LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2018, 11:36 PM   #1
USUARIONUEVO
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2015
Posts: 929

Rep: Reputation: 290Reputation: 290Reputation: 290
Its possible install AMD Rocm in slackware ?


This is a simply question , its possible ?

https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/ROCm

Thanks !
 
Old 09-15-2018, 03:32 PM   #2
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 9,256

Rep: Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972
I presume it's windoze code, but there's source code. AMD thinks of these things.

Now, after you compile it (and I presume it's standard Ansi C code) you can tell us, can't you? I guess the source code is for MacOS & Linux. If you can't compile it, you can amuse us all by telling us what unhelpful errors it threw at you; and when we stop laughing, we'll make suggestions :-).
 
Old 09-15-2018, 11:11 PM   #3
linuxtinker
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Location: NJ / USA
Distribution: Slackware 64 -Current
Posts: 199

Rep: Reputation: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by business_kid View Post
I presume it's windoze code, but there's source code. AMD thinks of these things.

Now, after you compile it (and I presume it's standard Ansi C code) you can tell us, can't you? I guess the source code is for MacOS & Linux. If you can't compile it, you can amuse us all by telling us what unhelpful errors it threw at you; and when we stop laughing, we'll make suggestions :-).



Did you even look at the link before you posted your babble?


taken for the readme file:

 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-16-2018, 08:28 AM   #4
bassplayer69
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river...
Distribution: Slackware64-Current
Posts: 219

Rep: Reputation: 49
@linuxtinker,

Quote:
Ubuntu Support - Installing from a Debian repository
perhaps you can repackage the .deb package and try to installing it? That's after installing any dependencies it first requires.
 
Old 09-16-2018, 03:34 PM   #5
USUARIONUEVO
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2015
Posts: 929

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 290Reputation: 290Reputation: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassplayer69 View Post
@linuxtinker,



perhaps you can repackage the .deb package and try to installing it? That's after installing any dependencies it first requires.
I try one time, but no lucky , its go to /opt/Rocm , and probably needs some ld.so.conf line or something to say the system where are the libraries.
 
Old 09-17-2018, 05:34 AM   #6
bassplayer69
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river...
Distribution: Slackware64-Current
Posts: 219

Rep: Reputation: 49
I took a quick look at the repository and do all of the packages in the main pool have to be installed or is there just one main package?

Code:
Index of /rocm/apt/debian/pool/main/
../
a/                                                 14-Sep-2018 21:49                   -
c/                                                 14-Sep-2018 21:49                   -
h/                                                 14-Sep-2018 21:49                   -
m/                                                 14-Sep-2018 21:49                   -
r/                                                 14-Sep-2018 21:50                   -
There are a lot of .deb packages in those subdirectories.
 
Old 09-17-2018, 08:01 AM   #7
Nille_kungen
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 463

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
I haven't tried it but you need to new 1.9 of rocm.
ROCm 1.9 is ABI compatible with KFD in upstream Linux kernels 4.17+, Upstream Linux kernels support the following GPUs in these releases: 4.17: Fiji, Polaris 10, Polaris 11 4.18: Fiji, Polaris 10, Polaris 11, Vega10
That means you need an 4.17+ kernel for compatibility with upstream AMDKFD preferably 4.18+.
There was patches for AMDKFD for the linux kernel but it didn't end up in 4.19 so it will hopefully be in the kernel after that.
https://lists.freedesktop.org/archiv...st/025719.html

Code:
ROCm 1.9 is ABI compatible with KFD in upstream Linux kernels.

Upstream Linux kernels support the following GPUs in these releases: 4.17: Fiji, Polaris 10, Polaris 11 4.18: Fiji, Polaris 10, Polaris 11, Vega10

Some ROCm features are not available in the upstream KFD:

    More system memory available to ROCm applications
    Interoperability between graphics and compute
    RDMA
    IPC

To try ROCm with an upstream kernel, install ROCm as normal, but do not install the rock-dkms package. Also add a udev rule to control /dev/kfd permissions:

echo 'SUBSYSTEM=="kfd", KERNEL=="kfd", TAG+="uaccess", GROUP="video"' | sudo tee /etc/udev/rules.d/70-kfd.rule
I do think it's possible to install rocm in slackware but it haven't tried it.

Last edited by Nille_kungen; 09-17-2018 at 08:03 AM.
 
Old 09-18-2018, 03:21 PM   #8
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 5,296

Rep: Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043
Looking at the AUR PKGBUILD for rocm, it looks like you could install it and its two dependencies using quite the slew of commands:

Code:
# Compile hsakmt-roct (dependency)
git clone https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/ROCT-Thunk-Interface.git
cd ROCT-Thunk-Interface
git checkout rock-1.9.x
mkdir -p build
cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/opt/rocm ..
make
make install
ln -s /opt/rocm/libhsakmt/include/libhsakmt /usr/include
echo "/opt/rocm/libhsakmt/lib" >> /etc/ld.so.conf
find `pwd` -name "*.pc" -exec install -D '{}' /opt/rocm/libhsakmt ';'
cd ../include
find . -name '*.h' -exec install -D '{}' /opt/rocm/libhsakmt/include/libhsakmt/{} ';'

# Compile hsa-rocr (dependency)
cd
git clone https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/ROCR-Runtime
cd ROCR-Runtime
git checkout roc-1.9.x
git remote add build-fix https://github.com/oleid/ROCR-Runtime.git
git fetch build-fix
git cherry-pick b68be8f5101f00b583797781606bf906de973fff
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/opt/rocm -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/opt/rocm/libhsakmt ../src && \
make
make install
ln -s /opt/rocm/hsa/include/hsa /usr/include
echo "/opt/rocm/hsa/lib" >> /etc/ld.so.conf

# Compile ROCM
curl https://storage.googleapis.com/git-repo-downloads/repo > ~/bin/repo
chmod a+x ~/bin/repo
~/bin/repo init -u https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/ROCm-OpenCL-Runtime.git -b master -m opencl.xml
~/bin/repo sync
cd opencl
mkdir build && cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/opt/rocm/opencl ..
make
su
make install
mkdir /etc/OpenCL/vendors
echo "/opt/rocm/opencl/lib/libamdocl64.so" > /etc/OpenCL/vendors/rocm-opencl64.icd
I haven't tested any of this, so use at your own risk. These could also be adjusted to build a Slackware package, but I didn't take the time to do that.

EDIT: The dependencies were set to use the 1.8.x branch and the ROCM is set to use master. All were last updated in the AUR in June and I see they have 1.9.x branches out now, so the commands might need some tweaking if they need the newer branch.

EDIT2: Based on Nille_kungen's post below, I've updated the checkout commands to get 1.9.x

Last edited by bassmadrigal; 09-20-2018 at 09:52 AM. Reason: Update to 1.9.x based on Nille_kungen's post
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-20-2018, 05:22 AM   #9
Nille_kungen
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 463

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
The 1.8 was never meant to be run on anything else then the distribution it was released for RHEL/CENTOS.
One of the biggest news with the 1.9 release is that it isn't as distro centric as the 1.8.
It was possible to get rocm 1.8 running on various distribution by patching in the missing parts for kernel drm and so on but i think there was things that wasn't working.
Anyone trying to run rocm should look at 1.9 och leave the older 1.8 to history, to bad i don't have any supported hardware else i would try it out myself.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-20-2018, 09:53 AM   #10
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 5,296

Rep: Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043Reputation: 3043
Thanks for the heads up. I've updated the commands to checkout the 1.9.x branches.
 
Old 09-22-2018, 03:02 PM   #11
USUARIONUEVO
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2015
Posts: 929

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 290Reputation: 290Reputation: 290
Hi , thanks bassmadrigal for commands , i need change little line , because directory changes ..


I change this
Quote:
echo "/opt/rocm/libhsakmt/lib" >> /etc/ld.so.conf
to:
Quote:
echo "/opt/rocm/lib64/" >> /etc/ld.so.conf
directory changes , and suffix "64" , in the lib folder.

Thanks one more time, at least build fine , tomorrow i go to test the package.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slackware 14.2 AMD Catalyst 15.9 will not install mpyusko Slackware 31 10-06-2016 08:46 AM
Impossibility to install AMD Catalyst driver on Slackware 14.1 umb Slackware 14 02-06-2014 08:51 AM
Impossibility to install AMD Catalyst driver on Slackware 14.1 umb Slackware 1 11-15-2013 10:21 AM
[SOLVED] Slackware 14 can't install amd ATI driver boy_China Slackware 2 10-26-2012 02:03 AM
Keyboard alarm on AMD system during Slackware 11.0 install. BlackHawk1966 Slackware 1 12-18-2006 04:58 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration