LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Solaris / OpenSolaris
User Name
Password
Solaris / OpenSolaris This forum is for the discussion of Solaris, OpenSolaris, OpenIndiana, and illumos.
General Sun, SunOS and Sparc related questions also go here. Any Solaris fork or distribution is welcome.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2017, 10:18 PM   #1
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Has anyone gotten Solaris 11.3 to run natively (no VM) on a Mac?


I doubt anyone here has tried, but I can't seem to do it. It's weird, since my Mac will boot into Windows and Linux natively but it seems to always hang somewhere when trying to run Solaris.
 
Old 04-29-2017, 07:49 AM   #2
notKlaatu
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2010
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Distribution: Slackware, Fedora
Posts: 1,024

Rep: Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665
What Mac, specifically, and what is the error?

Regardless of the answer, I don't think any Apple systems are Solaris certified.

http://www.oracle.com/webfolder/tech...1ga/index.html
 
Old 04-29-2017, 09:01 AM   #3
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by notKlaatu View Post
What Mac, specifically, and what is the error?

Regardless of the answer, I don't think any Apple systems are Solaris certified.

http://www.oracle.com/webfolder/tech...1ga/index.html
I don't really get an error message, but it either doesn't recognize the burned CD image as a bootable volume, or if it does, it just ends up hanging at some point.

I have a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013). but the internal screen is broken and I'm just using it as a desktop right now -- that might be part of the problem. I bought a replacement screen, they're pretty easy to replace (I've done it before), but I just haven't gotten around to it yet.
 
Old 04-30-2017, 04:41 AM   #4
jlliagre
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Outside Paris
Distribution: Solaris 11.3, Oracle Linux, Mint
Posts: 9,716

Rep: Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserbeak View Post
I don't really get an error message, but it either doesn't recognize the burned CD image as a bootable volume, or if it does, it just ends up hanging at some point.
You might want to boot Solaris with the verbose and kernel debugger enabled:

Edit the "boot" command line in GRUB and add the "-kv -m verbose" options
 
Old 04-30-2017, 10:56 AM   #5
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlliagre View Post
You might want to boot Solaris with the verbose and kernel debugger enabled:

Edit the "boot" command line in GRUB and add the "-kv -m verbose" options
I'll try that, but I think the GRUB EFI booter on the CD is not Mac-compatible. So, I'm thinking of trying to build my own install disk with an EFI boot loader that is compatible with Mac (likely just another form of GRUB).
 
Old 05-03-2017, 02:54 AM   #6
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
I dragged out my old big aluminum Mac Pro and tried to put it back together. I had it very customized, then my RAID card died and left the computer totally screwed up inside with cables not connected in the factory state.

Anyway, I got it to boot the Solaris install disk, but then it immediately said "No suitable nodes found." and hung.

Does anyone know what that means?

Thanks!
 
Old 05-03-2017, 03:13 PM   #7
jlliagre
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Outside Paris
Distribution: Solaris 11.3, Oracle Linux, Mint
Posts: 9,716

Rep: Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422
That means the kernel is unable to identify the required hardware for the boot sequence to complete. The hardware is represented as a hierarchical tree with node associated with a driver. See https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E19455-01...ml#kernelovr-8

Either something is missing or the hardware is not recognized/supported.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-04-2017, 08:22 AM   #8
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlliagre View Post
Either something is missing or the hardware is not recognized/supported.
Thanks, that's pretty much what I figured, but a node for what. It showed that error immediately after loading from the DVD, so would it be looking for a hard drive that quickly? Or is it something else? Would maybe attaching a USB hard drive help? It can obviously read the USB DVD/Blu-Ray drive.
 
Old 05-04-2017, 03:25 PM   #9
jlliagre
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Outside Paris
Distribution: Solaris 11.3, Oracle Linux, Mint
Posts: 9,716

Rep: Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserbeak View Post
It can obviously read the USB DVD/Blu-Ray drive.
That's actually not that obvious. The fact the bootloader (GRUB) is able to read the USB drive doesn't mean the Solaris kernel can do it too. They are unrelated programs.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-18-2017, 02:00 PM   #10
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
I've gone NATIVE!!!

I'm running Solaris 11.3 now on a Mac Pro 3,1 (Early 2008). I have to boot with the BIOS emulator not native EFI, but it's still far better than running in a VM. It's like I have my Sun back (it got destroyed in an unfortunate drink spill), but this is much more powerful anyway.
 
Old 05-18-2017, 04:54 PM   #11
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
This is weird, I'm running Firefox on a Mac Pro running Solaris but with the Windows redirected to my MacBook Pro running MacOS with Quartz X!

Last edited by Laserbeak; 05-18-2017 at 04:58 PM.
 
Old 05-18-2017, 04:57 PM   #12
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
So now i'm just posting from Safari running natively on my MacBook Pro...
 
Old 05-18-2017, 04:59 PM   #13
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Tomorrow comes ORACLE!
 
Old 05-24-2017, 11:43 AM   #14
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
I hit a bit of a bump, I have start up from the DVD then tell GRUB to boot from the hard drive whenever I power off or switch back into booting Mac OS. Not a big deal, but if anyone has a solution, I'd be grateful...
 
Old 07-15-2017, 08:45 PM   #15
Laserbeak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: Manhattan, NYC NY
Distribution: Mac OS X, iOS, Solaris
Posts: 508

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Since a lot of people are discussing Grub, I thought I'd give this a bit of a bump

My problem is that I have Solaris 11.3 installed fine on my Mac Pro version 3,1 but in order to boot it into Solaris, I have to boot from the Solaris Text DVD install disc, then choose boot from hard drive from the Grub menu I get, then (after a while) get another Grub menu to choose what I want to really boot. It's not that much of a problem since Solaris doesn't have to be rebooted often, but it'd be nice to have it boot just from the hard drive directly.

Last edited by Laserbeak; 07-15-2017 at 08:47 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Q. Can your Linux PC run Crysis? OK, it can. But will it run natively? A. Soon, very soon LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-12-2014 12:01 AM
Is there a way to run DOS programs natively on Linux? earlfox Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 4 07-10-2012 03:04 PM
Laptops that run Linux Natively rorymacneill09 Linux - Laptop and Netbook 4 04-15-2007 12:25 PM
Can linux natively run software that uses drm yet? mikepj Linux - General 1 04-01-2007 12:09 PM
Run Games from Windows or natively? mickboda Linux - Games 6 05-16-2005 01:10 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Solaris / OpenSolaris

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration