LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux From Scratch
User Name
Password
Linux From Scratch This Forum is for the discussion of LFS.
LFS is a project that provides you with the steps necessary to build your own custom Linux system.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2018, 09:20 AM   #1
LinLuc
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
LVN: Volume disappears.


Hi,

I am trying to set up LinuxFromScratch 8.2 on two LVM-volumes: / and /boot. Booting up works fine using Grub, then initramfs works, activating LVM and mounting the root directory. After that control is passed on to systemd in the root directory.

My initramfs contains as init script:
#!/bin/sh
/bin/mount -t devtmpfs none /dev
/bin/mount -t proc none /proc
/bin/mount -t sysfs none /sys
/bin/mount -t tmpfs none /run
/bin/mkdir /run/udev
/bin/touch /run/udev/queue

/usr/sbin/vgscan --mknodes
/usr/sbin/vgchange -a y

/bin/mount /dev/linux/root /mnt -o ro
/bin/mount --move /sys /mnt/sys
/bin/mount --move /proc /mnt/proc
/bin/mount --move /dev /mnt/dev
/bin/mount --move /run /mnt/run
/bin/mount -t tmpfs /mnt/var

exec switch_root /mnt /sbin/init

When going through systemd, it will find, that /dev/linux/boot is not active and I will be dropped into a rescue shell.
From the rescue shell I try vgdisplay, but no volumegroup appears.
There is a link /dev/linux/boot defined and I can mount it, but not on /boot.

Do you have any idea how to get this running?

Luc
 
Old 09-16-2018, 02:31 PM   #2
arch-linq
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Midwest, USA
Distribution: Arch,LFS,Kaos
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
LVM is tough bird to get right imo. Did you enable all the kernel security and disk options like for cryptsetup, etc ? Then systemd would also have to be rebuilt after that also. I would build udisks2 for it too.

Last edited by arch-linq; 09-16-2018 at 02:33 PM.
 
Old 09-16-2018, 03:50 PM   #3
jr_bob_dobbs
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: Linux From Scratch, Bedrock
Posts: 294
Blog Entries: 41

Rep: Reputation: 12
Doesn't /boot have to be outside the LVM?
 
Old 09-16-2018, 03:54 PM   #4
arch-linq
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Midwest, USA
Distribution: Arch,LFS,Kaos
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes. I've heard there's ways to circumvent that. WHat I know about LVM is from Proxmox VM wiki. Arch wiki may help too.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headphone volume controls Speaker Volume in Acer NE46RS1 Laptop deepclutch Linux - Hardware 2 08-13-2016 05:15 AM
LVM Mount Physical Volume/Logical Volume without a working Volume Group mpivintis Linux - Newbie 10 01-11-2014 07:02 AM
Volume icon disappears from notification tray after connecting with VNC PeterSteele Red Hat 5 05-05-2013 01:35 PM
Fedora LVM volume group & Physical Volume resize problem gabeyg Fedora 1 05-14-2008 11:26 AM
where can i find 0:8.14.13.1-0.lvn.1 dependency linuxmandrake Linux - General 1 07-23-2005 11:18 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux From Scratch

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration