LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2018, 09:18 PM   #1
psitae
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2016
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Unable to reboot after trying to install KVM


Hi.

I'm running Ubuntu 17. Here is the output to uname -a. Linux hellodolly 4.13.0-36-generic #40-Ubuntu SMP Feb 16 20:07:48 UTC 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

I decided to switch to KVM from VirtualBox. So I first searched dpkg -l for Virtualbox* and purged it. After that, the package manager said I still had some unnecessary files and encouraged me to autoremove them, which I did. The programs were: virtualbox-dkms, dkms, libvnc server, and libgsoap-2.8.49

After that I rebooted and during the part of the boot where there are green [OK] notices, there was a [Failed] notice which said "Failed to start AppArmor initialization. See 'systemctl status apparmor.service' for details. Also, the screen flashed several times and then froze. If I didn't wait too long, Ctl-Alt-Delete would work, but if I wanted longer, the only way to get out of the situation was to push the power button.

I can still execute some commands from recovery mode. So, the relevant parts of that command's output is as follows:

Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/apparmor.service; enabled; vendor preset:
Active: inactive (dead)
...

At first I tried removing the apparmor file from /etc/init.d. That changed the nature of the boot, but in the end the same flashing and then freeze happened (maybe there was a different number of flashes).

Can anyone tell me the cause of this and how to get my system to boot again?

Thanks

Last edited by psitae; 03-12-2018 at 09:27 PM. Reason: added more information about system
 
Old 03-13-2018, 04:38 PM   #2
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,229

Rep: Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724
Can you load prior kernel on boot?
 
Old 03-13-2018, 05:05 PM   #3
psitae
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2016
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi Jefro.

Please clarify what it means to load prior kernel on boot.
 
Old 03-14-2018, 12:29 PM   #4
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,229

Rep: Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724
Did you change the kernel for the KVM install? Usually distro's keep various prior kernels available and you can sometimes catch it at boot or select it in grub.
 
Old 03-14-2018, 11:10 PM   #5
psitae
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2016
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
No I didn't change the kernel. I'm not even sure that the KVM was the cause of the problem, it's just the last thing I did before I rebooted.

I accessed the recovery mode through, the grub menu. There I saw other options.

Do you know how I would try to debug this problem with AppArmor?
 
Old 03-16-2018, 03:36 PM   #6
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,229

Rep: Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724Reputation: 2724
I'm not overly confident that that is the problem but you can chase it down. Consider looking at all logs too in /var for clues.

See this maybe should work. https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AppArmor
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QEMU / KVM : Spice Console unable to connect to VM in KVM fanoflq Linux - Newbie 8 03-23-2018 02:12 AM
unable to kickstart install using ftp on a kvm client. basheer CentOS 2 12-23-2014 08:24 AM
Unable to install three packages related to KVM in 14.1 funboy Slackware 1 11-16-2013 07:22 AM
unable to install rhel6/centos6 in GUI mode in KVM Gil@LQ Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 5 12-01-2011 05:22 AM
Unable to reboot SUSE 9.2 after successful install malcolm_l7 Linux - Laptop and Netbook 2 03-14-2005 08:06 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration