3,529
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 440Reputation: 440Reputation: 440Reputation: 440Reputation: 440
Bob there is different ways to drop the DRM and Netflix is pure HTML5. and the others may still use flashplayer to handshake the DRM. "Comcast" and some may actually need the build the official build of FF. and seems FF may have the DRM set to yes at default.
But that does not sound like FF. have the CGI set to look at the agent and not drop at all. Amazon may have it set to official build. For many reasons. Could be wrong but been down this road. Netflix is free thanks to the Windows and Mac users.
That is food for thought.

Last edited by Drakeo; 08-15-2018 at 05:33 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: 3 security videos from DevConf.cz 2018 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-14-2018 10:42 AM
LXer: 3 Ansible videos from DevConf.cz 2018 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-05-2018 03:34 AM
LXer: 3 Fedora videos from DevConf.cz 2018 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-14-2018 10:23 AM
LXer: Commercials for Amazon’s crappy phone in Amazon Prime videos? LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 12-09-2014 01:31 AM
LXer: Microsoft and Seinfeld: A Comedy of Errors? LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-25-2008 12:50 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration