LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2020, 09:14 AM   #1
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware FreeBSD Win10 MX
Posts: 9,642

Rep: Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084
update-grub: os-prober gone bonkers


my update-grub is just a wrapper to the command (fyi)

I did some re provisioning of the partitions and update the fstab in Slack and FreeBSD . Windows did an update without asking because windows is arrogant like that( i have not taken time to reset that setting, so it won't), rebooted windows and lost grub, it went to grub rescue, I booted a live slack reinstalled grub via chroot, because I never took the time to master the grub rescue prompt.

keep last boot was not working. so I just did the update-grub after checking the default/grub file, and it is now hanging . I ctl C on that and got this.

Code:
$ update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background: /boot/grub/images/slackware-wp-800x450.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-huge-5.4.8
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-huge
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-generic-5.4.8
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
^C
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ /usr/bin/os-prober: line 124: /tmp/os-prober.qfqOBN/mounted-map: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/os-prober: line 125: /tmp/os-prober.qfqOBN/swaps-map: No such file or directory
^C
what is swaps-map I have no swap on Slack I do not know what is going on with this. I also don't know if I am stuck in here, is I reboot will I get back in to an OS? Though it does look like I still have a clean grub.cfg

Last edited by BW-userx; 01-09-2020 at 09:20 AM.
 
Old 01-09-2020, 09:38 AM   #2
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 11,028

Rep: Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251
Quote:
because I never took the time to master
Don't EVER tell linux heads you never took the time; it doesn't help you. You need patience. Mind you, I can't claim to have mastered grub-rescue either. If I was scoring it in an exam, I'd fail it.

Set up /boot/grub/grub.cfg to your liking with an editor. You'll need root. Then run
Code:
grub-install /dev/sdX
where /dev/sdX is the device you want to install grub to, usually /dev/sda.
 
Old 01-09-2020, 09:46 AM   #3
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware FreeBSD Win10 MX
Posts: 9,642

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084
Quote:
Originally Posted by business_kid View Post
Don't EVER tell linux heads you never took the time; it doesn't help you. You need patience. Mind you, I can't claim to have mastered grub-rescue either. If I was scoring it in an exam, I'd fail it.

Set up /boot/grub/grub.cfg to your liking with an editor. You'll need root. Then run
Code:
grub-install /dev/sdX
where /dev/sdX is the device you want to install grub to, usually /dev/sda.
( that was to tey and circumvent the question, why did you reinstall grub via chroot, why no use he resuce prompt?
it's efi .. I ran the https://docs.slackware.com/howtos:sl...based_hardware

Code:
#mount /dev/sdc1 -t vfat /boot/efi (where sdc1 is your USB stick)
#modprobe dm-mod
#grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi --recheck --debug
removing the --bootloader-id=grub so it gives me
Code:
$ ls /boot/efi/EFI
Boot  Microsoft  Slackware  slackware-14.2+
that bold one instead, whereas the one without the 14.2+ is efililo. but yeah let me reinstall grub again. like without the efi stuff. I can't hurt it, really.

Code:
$ lsblk
NAME         MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda            8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk 
└─sda2         8:2    0 465.8G  0 part /media/data
nvme0n1      259:0    0 953.9G  0 disk 
├─nvme0n1p1  259:1    0   529M  0 part 
├─nvme0n1p2  259:2    0   100M  0 part /boot/efi
├─nvme0n1p3  259:3    0    16M  0 part 
├─nvme0n1p4  259:4    0 180.9G  0 part /media/win10
├─nvme0n1p5  259:5    0   200M  0 part 
├─nvme0n1p6  259:6    0  96.8G  0 part 
├─nvme0n1p7  259:7    0   3.7G  0 part 
├─nvme0n1p8  259:8    0  25.5G  0 part /
├─nvme0n1p9  259:9    0 100.8G  0 part /home
├─nvme0n1p10 259:10   0 340.3G  0 part /media/stores
└─nvme0n1p11 259:11   0   205G  0 part /media/ntfs
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ sudo grub-install /dev/nvme0n1
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
Installation finished. No error reported.
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background: /boot/grub/images/slackware-wp-800x450.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-huge-5.4.8
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-huge
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-generic-5.4.8
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
^C
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ /usr/bin/os-prober: line 124: /tmp/os-prober.UpxaX8/mounted-map: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/os-prober: line 125: /tmp/os-prober.UpxaX8/swaps-map: No such file or directory
^C
still hanging. let me try updating slack just to shoot in the dark.

NOpe even removed that /tmp/os-prober.xxx and ran it again.
Code:
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ sudo rm -rv /tmp/os-prober.emreBn
removed '/tmp/os-prober.emreBn/dmraid-map'
removed directory '/tmp/os-prober.emreBn'
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background: /boot/grub/images/slackware-wp-800x450.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-huge-5.4.8
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-huge
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-generic-5.4.8
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.gz
^C
userx@slacky.yo.org:~
$ /usr/bin/os-prober: line 124: /tmp/os-prober.mkmDxv/mounted-map: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/os-prober: line 125: /tmp/os-prober.mkmDxv/swaps-map: No such file or directory
^C

Last edited by BW-userx; 01-09-2020 at 10:03 AM.
 
Old 01-09-2020, 11:11 AM   #4
phalange
Member
 
Registered: May 2018
Distribution: Slackware, Nixos, Arch, Centos
Posts: 221

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You can disable os-prober in /etc/default/grub with GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true, then you can at least see if you can boot a working Slack system.

I don't understand what you're saying about bootloader-id, that can be anything you like and calling it the system name I find more helpful than calling it grub. Use quotes if you have spaces (e.g. "Slackware 14.2")

You can also examine the current efi bootloaders with efibootmgr (as root) which will sometimes help find strays or leftovers that can be removed. You can also set the boot sequence.

How long is the hang before you hit ctl-c? I've encountered situations where I had to wait minutes for it to complete. I'm not saying it's normal, just that it's possible.

Last edited by phalange; 01-09-2020 at 11:12 AM.
 
Old 01-09-2020, 11:43 AM   #5
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware FreeBSD Win10 MX
Posts: 9,642

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084
Quote:
Originally Posted by phalange View Post
You can disable os-prober in /etc/default/grub with GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true, then you can at least see if you can boot a working Slack system.
don't make no sense it worked after I reinstalled grub, then now it don't. strange ....

Quote:
I don't understand what you're saying about bootloader-id, that can be anything you like and calling it the system name I find more helpful than calling it grub. Use quotes if you have spaces (e.g. "Slackware 14.2")

You can also examine the current efi bootloaders with efibootmgr (as root) which will sometimes help find strays or leftovers that can be removed. You can also set the boot sequence.

How long is the hang before you hit ctl-c? I've encountered situations where I had to wait minutes for it to complete. I'm not saying it's normal, just that it's possible.
yeah I just let it default to that name. and lucky with this HP laptop it finally allows efibootmgr to work.

it hangs for an unacceptable amount of time. You know, "the when you allow something to just hang until you get tired of seeing it doing that so you cancel it length of time" that is how long.

Last edited by BW-userx; 01-09-2020 at 11:44 AM.
 
Old 01-10-2020, 05:17 AM   #6
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 11,028

Rep: Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251Reputation: 1251
Quote:
( that was to tey and circumvent the question, why did you reinstall grub via chroot, why no use he resuce prompt?
Because grub-rescue is a poor parforming and major PITA, in my considered opinion. I always use the 'E' control on startup, or a live dvd or usb to sort myself out.
 
Old 01-10-2020, 08:06 AM   #7
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware FreeBSD Win10 MX
Posts: 9,642

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084Reputation: 2084
that is why I went straight to my live usb stick and chroot reinstall grub. it is more straight forward and faster, to me anyways.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] os-prober when running update-grub is craping 0ut BW-userx Slackware 3 12-11-2019 08:52 AM
Problems with os-prober grub 2 arch linux windows 10 dual boot ihavemanhands Arch 5 11-24-2015 10:09 PM
[SOLVED] virtuoso-t gone bonkers rdx Linux - Software 1 11-15-2015 08:05 AM
Grub 2 / os-prober detection issues with multiple OS-installs Alpha90 Linux - Software 1 11-28-2014 11:56 AM
Infinite Grub Loop: GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB... beeblequix MEPIS 2 11-02-2013 11:56 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration