LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2021, 12:35 PM   #1
hitest
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD, Debian
Posts: 6,743

Rep: Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974
K3b isn't working properly


I am curious. Will Debian 11 fix k3b? K3b doesn't work properly in Debian 10. I have done a preliminary search and this seems to be a known issue.
 
Old 06-30-2021, 02:43 PM   #2
mrapathy
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 260

Rep: Reputation: 53
k3b works for me in 10. did you run k3b setup as root?

Last edited by mrapathy; 06-30-2021 at 08:38 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-30-2021, 07:50 PM   #3
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 17,660
Blog Entries: 28

Rep: Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499Reputation: 5499
Quote:
K3b doesn't work properly in Debian 10
Just out of curiosity, what was going wrong with it.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-01-2021, 11:23 AM   #4
hitest
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD, Debian
Posts: 6,743

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankbell View Post
Just out of curiosity, what was going wrong with it.
I ran k3b setup as root. Trying to burn a DVD results in an error, burning failed. Thanks mates! I'll install Brasero and see how that goes.
 
Old 07-01-2021, 11:41 AM   #5
boughtonp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,629

Rep: Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330Reputation: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitest View Post
Will Debian 11 fix k3b?
Your question translates to: Does the Debian issue tracker have an issue raised against [the version of k3b in] Debian 10 and flagged as fixed in Debian 11?

Quote:
I have done a preliminary search and this seems to be a known issue.
Great, so if it's not obvious from the issue tracker itself, go to the k3b package page for Bullseye, select "Debian Changelog" and search for the ID of that known issue to see if the fix has been applied yet.

 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-01-2021, 02:17 PM   #6
hitest
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD, Debian
Posts: 6,743

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974Reputation: 2974
Quote:
Originally Posted by boughtonp View Post
Your question translates to: Does the Debian issue tracker have an issue raised against [the version of k3b in] Debian 10 and flagged as fixed in Debian 11?


Great, so if it's not obvious from the issue tracker itself, go to the k3b package page for Bullseye, select "Debian Changelog" and search for the ID of that known issue to see if the fix has been applied yet.
Thank you for the feedback! I installed brasero and it just works so I know it's not a hardware burner issue.
I'll go check the changelog now.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Spotify on wine isn't working properly!?!? rohedin Linux - Software 3 06-07-2010 11:05 AM
apt-get isn't working properly mouse_x Debian 2 08-10-2007 08:38 AM
AGP S-Video out isn't working properly iamg Linux - Hardware 0 04-29-2006 02:23 PM
Mandrake Update isn't working properly statist Mandriva 0 03-14-2004 12:45 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration